We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nadia Hotel - Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nadia Hotel - Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for six days. Close, in Central Amsterdam, not far from Ann Frank House. In central part of city so walking to sights possible but trams close by as well. Nadia has that 'old country' flavor, very quaint, eclectic but charmingly so.

Rooms are small but emaculately kept and are neat and clean as can be. Each comes with it's own bath, TV, closet and plenty of extra shelves for luggage storage. The breakfast room is a nice space and food is nicely laid out for easy access. Food is generous and there is plenty of variety: juice, a lovely yogurt, croissant, rolls, sweet breads, Dutch cheese and great coffee.

We were a bit reluctant since the reviews were all over the place, but our experience was top notch. You could no doubt find better accommodations in Amsterdam but I'm sure you'd pay a lot more. Nadia is good value for the dollar.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,308
    1,192
    331
    87
    51
See reviews for
332
1336
348
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The staff was so accommodating - even with a very late arrival. We were aware of the "steep" stairs and actually looking forward to the exercise... but thank goodness the staff was amazing at bringing luggage to the rooms and making that an easy experience. Great location for walking to everything in the city - and overlooking a canal for the breakfast buffet. Nice rooms - clean - nice views - coffee and a great hot shower. Thank you for a great time - we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We were unsure about staying at the Hotel Nadia; however, we thought that if it was clean and had a good location we would be happy. We got one out of two. The hotel is in a good location. We were able to walk to all the places we wanted to visiting (getting a cab from the airport and to the train station) which was exactly what we were hoping for.

Unfortunately, the hotel was not the cleanest. Our shower still had the hair from the previous guests on it when we were checked in. The room was unbelievable hot. With no air conditioning when it was 28 degrees Celsius outside we were very uncomfortable for the majority of our stay. Our saving grace was the balcony door, which we kept open at all times in an attempt to cool down the room. It worked a bit.

The continental breakfast was passable. It had croissants and apples, yogurt, juice, stong coffee and bread for toast. The owners were very pleasant and seemed to really want to do their best. We also appreciated that they carried our suitcases up the steep, steep stairs.

Overall, I would not stay here again if I were to visit Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the beginning of May. I have stayed in the past so that's why we came back and I'm glad we did. The people who run the hotel are always friendly and the rooms are always clean. Small like many other hotel rooms in the city, but clean. The continental breakfast is always good and there is plenty there as opposed to some other places we've stayed at where there is hardly anything.
The one issue we had was the cleaning of our room. More specifically, calling or knocking around 8am to see if we wanted our room cleaned. I don't know about anyone else, but when I'm on holiday I like to sleep in sometimes.
I never understood why they did this since management knew we were still in our room. You leave your key with the front desk if you go out, but we obviously did not leave our key since we were still in the room. I said after the second day in a row this happened that if we wanted the room cleaned then we would leave the key so they knew we were out. If we left it too late then it would be our fault and we were fine with that. But of course a day after that we received a call early in the morning if we wanted our room cleaned.
For the most part we were happy with the hotel, but if our wishes are going to be ignored so easily then we may begin to look elsewhere next time we travel to Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend mid July, the trip was a birthday treat for my boyfriend and anyone who has looked for hotels in Amsterdam will know that they are incredibly expensive if you want to stay centrally located. The location was perfect here, just around the corner from Anne Frank House and on the Western Canal ring which was just beautiful. I had asked for a room with a nice view (as you either have a canal view or a street view) and we were given a corner room with a view of the canal and the church, right next to the breakfast room. There was also a bunch of flowers with a Happy Birthday note, which was a nice touch for a 2* hotel.The decor in the hotel is a bit tired, but it all has to be taken in context with the location of the hotel and the price that you pay here, it was clean and we had our towels changed every day. Family run, the people on reception and in the breakfast room were very friendly. Breakfast was continental and simple - croissant, cake, bread, cheese, jams, apples, yoghurts, but adequate. The only complaint that I had was that there was a cat (there were 2, but I was informed by reception that one had sadly passed away earlier in the week) and it was always say behind a glass window next to our room in the corridor. As a cat nut, I was frustrated I could not stroke him/her and only see it - however I suppose the cat may get a bit upset if every resident wanted to stroke it.....All in all, good trip and a great location to get around Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel Nadia is a sweet charming hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. I would suggest if anyone has any issues with stairs at all to not go there, the stairs are a death trap but just made the trip a little more interesting. They have sweet touches of fresh flowers in your room and offer you a drink when you first arrive. There is a man who will take your bags for you too and bring them to your room (thank god! never would have got up the stairs with them!) The rooms are really really small as is the bathroom but it is clean and well kept. This hotel would be great for a couple of single traveller for a short period of time when they just need somewhere to sleep and want to be close to all the action.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with the view of the canals and on second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I must give credit to Hotel Nadia for the great service and happy atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It also has a great location. However my room was so very hot (beautiful weather so rooms heated up but inadequate air circulation) and it was so small that overall i found it to be uncomfortable. The breakfast was very basic. European breakfasts can be wonderful but here there was very little to choose from. There are often different cheeses and meats but here there was one sliced cheese and that was it! I guess you get what you pay for but next time I would pay more!!

Room Tip: Don't get a single room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.