We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, Canada
1 review
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

My sister and I stayed at 14 different places throughout our backpacking trip and this hotel was by far our favourite. The staff are so warm, friendly and helpful we felt like we were at home. The rooms were very clean and offered coffee/tea and had mini-fridges. There is a breakfast room that you can use during the day so that you don't need to hang out in your room. The location was perfect for us - right on the canal and close enough to walk to anywhere we wanted to be. We had a great stay here and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    1,243
    351
    92
    52
See reviews for
342
1,401
362
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Our first impression was a bit of a steep stair climb but the exceptionally friendly staff made the effort worthwhile. Our bags were well handled to our room and the reception was great. We appreciated the extras that were offered (eg. detailed map and beverages) when we checked in. Throughout our four night stay the staff were fantastic and always willing to help. Wonderful location to the sights we wished to see. We would definitely return to the Nadia for good value and friendliness.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south of England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

If you want a hotel experience that goes beyond just a comfortable place to stay the the Hotel Nadia is highly recommended. We had a delux room that over looked the canal. The room was not large but it was very clean and comfortable. There may not be double galzing but we were not disturbed by the gentle buzz of evening life in the town. The hotel is only a short walk from the main station and postitioned well for a walk into the more touristy centre or the more cultural areas to the south west.
You arrive to a very steep set of stairs- but this is the Amsterdam way! the staff were delightful- very keen to please and very cheerful. Breakfast was simple but adequate- coffee/tea, croissants, bread and cheese, a slice of local cake and orange juice. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

There is nothing fancy about this hotel but the friendly staff make up for it. The hotel is in a great location. You can walk to almost anywhere. Close to anne Frank House,metro,Dam Square. If you want a great location this is the hotel for you. The steps are steep but you do not have to carry your own luggage. Everyone is very helpful. I did not have a computer with me so the manager let me use his twice. They go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My room was tiny, but all I wanted was a place to sleep. It was just fine for that. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is great. My room in the back was quiet, but I was told by others that the church clock tower across the street kept them awake. I overslept, but was able to get coffee in the charming breakfast room with lovely views of the church and canal.

Room Tip: It's quieter away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed the service at this hotel - the staff was so accommodating and helpful and also very kind! The location cannot be been beat as it was less a five minute walk to the Anne Frank House and Westerkerk (our room had a great view of Westerkerk, actually) and close to the stop for the tram that takes you wherever you need to go. It's right around the corner from Dam square and the red light district, and the Jordaan with all it's wonderful restaurants is also right there. The location made up for the fact that the room was pretty tiny (however, with lots of shelves and places to store your belongings, the room felt larger than it was). The bathroom was pretty tiny and an odd shape - it was difficult to maneuver around such a tight space, but this may be unique to the room we stayed in. We had a room in the curved cupola-type part of the building next to the canal so bathrooms in the other rooms might be set up better. My biggest complaints were that the bed was rock hard and there was a constant odor of cigarette smoke coming in from another room and into the bathroom - it may have been coming from the owner's apartment which was right next door to our room. I also recommend if you stay here to skip the canal view or street side rooms and get one of the quiet rooms unless you don't plan to open your windows. It was pretty warm when we stayed there so we slept with the windows open and there was a quite a bit of noise coming off the street. Overall, I liked this hotel and if they would just get softer/newer beds, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We were first timers in Amsterdam and we read the reviews for Hotel Nadia on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The stairs are steep as in most places in Amsterdam, but staff were there to carry our luggage upstairs for us. My sister has vertigo and management arranged a beautiful canal room for us, which was on the first floor. The views from the room and the breakfast room were beautiful, even in the rain that we experienced. Management and staff are welcoming, caring and helpful. A very comfortable environment. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: First floor canal room had lovely views and a little traffic noise only if windows were opened, thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.