We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“A very good place to stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The service was very polite and helpful, there was no problem with the early arrival and leaving our luggage till late afternoon. The room was very cosy, very clean bathroom, tv, coffee and tea facilities, a little bit noisy as it was the street side room. Breakfast was tasty. A very good place to visit Amsterdam for the reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,310
    1,191
    341
    86
    52
See reviews for
325
1320
344
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Granted, the stairs from the street up to the hotel are daunting, but will soon transform themselves into magnificence, natural and homey Dutch. Heavy luggage? Don't worry, the staff will take care of that, anytime, as they did with any other issue during our five days stay. Top notch service, beautiful view of the Kelzersgracht canal from our room. The room was small, but highly functional, and they even find ways to place a mini-fridge. Going to the sights is also easy. Tram 14 goes to Rembrandtplein, the Zoo and on; trams 13 and 17 goes to the Central Station and will, the other way, take you one stop to tram 10 which goes to Leidseplein. Hotel Nadia is a great small hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Booked the Nadia because of other reviews and think it was great. Steps are an issue but they carried up bags and staff was extremely helpful. Can't beat the location.! Rooms very small but clean and modern bathroom. Great value but keep in mind it is a 2* hotel.

Room Tip: room overlooking canal had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Nadia hotel is in a good location for visiting Amsterdam. It is on a busy road by two canals very close to the quieter "7 Streets" area, the Ann Frank house and to tram stops. Damm Square is about 5 minutes walk away. It's an easy walk to the Wallen district and Railway station (or you can take a tram if you're tired, lazy or heavy-laden).

As has been noted by other guests, the steps are very steep and it's a big climb up to the reception. It was an even bigger climb to the top floor, where we were staying.

Our room was classed as a double but it really was only big enough to be a single room - and a small one at that (that's even for Europe, for American readers!). The bed was pushed up against the wall at one side, which gave a rather claustrophobic feel, and we had to climb over each other to get in or out of it. There was very little space at the other side of the bed. The small room was crammed with unnecessary shelving units and furniture - including a fridge, slightly worryingly overhanging the foot of the bed - and this reduced the scarce available space further. The bathroom was equally tiny and had to be used with the door open. There was always a good supply of hot water, however. A roof window let us see the street below, but we did not notice any street noise. We found the beds to be surprisingly comfortable. The electrics were a bit unconventional but seemed safe.

The breakfast room was very small, too, and we had to wait for a place in the morning. Once we were in, it was very crowded. The buffet breakfast itself was nothing special.

The staff were polite and friendly. We were offered a free drink when we arrived, as promised. The guy on reception carried our bags up and down the stairs when we arrived and departed, and stored them for us because we arrived before the room was ready. A bonus that more luxurious hotels often do not provide was _free_ wifi in the room with good signal strength. (Ask at reception for the password.)

To the hotel management, I'd suggest stripping out all unnecessary fittings and furniture from the room to maximise space, and decorating it in a crisp style in a light plain colour to reduce feelings of claustrophobia. And if there is not at least 40cm on both sides of the bed, then market it as a single room.

Overall, the cramped room, the many steep stairs and the wait for a place at the average breakfast did not spoil our stay in Amsterdam. The location of the hotel meant we were close to almost everything we wanted to see and could use public transport to get to everything else, and the polite staff and comfortable beds made it a more pleasant stay.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone slim, fit and healthy who would not actually spend much time in it! For someone who just wants a base for exploring the city and a place to sleep, it's a reasonable option, though I suspect there are better choices.

Room Tip: Try another floor, in case rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Brilliant hotel, set right in the centre of town yet is a quiet place. Lots of character in the rooms very quaint! The only bad point was the steep stairs as you enter, wouldn't be ideal for anyone with walking difficulties/disabilities or small children. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed here in June for a short business trip. The location is excellent. Short walking distance to the train station, as well as to center city. You can also use the Schiphol hotel shuttle for more convenience - takes about 20 minutes to get from and to the airport. Cost is about 25 EUR for a roundtrip. The shuttle picks guests up right in front of the hotel. The room was very clean. They have everything that you would require from a hotel. What i found excellent is the service and security of the hotel. The breakfast was continental style, but absolutely enough food of everything - good coffee.
The hotel has a very family style atmosphere - the staff is very friendly and supports wherever they can. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The reviews are right, the steps are steep and the rooms are small, but this hotel is awesome. ton's of character, very clean and a great staff. The rooms are tiny but comfortable and clean, the bathrooms are small but excellent. the location is a long walk from Central station, but easily doable in about 20 minutes. Close to Dam square and far enough from the red light district to make it nice and quiet at night. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: a few rooms have balconies, nice bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.