We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quirky but clean and pleasant in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very quirky but clean and pleasant in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We've never stayed anywhere quite this small before! Having said that, I understand some of the rooms are larger than ours. But it did have everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. The bathroom facilities were ingenious - one could sit on the toilet and take a shower at the same time. The shower was the weak point - more of a dribble than a shower. Our room had a balcony which faced the morning sun and was perfect for morning coffee or evening drinks (if you've visited the nearby supermarket opposite Magna Plaza - no minibar!). Breakfast is continental but as much as you want, very fresh and a wide range to cater for all tastes. There are a few seats at breakfast that give you a great view of the canal below. As others have commented, the stairs are incredibly steep, like you've never seen before but the staff will deal with your bags so it's not really an issue (so long as you're moderately sober). The staff are all very helpful, nothing is too much trouble and they are always around. Note the discount the hotel offers for cash - it's very generous so it may be worth taking a little extra with you.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony & maybe a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horacethefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Casselberry, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Nadia Hotel last week for our honeymoon. The hotel's location is great, since it's near the train station and the center of Amsterdam. It's very charming, with a lovely breakfast room, clean bedrooms, and great views from the windows. When we first arrived, the room I had requested was being occupied by a business convention, but to compromise, they let us stay in one of the deluxe double rooms until they checked out of that room, which was extremely nice of them. (The deluxe room had a very nice view of the canal.) A yummy continental breakfast was included, which consisted of croissants, bread & different spreads, cheese, fruit, juice & coffee. They run a 24 hour front desk, which meant that there were various people to greet us when we came and went, but each one of them were very nice and helpful. The hotel does have a lot of stairs to climb, but they'll gladly carry your bags for you upstairs. We had a great time staying here, and would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

You need to be able to climb steep stairs - no elevator/lift.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Great hotel, friendly and helpfull staff, location near to everything.The room was tiny but was equipped with all necessary for a comfortable stay.Fridge,coffee making facilities, WC+shower, cupboard and a great balcony where I enjoyed having my morning coffee.Besides the hotel is very close to Dam, Jordaan, Princengracht etc. Don't miss the area above the hotel and WesterKirk to Central Station.Small canals with caffes by the canalside, nice shops.Generally it was one of the nicest trips that we ever had.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanos-penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

This was our third visit to the Nadia Hotel, over the past 11 years....they are so welcoming; they carried our suitcases up the steep flight of stairs, offered us a welcome drink and invited us to sit in their lovely breakfast room overlooking the canal while our room was being readied.
Our room had a perfect view of the canal, and they had placed a "welcome back" bouquet of fresh flowers in the room.
We had an early flight, so did not take breakfast, however they kindly offered to accomodate us anyway.
The next time we have an overnight in Amsterdam, we will plan on returning to The Nadia.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauralou53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stanley, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We spent 12 nights in France and Holland and stayed at small hotels. The Nadia was by far the best for service. I agree with all the comments above. We had a canal view room so after a day of sightseeing it was great to sit and watch the boat traffic with a beer in hand. The Jordaan area is steps away and a world away from the Dam Square

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 3442vanzanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Pros -
Many rooms have large balconies overlooking Raadhuisstraat with a partial view of the Keizersgracht. The staff is amazingly gracious and helpful in every possible way. The breakfast room is nice and the reception room (checking in/checking out) has some wonderful ornamentation.

Cons -
The corner of Ruidhuisstraat and Keizergracht can be very noisy even with doors and windows shut due to heavy traffic and trams. The trams can literally shake the foundations when they pass by. Also, the rooms are extremely compact, even by Dutch standards.

Watch Your Step - Neither a Pro nor a Con. But it should be mentioned there is no elevator and many steep steps just to get to the reception (2nd floor). More of the same to go to the higher floors. The staff is wonderfully efficient about taking your luggage to and from the room. But use caution when negotiating these steps especially if you have had some alcohol.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony will be noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtrolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#141 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#44 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#36 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Low Cost Holidays and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing