We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great value, but front rooms noisy in summer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly staff and great value, but front rooms noisy in summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Terrific place to stay for the price. Very friendly staff. Great Location. Excellent included breakfast. Stairs steep but staff takes care of your baggage. We each got a free drink upon arrival.
The only reason for 4 instead of 5 in my rating is that our room faced the front and, in the summer, the noise of the trams and scooters on the main street makes it difficult to sleep before 1am and after about 6:30am. The windows needed to be open because of the heat, and a beautiful old building like this does not have air conditioning.
I should have booked a room in the back in the first place, and that is what I recommend you do.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the back in the summer, unless you are planning to hang out in the city till late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaplewoodTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
brisbane
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a cute hotel in a great location. It was a little noisy during the day but you are rarely there anyway and once you close the windows at night you get a perfect night's sleep - in fact the best sleeps we had all around Europe. The room is small but that is expected and yes the stairs are steep but all part of the quaintness of this hotel. The hotel is decorated beautifully and the breakfast room is gorgeous. Would recommend to all on a budget, fantastic value.

Room Tip: We loved our balcony room looking out to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wanted a place in the inner city to spend two days exploring until cruise ship departed. The Hotel Nadia met and exceeded our expectations for a 'real' hotel ( not a big name chain). Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful and room was very nice...no, not a 600 sf 'Sheraton' type room but excellent for an old city center European hotel. All of inner city walkable from this site.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Excellent position, just two blocks from Dam Square. A very steep stairs to get the reception but there's nothing to worry about:: it's not too hard to climb up, as long as you are in good health's condition. Free drink at our arrival and a bunch of fresh flowers inside the room :)
Friendly Egyptian staff. I was in a deluxe room: amazing canal view although the room was essentially basic. The bathroom was basic as well, but everything worked properly. Breakfast on average:however, just to know, no cold cuts!
In my opinion, if you are looking for frills and luxory, you should keep far but, if you want to save your money and breath a charming atmosphere in an ancient hystorical building located quite in the center city of Amsterdam, you can't miss it. I'd come back again...definitely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovanniPalermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel has a lot of character. They weren't kidding about the steep stairs, but they are quick to help you with luggage and the stairs added to the hotel's charm. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. It is in a great location - within easy walking distance to most attractions. The room had everything we needed and the continental breakfast was a bonus. There is a tram stop right there so it was easy to take the tram and train to and from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toodles4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My 3rd time staying at the Nadia - as per my previous review, if you want somewhere safe, central, comfy, friendly, decent TV and clean with a fridge then this is the place for you. If you want massive rooms, can't climb stairs or want a top class brekkie, it isn't for you. I would highly recommend and best price is via the Nadia website. If you want somewhere close to Dam Square, this is the cheapest and best you will find.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The place is good. It may be a little far from central station but it's accessible by trams and near some attractions like Anne Frank House and Dan square.
The rooms were neat and tidy! The staffs were helpful and friendly.
But the most important thing is their honesty. I left my money bag on the table and when i returned to the hotel in the evening, it was still there, with my money untouched. I am really thankful for that!
Personally, i won't mind staying here if i were to visit amsterdam again.
Thanks! Keep up the good work and service!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#141 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#44 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, Odigeo, Low Cost Holidays, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing