We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with a family of 5 (3 kids 11-14). It was in an excellent location for tourist attractions and food as well for transit between train station and airport. At first worried it would be noisy both because of other guests and street location but these fears were unfounded - it was quite quiet for a downtown location. As other reviewers noted lots of stairs but the staff were very helpful with luggage.

Room Tip: One thing to note is that the rooms did smelly quite smoky. We did not request a non-smoking room s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    1,291
    373
    94
    57
See reviews for
355
1,461
375
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Algoma, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Good price for a hotel in the city. Not the most ideal location but not to bad, only half a block from a Tram stop. Only places in walking distance are the Ann Frank House (two blocks) and Dam Square (five blocks the other way).
Our room was smaller than average for Europe and bathroom was so tiny you could almost take a shower while sitting on the toilet (you CAN brush your teeth at the sink while doing either!)
Breakfast was included with the room rate and was average European fair with the usual breakfast cheese, croissants, bread etc. (could have used some hardboiled eggs and cold cuts).
Wi-Fi is terrible, it is free but we had a poor signal and it to took forever to up load pictures
This hotel is NOT for people with heart or respiratory problems or any one with a lot of (or heavy) luggage. THEY ARE NOT KDDING ABOUT THE STAIRS INTO THIS PLACE! It is a two story climb at a steep pitch just to reception!

Room Tip: Trams run most of the night past the hotel, get a room in the back (with no view) for some peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Arrived quite early one morning and found that our room wasn't ready. Not sure if it was me, but unlike other reviewers, I found the staff weren't all that friendly. Maybe they were put off by the amount of luggage we had, as those flights of stairs are really, really steep! Anyway, room was OK, very dated- think dark wood paneled walls and red velvety bed spreads. Windows didn't seal all that well, so noise from the street was very apparent. Bathroom was also quite dated, but functional. But given all that, the price is right, breakfast is included, location's great, and it's clean. So- just so you know.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hotel Nadia in Amsterdam is a delightful place. The stair cases are steep/narrow and there are many. The hotel staff is very helpful in moving your luggage up/down the stairs with a smile as needed. There's a free Continental Breakfast that is hot as you like and filling. The rooms are small but nice, there's free Wi-Fi. We could have stayed in a more corporate kind of hotel but opted for one more indigenous to Amsterdam. It is in Central Amsterdam close to canal cruises, the Ann Frank House and other sites. We thoroughly enjoyed Hotel Nadia and will stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal side are quieter but not always available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here August Bank holiday weekend, for a budget hotel you cannot fault it, rooms are small but there only for sleeping in, breakfast & coffee were excellent & the hotel is central to everywhere. We were very early arriving but could leave our bags & come back at check in time, on departure as we had a evening flight we could leave our bags when we checked out & collected them later. We would have no qualms about staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Nadia Hotel. We have stayed at various other hotels but have to say we would definately return to the Nadia. All staff where very friendly and helpful. It is in a great location, close to Dam square. The rooms where small but where spotless. The bonus had to be a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which we made good use of.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel Nadia is an ideal hotel, local to everything you may need for a pleasant trip: supermarkets, restaurants, cafes, pubs, shops, clubs, major train station, tram lines and the major historical sites. The hotel itself is tucked away in a strip of shops about a 3 minute walk to all of the above. The staff are exceptional- helpful, friendly and knowledgable. We were offered a welcome drink and a staff member carried our bags up a very very steep flight of stairs for us. The rooms are simple- bed, bathroom, desk, kettle, minibar- but are clean and comfortable. The only thing that may bother travellers is the size of the room- it is small and a little cramped, however the location, staff and price outweighs the 'cosy-ness' of the room!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony for a nice spot to sit and enjoy the view (as well as a little more ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.