We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Selected for it's location, moments from the Anne Frank house and minutes from Dam Square and on the edge of the Jordaan, one of the trendiest and safest areas of town. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was very clean and the help yourself, meatless breakfast plentiful. However, the rooms are tiny, the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in! Anyone with mobility problems would find this hotel difficult. Our double bed was pushed up against the wall on one side, the bathroom door was unable to open fully as it hit the bed and my husband had to sit sideways on the loo as otherwise his knees hit the door! Corridors are narrow, the stairs,which greet you as soon as you enter from the street are almost vertical (but prepare you for all the other vertical staircases in Amsterdam!).This hotel is basic, but value for money and if I wasn't going away for a 'treat' I would stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms are quieter at the back of the hotel, but lack views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    1,239
    351
    92
    52
See reviews for
340
1,397
362
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We booked our rooms here based ONLY on the reviews of TripAdvisor, and we were thrilled with our choice. It was friendly, a little bit eclectic and fun and a nice atmosphere. We were greeted well at the door, 2 gentlemen came down to get out bags up the stairs (luckily we only had a single backpack, I'm SO glad that we had a place to leave our BIG bags!) The check in was great, and our rooms were clean, cute, very small, but nice balcony. We had a fridge, safe, hot water pot for coffee (didn't use it) and a double bed, shower, sink and toilet. There was a shelf/desk and mirror. We were two women travelling with our 12 year old daughters, and they thought the place was REALLY cool with the stairs and little areas, and best of all, the cats, Hello and Goodbye! We lost them for an hour as they played with the cats(luckily they had a perch right across from our rooms on the 2nd floor.)
Breakfast was really nice, croissants, bread, cheese, nutella, jam, honey, apples, juice, coffee etc and the breakfast room was wonderful.
The only drawback to the place was the noise at night, we were on the street side on the second floor, so the street, cars, motorcycles, trams and people were quite noisy, but I had my ear plugs, so I slept fine.
The location is great. I would stay here again, and so would my companion and I KNOW the girls would love to come back!

Room Tip: Streetside is a bit noisy, not sure if it would be any better on the canal side, or even further up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Had a great stay everyone very friendly with great customer service,great location with nice view, yes the hotel had a certain quikkiness about it fresh flowers a lovely touch the rooms including breakfast room very small, nice continental breakfast stairs very steep so need to watch your step ovelall had a very nice stay

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Nadia for 1 night in March and it was the perfect hotel for us. We wanted a hotel in a good location- check. A hotel that was within our budget- check. And we wanted staff that would be friendly and helpful- check. Our stay was great and we would highly recommend this place to others. The staff was very friendly- made reservations for us, recommended nice areas to walk through on our way to museums, etc. The hotel was clean- and they had fresh flowers for us when we checked in- a nice touch. The stairs in the entryway would be a problem for anyone with physical limitations- but other than that everything was great. We did not find a problem with the stairs- and thought that it added character! :) Loved this place and hope we will have a chance to stay again in the future!
Nick & Kara DiCarlo

Room Tip: You can ask for a quiet room- or one with a view of the canal (which is a bit louder)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Fantastic hotel with an amazing location. We stayed at Nadia for 3 nights for my birthday and our 6 year anniversary and the service was fantastic. We arrived early on the first day hoping to drop off our bags so we could explore Amsterdam, they gave us each a cold drink while they prepared our room so we could just check in early. They also left a beautiful bunch of flowers in my room on my birthday. We had a room with a canal view which was lovely but the noise from the trams was very loud and the church bells woke us up repeatedly through the night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I would give this place a 5 star rating but I can't do it based on how small the rooms are. Think galley kitchen in a NYC apartment. While I definitely would have preferred larger accommodations, it didn't really spoil the trip since we stayed out of the room most of the day. The decor and linens are a little worn too but they did at least seem clean. The bathroom is really a shower with a sink and toilet in it separated only by a curtain. However, whatever this hotel is lacking in size they make up in hospitality. Hands down this was the best customer service I ever received at a hotel. I guess you can't have everything (the better hotels we stayed at this trip had the worst customer service)! We had football tickets delivered to the hotel without an issue. They printed out vouchers for us that we had forgotten. They made great restaurant recommendations and even made reservations for us. If you have time try Thai Bird and/or Kantjil for dinner - they were awesome. Basically anything we needed, they provided with a smile. If I were to return to Amsterdam I would consider staying here again especially if I could get one of their larger rooms. If you are a young, easy going traveler then this hotel will work great for you. If you are out of shape (seriously steep steps and multiple floors) and an inflexible traveler, then you should probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.