We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #14 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It was Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel was right in the middle of everything. The staff was helpful and so so nice. The rooms were amazing and very very clean. The price was higher than most of the other hotels but it is worth the extra money. All in all a beautiful and great place to stay. I probably wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    118
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
87
344
29
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. I booked it as was one of very few good hotels in Amsterdam that had smoking rooms. On arrival check-in was very quick and efficient. The guy on reception noticed when looking at my passport, that I would be staying there on my birthday. The room , overlooking Amstel river, was very big, with huge, very comfortable bed and lots of wardrobe space. (No coffee making facilities, but coffee delivered to room promptly, with lovely petit fours included at weekend) Wireless internet was available at reasonable rate. The bathroom , all done in marble, with lovely Bvulgari toiletries, had separate toilet and bidet area, shower and bath. We didnt eat in restaurant but the room service food was excellent and the staff were more than happy to accomodate our requests. Breakfast was delivered to the room on time, and as with all the staff we were addressed by our names at all times.
There was a lovely terrrace overlooking the river, but unfortunately this was closed due to inclement weather during our stay.
We cant comment on the swimming pool or fitness area as we did not use, but was great for a city central hotel to offer this facility.
Hotel de L'Europe is close to trams stops and within walking distance of both Dam square and Rembrandtplein. The Red Light District is only 15 min stroll away along the canal. We have never been to Amsterdam before but, we felt safe anywhere, anytime we went out.
I really must commend the staff at this hotel. We hired a car and could not figure out the GPS system. The doorman, whose name I regret I did not learn, could not have been more helpful. He took time to show us and set our destination. Alexander, on reception also helped us with addresses. I have never stayed anywhere were the staff were so helpful and doing because they wanted to help, not just because it was their job.
On my birthday, we returned to the room to find a gift left on bed for me. Nice touch! I really couldnt recommend this hotel highly enough. It may be pricey, but you get more than you pay for and this is rare.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights here in late August. This is a 5 star hotel with a beautiful view and impeccable service. But it is PRICEY. We stayed for 2 nights, had the breakfast both mornings, ordered room service and used the minibar a bit.......$1200 American. Great location as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Arrived in Amsterdam from Stockholm after a week cruise in the Baltic. When we first saw our room, we were surprised at the dated decorating, but soon overcame that. Room was very large with three double closets, a very large marble bathroom, and lots of draw storage. Bed was very comfortable.

Hotel felt empty although our porter told us it was sold out. After wandering around, noticed other side of our floor was closed and under construction. Never heard any noise, but it did account for the empty feeling in the common areas.

Staff could not have been more helpful. Bikes are stored in basement and are available for rental. Mopeds are stored by stairs at entrance. Although we arrived after dinner, still could take a canal cruise in the evening that was within 25 yards of the hotel's front door.

Breakfast which was included in our room rate was a buffet with certain items available for order from the menu. Selections were very good, and as an American, I found it all satisfactory. Tables are against large windows with canal views. Bar area was small, but bartender was interested in all the clients and made an effort to know your name and be helpful. Musical entertainer was appropriate for a bar - interesting but not overpowering. Drinks were expensive.

Location was extremely convenient for us as first time tourists to Amsterdam. Saw Harry Potter across the street in a multiplex theater which was an awful experience, but everything else went very well.

We love 5 star hotels. The room decor did not meet that standard, but everything else at this property made up for that. Everyone at the front desk is trained to be a concierge which was a different experience. We were able to buy tickets from them that avoided the long lines at certain popular attractions.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

After saving up some money for a 5 star hotel we chose Hotel de l' Europe to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. As parking is difficult in Amsterdam we were very pleased that our car was parked for us in the hotels parking lot. The reception staf was aware of the anniversary and gave us a river view room which was super and we felt right at home. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was served in the Excelsior Restaurant and the waiter was attentive and friendly. We took a canal tour during the day and after we went shopping at P.C. Hoofdstraat to spend some more...

Overall we have enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam and we would like to thank all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

its gr8 being in this hotel.
I went their with my husband and daughter.it was gr8 fun their alltogether.
service was very good.
breakfast in the bed was really gr8
and besides the luxurious stay we had a gr8 fun ,all activities out their was real fuin for all of us.

i am telling its worth going there.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

For the birthday of my wife I reserved months ago an execut. suite for us and a single room for our daughter,who arrived from New York and we from Istanbul. We all have been several times in Amsterdam before (Hotel Krasnapolsky / Amstel Hotel) and we are a suite customer since very long time everywhere . The conditions of our suite (Nr 524) were terrible :
1) Very dirty carpets and furniture with smudge, so I had to clean some spots on the couch for sitting there.
2) Bath towels are not any more white,all became grey color and very rough
3) Handshower in the bath-tube was out of order,3 days no maintenance , even I reminded 3 times front desk.
4) No shoe spoon / no laundry bag/ no shoe cloth in the rooms
5) very dirty balcony
6) several electr. sockets in the living room were out of order
7) Corridor and hall on suite floor very dusty (constraction work on other floors) even I asked about constraction in the hotel before and they guaranteed there is not anymore work.
8) Personel enter rooms without knocking or ringing the bell
The hotel needs a complete overhaul / qualified hotel managment
Per night I paid in the suite for this mess 1000.-€ + 316.-€ for the single room (both without breakfast)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.