We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best locations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“One of the best locations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for five days prior to a river cruise. Wanted to explore Amsterdam a little and this was the perfect location. Walking distance to a lot of the attractions. The hotel staff is very professional and service oriented.

The hotel room was great--overlooked the canal from several stories up--very quiet at night. However, be careful of which room you get if you are going to be in the room during the day at all--relaxing, nap, etc... Some of the rooms are right across from the service area and you can hear the service door "banging" shut quite frequently.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and Jr. Suite if you can. Very comfortable and scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    141
    48
    13
    14
See reviews for
114
429
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Easy to access, fantastic location. We have a private rooftop deck with a great view of the canals below. Room is spacious by European standards and the bathroom is positively luxurious. Internet works (unlike last place I stayed ) and the staff are accommodating. I would return.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As other reviewers noted, this is a beautiful hotel in the perfect location. Our room was large and clean - only a view of an atrium but that was not a problem for us. We stayed for four nights. Most noteworthy was a really great bed from the linens to the exceptional comfort. A computer and printer are available off the lobby for printing boarding passes but the front desk staff will also print them for you. The superlatives are insufficient, however, to describe the amazing staff. This is what the hospitality industry should be. They are the definition of professionalism. The bellman, doorman, concierges, front desk staff, restaurant staff - every single person we encountered was terrific and their efforts were truly the centerpiece of our outstanding stay.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location, luxury hotel. Near the river cruises, shopping and tram. The central train station is only a short tram ride away. Very central location to shop, stroll, river ride, take a train to another city, take a tram, restaurants, etc.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in a Junior Suite overlooking the canal. The room was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was nice and had a soaking tub and a walk-in rain shower. One of my favorite features was a motion night light that would automatically come on during the night if you got out of bed. The room service menu was a bit sparse but we did order on our first night. We also tried One of the downstairs restaurants, Freddy's, which was good. We didn't particularly care for our table, but the food was good. Service was a bit different from what you receive in the US. We mainly noticed this when having drinks at the bar. On a couple of occasions we had to go hunt someone down to order drinks and to pay. The location is wonderful and very close to public transportation. We used the tram system and were able to buy a 24 hour pass on board. Overall it was a very nice stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had the pleasure of staying four nights. My experience from start to finish was exceptional. I stayed in a junior suite and it was very comfortable. Full breakfast buffet had wonderful selections and of course additional or special requests were handled.

The concierge staff were exceptional and arranged wonderful dude trips. Bell staff equally efficient

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Francine,
Thank you for your very nice review on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you very much enjoyed your stay, that you liked the room, breakfast buffet and our staff, in particular the concierges and bell staff. We will be sure to share your compliments with them.

Looking foward to welcoming you back,
Kind regards,

Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Fantastic rooms. Very large. Super service and the restaurant is fantastic. Concierge very helpful. Hotel is located in great area and very central. Would recommend to anyone going to Amsterdam. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Harold,
Thank you for your very nice review on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you liked the room, staff, service and restaurant!

Looking forward to your next visit as well,
Kind regards,

Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Splendia, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.