We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Having read the excellent reviews on trip advisor we had great expectations. No point in repeating everything others have said but here are my comments - yes the stairs are very steep and if you ask for a room on the upper floors you have to climb up to three flights, all steep, all narrow. At the risk of upsetting some travellers, this is not the place if you are a large person - apart from the narrow stairs, the rooms are also narrow and the bathroom is compact. We had a room on the Radhuisstaat - it is a very busy road with a lot of traffic and noisy trams. That said, I am a light sleeper and was fine with ear plugs! There is also the nearby Westerkerk with bells which chime every 15 minutes. We had a balcony,( I don't think the canal view rooms do though), and we found this a bonus because the room was quite dark and if you want to put your make up in daylight, then a balcony is helpful! I think smokers might request balconies so this might also influence your choice, either way. Our room was a bit tired décor wise, but the bathroom looked like it had been refurbed quite recently. You get complimentary shower gel/shampoo and soap. There is a decent sized fridge. The staff are fab and will carry your luggage up and down for you. We got BBC1 on the telly!!!! The hotel is near the lovely Jordaan district which was our favourite district in Amsterdam. Ann Frankhuis is a couple of minutes away and we could see how long the queue was from our balcony, which was useful. Fresh flowers in the room on arrival - nice touch - and a free drink (non alcoholic). Rooms will be tidied and new towels changed every day - you may have to ask although they normally asked us. In summary, a great location, comfortable place to stay with decent breakfast and lovely staff

Room Tip: Ask for a canal or inward facing room if you are worried about street noise. Ask for a 1st floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,970 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,308
    1,192
    331
    88
    51
See reviews for
332
1336
348
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Nadia for six nights in mid-April after a long flight into Schiphol airport and a train ride to Centraal station. Hotel Nadia is roughly 15 minutes walk from the station and easily to navigate to even when dragging your luggage. Walk straight out of the station onto Damrak into the central square (Dam Square) and then turn right onto Raadhuisstraat - cross two canals (Singel and Herengracht) and the hotel is on your left hand side. There is a secure door for the staff to buzz you in and you make your way up some stairs to reception. We were able to check in immediately upon our arrival. The staff were great over our entire visit - very accomodating. We were travelling with another couple and they put us on the same floor. Our rooms were street-side, which was noisier (I suspect) than courtside but the noise was not a problem as the windows are quite heavy. There is no elevator in the Hotel but the staff are eager to help when you have the requirement to bring your luggage up and down the stairs. The rooms are small but very clean with a great efficient design layout. The breakfast room is a busy place in the mornings with the free breakfast. It was perfect for what we needed and the staff are very attentive keeping the supplies refreshed and the tables cleared. The staff allowed us to use the breakfast room for pre-dinner cocktails and snacks with our travelling companions. While there, I needed to print off a document and the staff did so at no charge. The free wifi worked great and was easy to connect with. The location is great for walking and we felt safe at all times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We always stay at the Nadia when we visit Amsterdam. The central location of the hotel is a definite plus. Tram stops are close by and Dam square is only a ten minute walk. Ann Frank House is across the street and a must see when visiting the city.The steps are steep, but the staff is always courteous and helpful. They are very knowledgeable of the city should you need anything. The continental breakfast is typically Dutch and very adequate. Rooms are clean, comfortable and fresh flowers are always provided. We really enjoy the neighborhood and will continue to stay at the Nadia.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room all you have to do is ask. Inside rooms are available and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Very steep staircase from street, but the staff help with your luggage.
Great place to stay as very convenient to centre, and at a great price.
Rooms small but functional, breakfast simple but plentiful.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Able to leave luggage prior to room being available and after checkout great bonus.
We had 4 wonderful days in Amsterdam (3 nights), and the hotel played its part in the experience.
Would definitely stay there again on any future short break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A very nice and calm hotel situated in the city center of Amsterdam,which gives you the possibilities to see things by walking,only 500 m aware from the dam square.The hotel had a very good staff and ready to assist with any inquiries.The Breakfast was Delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, very safe and everything is within walking distance. The Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room is small but has everything you need, so it's good for a solo traveler like me. Overall, I'd definitely recommend Hotel Nadia and would like to stay there again next time I visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great Location, walkable to everything in the city, and handy for train station. I would suggest only staying here if you have small light luggage as carrying them up the stairs is not easy (just ask the lovely guy at reception) The room is basic but has everything you need and is very well priced includng a small breakfast. The staff are fantastic and we really appreciated their assistance and advice.

Room Tip: ask for a lower level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.