We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
East Kikbride, Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is located pretty close to Dam square and not too far away from Centraal Station. It's next to a canal as well, so you get a bit of a view - the rooms have a balcony. It's located on a street that has lots of similar budget hotels. When you step into the hotel the sight of what looks like a hundred stairs to be climbed up to the actual hotel may not be to everyone's licking. However, credit to the hotel staff - they shout down to you and ask if you want a hand up with your luggage.

The room itself is clean and quiet with all the things you expect like a TV, fridge, safe. Room size is small but manageable, I would bring your own toilet stuff like shower gel, shampoo because I can't remember if there provided.

So, not a bad choice over all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    1,243
    351
    92
    52
See reviews for
342
1,401
362
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Nadia is a charming and cozy hotel with a great location. The staff is super friendly and will go out of their wat to make sure you enjoy your stay. The rooms are comfortable and fully equipped with refrigerator, safe, TV and coffee maker - and fresh cut flowers! Everything is nice and clean and in good shape. We have stayed at the Nadia several times before and we have always been impressed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

It's my first to travell in The Netherlands.
I chose this hotel is because it was specially introduced by other Japanese traveler in a very famous travel book in Japan which name is "Globe-Trotter Travel Guide Book" ,and it suggest to stay in this hotel if you want to have a good trip.
The hotel is quite near the Royal Palace, Western Church and tram station, it is very convenient to go any place you want, and also it is near a big supermarket, I bought some present for my friends there.
The staff of the hotel is very kind and warm, make me feel not any uncomfortable but just like at home.
I would like to choose this hotel if I have a chance to come back to Amsterdam again.

Thanks to Nadia Hotel and the staff of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

A lovely, cosy hotel with complimentary drink (non alcoholic) and fresh flowers in the room on arrival (nice touch), continental breakfast more than adequate. Room is rather small, but importantly very clean, and is quite comfortable considering the size with a wall mounted flatscreen TV and a mini-fridge in the room. Bathroom is compact. The building is really sweet and quaint. The steep typically Dutch staircase can be demanding if you are not used to it. If noise is an issue, ask for a room facing away from the street.

The location is superb (on the corner of Keizersgracht, 2 minutes walk from Westerkirk) in the Jordaan district in Amsterdam, about 5 minutes walk from Dam Square and about 2 minutes walk from Ann Franks house. In summary, a great location, competitively priced, comfortable clean place to stay with decent breakfast and welcoming, frienddly staff.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam for a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel Nadia is infused with charm in the heart of Old Amsterdam. It is about a 10 minute walk from Central Station. Never mind the 37 steps to reach the reception (no elevators), but they do happily transport your luggage up to your room. The room was small but very efficient, with a fridge, a safety box, plenty of light, and a small balcony with two chairs. I was greeted with a bouquet of flowers after I settled in. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. I was encouraged to help myself to coffee or tea from the breakfast room at any time. The hop on hop off bus stopped directly across the street and canal boat hop on hop off was a 5 min. walk. Anne Frank Museum, a very popular attraction, was just around the corner. I would recommend Sara's Pancake Cafe next door as a sweet spot for typical Dutch pancakes coupled with a latte.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Have been coming to Amsterdam for several years , quite often twice a year and at long last have found the perfect place to stay. Several other central hotels have been a great let down for various reasons. However The Nadia will certainly become my regular place to put my head down for the night. A family run establishment, everyone is very welcoming a complimentary drink on arrival (non alcoholic), fresh flowers in the room, continental breakfast more than adequate, TV in the room with several British channels available. Also there is a small fridge which is good for storing food and drinks. Room itself was a bit dated but importantly it was very clean with fresh towels every day. The only slight downside were the steep stairs however on booking through The Nadias own website they advise of this before booking.Location of the hotel is excellent 15 minute walk to Central Station. Need to go now to book my next trip for October this year, cant wait.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper like myself just ask for a "quiet room" usually to be found at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I felt cheated by this hotel after reading some good reviews on Tripadvisor. It is in a good location in Amsterdam but is simply a terrible hotel.

Almost all of the staff were lovely and very friendly. There is nothing wrong there. The rooms were absolutely tiny however. It is difficult to explain just how small the rooms are. The bathroom was almost unusable. The sink was, again, tiny, and the toilet was placed in such as a way that if you were to sit, your left leg was in the area for the shower. The bathroom was in an L shape which I don't think I could have lay down in straight (I'm about 6 foot).

There are lots of stairs but this was made clear upon booking, so this was not an issue. We did not try breakfast as we liked to try different places in the city, so I cannot comment on that aspect.

The room was dusty and I did have have four separate bites on me from, what I can only assume, was mites. Upon returning to the UK we have had to wash and antibacterialise everything just to be on the safe side.

Main point is this - it is an absolutely tiny hotel. It could use half the number of rooms to make the remaining rooms comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.