We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget, but clean and friendly in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, Amsterdam 1016 DD, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Budget, but clean and friendly in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend mid July, the trip was a birthday treat for my boyfriend and anyone who has looked for hotels in Amsterdam will know that they are incredibly expensive if you want to stay centrally located. The location was perfect here, just around the corner from Anne Frank House and on the Western Canal ring which was just beautiful. I had asked for a room with a nice view (as you either have a canal view or a street view) and we were given a corner room with a view of the canal and the church, right next to the breakfast room. There was also a bunch of flowers with a Happy Birthday note, which was a nice touch for a 2* hotel.The decor in the hotel is a bit tired, but it all has to be taken in context with the location of the hotel and the price that you pay here, it was clean and we had our towels changed every day. Family run, the people on reception and in the breakfast room were very friendly. Breakfast was continental and simple - croissant, cake, bread, cheese, jams, apples, yoghurts, but adequate. The only complaint that I had was that there was a cat (there were 2, but I was informed by reception that one had sadly passed away earlier in the week) and it was always say behind a glass window next to our room in the corridor. As a cat nut, I was frustrated I could not stroke him/her and only see it - however I suppose the cat may get a bit upset if every resident wanted to stroke it.....All in all, good trip and a great location to get around Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,843 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,256
    1,147
    315
    78
    47
See reviews for
312
1257
330
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel Nadia is a sweet charming hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. I would suggest if anyone has any issues with stairs at all to not go there, the stairs are a death trap but just made the trip a little more interesting. They have sweet touches of fresh flowers in your room and offer you a drink when you first arrive. There is a man who will take your bags for you too and bring them to your room (thank god! never would have got up the stairs with them!) The rooms are really really small as is the bathroom but it is clean and well kept. This hotel would be great for a couple of single traveller for a short period of time when they just need somewhere to sleep and want to be close to all the action.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with the view of the canals and on second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I must give credit to Hotel Nadia for the great service and happy atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It also has a great location. However my room was so very hot (beautiful weather so rooms heated up but inadequate air circulation) and it was so small that overall i found it to be uncomfortable. The breakfast was very basic. European breakfasts can be wonderful but here there was very little to choose from. There are often different cheeses and meats but here there was one sliced cheese and that was it! I guess you get what you pay for but next time I would pay more!!

Room Tip: Don't get a single room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Small is fine-but it would have been nice to be able to pass each other on floor instead of having to cross the bed!! The 1st room we had stank of cigarette smoke and only had a window in the ceiling(felt like a prison cell).We were given another which had windows
which we really needed as the temp.was 31 degrees.There was no view-we were facing a blank wall.
The shower room was also miniscule.Luckily I am quite short-when I closed the door it touched my knees.You could sit on the toilet and put your feet on the bed!!
There was a fridge set up high on a shelf and on top of that sat the safe(had to stand on bed for both luxuries).There was no gaps around fridge which made the outside extremely hot to touch-fire risk??The safe was really hot because of this which made the contents scorching-not a good place to keep spare insulin.
The breakfast was basic and boring-bread,jams,cheese,kiddy yoghurt,and cake.The coffee was nice.
On the PLUS side-the location was great-walking distance to all attractions.The hotel did not spoil our break but it could have been so much nicer.I think that the owners have partitioned the rooms to make 3-4 out of one and packed us in.I am sure the Nadia used to be a lovely hotel but sadly it has been ruined.I cannot understand anyone who would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony so that you do not feel as claustrophobic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We had specifically asked for two rooms, one with two twin beds for our daughters. When we arrived the manager argued with us that we did not make such a request. Even after I showed him our confirmation that showed our request he argued with us that we were wrong. Hard to deal with after a long delayed overnight flight.
Hotel is right across the street from a church that rings it's bells every 15 minutes, even with ear plugs could not sleep, poor location. Difficult to get adequate soap and toilet paper, had to ask.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It was just too noisy at the rooms facing the front, from the trams and drunk people at night. The room was a little hot and the ventilation was poor as the windows only open very little. The beds were small and too soft. Location was good and within walking distance to many sites but it was also not cheap. Staff was nice and helpful but could not make up for the poor quality sleep. Breakfast was OK and no complaints. To be fair it would probably have been better if we had stayed in a room facing the canal. Nevertheless it was a mistake to stay there and we should rather have stayed a bit further away from the city centre and take public transport to visit the sites.

Room Tip: Higher floors and away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Terrific place to stay for the price. Very friendly staff. Great Location. Excellent included breakfast. Stairs steep but staff takes care of your baggage. We each got a free drink upon arrival.
The only reason for 4 instead of 5 in my rating is that our room faced the front and, in the summer, the noise of the trams and scooters on the main street makes it difficult to sleep before 1am and after about 6:30am. The windows needed to be open because of the heat, and a beautiful old building like this does not have air conditioning.
I should have booked a room in the back in the first place, and that is what I recommend you do.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the back in the summer, unless you are planning to hang out in the city till late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, Amsterdam 1016 DD, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2008. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.