We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but nothing more.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good, but nothing more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2005

First, it must be emphasised that my review of this hotel needs to be put in perspective. Of course, the hotel falls within the luxury category; of course, you will not find dirty linen and neither will you be mistreated by the staff. However, it certainly does not deserve to be one of the "Leading Hotels of the World" - something which I have grown accustomed to regard more as a sacred text rather than a mere hotel directory.

The exterior is mostly unimpressive; indeed, the spectacular night shot splattered all over promotional materials is, at the very least, deceiving. The lobby is equally uncharacteristic - more appropriate in a good 4-star hotels than in a deluxe 5-star property. No specific complaints about the rooms: everything was there and everything functioned appropriately, but this sort of hotels should offer that indescribable additional factor which, in my opinion, was lacking here. Another thing that struck me as belonging to a lesser-standard establishment was the corridors: a mixture of conservative classicism and awful 70s door frames - very uncool.

On a more positive note, the restaurant "Excelsior" is pretty decent and more than reasonably priced.

That said, I must acknowledge that I managed to find the rooms at a discounted rate (around €250 at lhw.com) and, accordingly, these complaints do appear to have a somewhat pedantic tone. However, if you were to pay the rack rate for the rooms, which orbits around €400 for doubles, my criticism would be more than justified.

If you want to go to a true deluxe hotel in Amsterdam, I suggest you head, as pointed out by an earlier review, to the Amstel: a proper establishment, whose restaurant, "la Rive", is also superb, though considerably pricier than "the Excelsior". If you scout the web well, you may be able to find a room for around €300, which is more than fair given the standards - surprisingly high for an Inter-Continental.

Also, if you are looking for a design/boutique address, and are willing to fork out at least €400 a night, then the Dylan is the place for you: by far the most stylish hotel in town, its restaurant is also worthy of mention.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    102
    34
    11
    12
See reviews for
72
300
29
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2005

We just returned from a two-night stay at this hotel, and I have to say that the service was fantastic. I have no complaints. We stay in many five-star hotels, and I would rank this in my top five.
We booked a deluxe double with a river view, and that is what we received. We were offered an upgrade to a junior-suite, but it would have been without a river view so we declined. Our room-rate included one dinner for two in the hotel's restaurant (Excelsior), and the dinner surpassed my expectations. The meal was multi-course with a different wine with each course. The food was excellent and well thought out, we were not rushed at all, and the service was top-notch and very friendly. As a matter of fact, "friendly" would be an accurate description for the overall service at this hotel. Every person we came in contact with - reception, waiters, bartender, maid, doorman - was friendly and provided attentive service.
The location right next to the canal is just superb. You can easily walk to many of the sights because of the hotel's central location. Or, you can take the tram which stops right across the canal (about a 30 second walk).
We will definitely stay here again soon.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2005

I was interested to read the review of March 25, because I stayed at the hotel from the 18th to the 21st of March, 2005 while visiting relatives in Amsterdam. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay: the room was large and comfortable, the service excellent and hospitable in every way. Although I was on the front of the hotel, in fact, just above the front door, the room was quiet and peaceful.

Because this was a family reunion, I made dinner reservations for the 18th at the Excelsior (the hotel restaurant) for myself and my family. The meal was excellent and beautifully served.

I would have to agree, however, that the bathroom needs remodeling. The colors were dark and old-fashioned and the bathtub so high and so narrow that it was difficult to negociate.

All said, however, I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and thought the location unbeatable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2005

After reading positive reviews, I was surprised of the low quality of the room, food and service levels. Do people who stay at this hotel have low expectations, or was I in the twilight zone? The hotel does not even come close to the level of Intercontinental-Amstel.

The room was large (faced canal) but the bathroom design was so bad that it was dangerous to get in/out of the tub. The wall was paper thin. It was impossible to get any kind of service at all, or if given it was extremely slow. At breakfast, the hotel served old bread/pastries and dried up bacon & sausages. On the second day, 2-day old pastry became 3-day old pastry. This is one of the worst value when considering the quality of service/room received as compared to the amount paid. You feel that the hotel is not spending adequate money to upkeep the place/service.

That said, location is central - close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
557 helpful votes 557 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2005

Last week my boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel de L'Europe. As a travel agent, I try to stay at a different hotel every time I go to Amsterdam, but after this experience I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Juliette and Maarten were excellant answering my questions and getting me oriented after a long trip. They were very friendly and attentive. Every day, the staff said good morning and the doorman was always there to greet me when leaving and coming back. The location of the hotel is PERFECT, and I loved that when I opened my window in the morning, I could here the chimes from the Munt Tower. The room was VERY spacious for a European room, even for the 5 stars! There was an entrance hall, huge main room with numerous closets, cabinets and drawers and the bathroom was modern with duel shower heads, a spacious bathtub (which really counts after a long day of walking around) and a seperate glass enclosed toilet/bidet area. The bed was large and comfy, which some hotels fail to grasp the concept of. The room service was so good that I ordered it two nights in a row. Their lobster cream soup puts most French Bisque's to shame!! I have not a bad thing to say about this beautiful hotel and would highly reccomend it to any of my clients or anybody going to Amsterdam! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2005

When we arrived there was a welcome amenity at the front desk. The doormen were very professional and welcoming. Check-in wasn't as fast as I would have liked it to be, but that was easy to look over because the beauty of the hotel and my suite that I was checked into. Before I arrived I had worked with a fellow named Marcel who was very knowledgeable and through. I had several questions and request as we were staying there for new years eve. He suggested two great party's and was able to get me VIP access at the last minute, we were thrilled! Back to the Hotel: When we entered into our suite we were taken aback. It had cathedral cielings, a huge bathroom and upgraded decor. It was kvery spacious by european standards. The bathroom had dual sinks, a seperate shower (with two shower heads), a huge soaking tub, and a bidet in addition to the regular toilet. The room also featured a doorbell. We got massages in the fitness center which is small. However it does feature a dry heat sauna, and tanning bed. Some of the intenet sites say that the hotel has a spa on site and that is not correct. They do massages on site but for the rest of the treatments you have to go to a seperate salon which I find quite inconveinent. The pool is rather small, but thats to be expected in europe from my experince. The resturant is great with traditional european cusine. Room service however is awful. Every time I ordered anything from room service my order was wrong, late or, not good. Overall the hotel is Wonderful and it is the only place I'll stay when I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2004

We had a top floor river view room and loved it here. The service was great and it's in a very convenient area -- close to most of the major attractions in Amsterdam. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LHW, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and EasyToBook so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.