We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Southlake, Texas
2 reviews
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in a Junior Suite overlooking the canal. The room was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was nice and had a soaking tub and a walk-in rain shower. One of my favorite features was a motion night light that would automatically come on during the night if you got out of bed. The room service menu was a bit sparse but we did order on our first night. We also tried One of the downstairs restaurants, Freddy's, which was good. We didn't particularly care for our table, but the food was good. Service was a bit different from what you receive in the US. We mainly noticed this when having drinks at the bar. On a couple of occasions we had to go hunt someone down to order drinks and to pay. The location is wonderful and very close to public transportation. We used the tram system and were able to buy a 24 hour pass on board. Overall it was a very nice stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    141
    48
    13
    14
See reviews for
114
425
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had the pleasure of staying four nights. My experience from start to finish was exceptional. I stayed in a junior suite and it was very comfortable. Full breakfast buffet had wonderful selections and of course additional or special requests were handled.

The concierge staff were exceptional and arranged wonderful dude trips. Bell staff equally efficient

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Francine,
Thank you for your very nice review on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you very much enjoyed your stay, that you liked the room, breakfast buffet and our staff, in particular the concierges and bell staff. We will be sure to share your compliments with them.

Looking foward to welcoming you back,
Kind regards,

Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Fantastic rooms. Very large. Super service and the restaurant is fantastic. Concierge very helpful. Hotel is located in great area and very central. Would recommend to anyone going to Amsterdam. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Harold,
Thank you for your very nice review on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you liked the room, staff, service and restaurant!

Looking forward to your next visit as well,
Kind regards,

Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved this hotel, with its views across the canal and central location. It is classical and opulent, without feeling at all old fashioned, and the staff could not do more to help during our short stay. We'd certainly recommend it. MLS

Room Tip: Ask for Canal views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear MLS,
It is a pleasure to read your review following your stay at De L' Europe.
Your comments about the hotel and the staff are appreciated and will be shared with the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind regards,
Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Recently returned from a 5 night stay at this wonderful hotel. Chosen because of reviews I had read and the location and it did not disappoint.

Our first greeting from the doorman was very warm and welcoming and that continued with the rest of the staff. There seems to be a genuine pride in their work place and everyone we met was eager to make our stay the best possible.

I booked a basic room including breakfast, we were unexpectedly upgraded on arrival, maybe because our son had ordered birthday flowers for the room. The room, whilst not a canal view one (they must be spectacular) was nevertheless great, it was an inside facing room but it was so quiet our sleep was just wonderful. During the day we were so busy walking and exploring that the view was not an issue and we appreciated the peace and quiet at night. Beautifully decorated with free Wi-Fi and an ipad to use in the room. Large bathroom, lovely shower and tub.

The breakfast room faces over the canal and Muntplein and we were fortunate to be sat at a table every day facing the canal. There is a breakfast buffet which was a lovely spread of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, juices and smoothies, cold meats, cheese, salmon, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, sausages, potato cakes and lovely fresh breads, rolls, croissants and pastries. More than enough for us and it set us up for the day. But if the buffet is not for you there are items which can be cooked to order.

There are other restaurants in the hotel but as we were exploring Amsterdam we chose to eat elsewhere, no reflection on the hotel at all as their standard is so high.

The hotel is in a great location, one day we walked to the Jewish quarter and the Resistance museum, another day to the Amsterdam museum and central area, 3rd day Rijksmuseum and 4th day the Jourdaan area and Anne Frank house. It is easy to navigate around the city, the hotel has great maps, just try and avoid walking in front of a push bike! Trams are also close by, just a few minutes walk away. Canal trips are on offer all over the city, including a hop on hop off one which might be good if time is short. There is a boat which leaves from the hotel dock for the hotel guests, fee 38 euros per head, a lovely boat, smaller than most of the canal boats and it made for a nice personal trip.

The concierge desk is helpful, we bought tickets for the Rijksmuseum from there. Tickets for Anne Frank house need to be bought in advance, there are huge queue's at these places if you do not have a ticket.

We caught a taxi from the airport to the hotel, fee around 58 euros and it takes approximately 25 mins depending on the traffic.

Another unexpected thoughtful gesture was returning to a find a birthday gift in the room along with a personal hand written note. I think this sums up the general approach to their guests, you are welcomed and appreciated.

Well done everyone.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest,
What a lovely review you wrote about your stay at De L' Europe! It was a real pleasure to read your description of the staff, service, room with its facilities and our breakfast service.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Do yourself a favor and pay a little extra if you have to stay here. You will get your money's worth and then some. We just stayed at De L'Europe for 3 nights and it was magnificent. We were upgraded to a canal view and given a bottle of prosecco as we were celebrating our anniversary which was a very nice touch from guest relations(thanks again Jacqueline!)
The room was delightful and as others mentioned the bathroom especially was fantastic.
We had a great lunch on the terrace and we found everything reasonably priced for such a nice property.
Don't bother doing a bunch of research on where to eat/drink, etc. Just show up and Eef will take care of your every need. He was invaluable.
Highly recommend doing the boat tour offered through the hotel. Small group that are all hotel guests with a great guide, Paul.
The spa was great as well as my wife had a 1.5 hour massage. The spa prices were unbelievably reasonable versus similar 5 star hotels in the US and Europe.
We went back and forth on where to stay and ended up choosing De L'Europe and
couldn't be happier with our choice. We went by the other hotels we considered and the location was much superior as well as the appearance and views.
No messing with wifi passwords/codes, just sign on to their wifi and you're good to go.
Zero complaints on our end and we look forward to returning to this hotel in the near future and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: if can get a canal view with balcony it is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Allan,
I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at De L' Europe Amsterdam! It gives us all great pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, the room, our concierge with his recommendations and the terrace. It was my pleasure to allocate you a nice room and to arrange the prosecco wine to celebrate your anniversary. I hope you enjoyed it!

As you indicated your wish to return in the future, it will be my pleasure to welcome you back and please do not hesitate to contact me prior to arrival if that is the case.

Kind regards,
Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend and I stayed for 5 days, including King's Day. It is a lovely hotel on the canal, so you can
people watch from the Terrace Bar or from upstairs if the weather is a bit chilly/wet.

The staff were very efficient and nothing was too much trouble without anyone rushing around or
being flamboyant about what they were doing - it just all worked very professionally.

King's Day is worth being part of, the hotel paint's itself Orange with staff wearing Orange ties for the men and scarves for the women. The special luncheon on the Terrace was delicious and with
a view.
Bedrooms are large and elegant and bathrooms very luxurious.
We would stay again, at the drop of a hat !

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Anne,
It is a pleasure to read your review following your stay at De L' Europe Amsterdam. Your comments about the hotel and its staff are appreciated and have been shared with all. I am happy to read that you enjoyed King's Day and the lunch on the Terrace, one of the nicest locations in Amsterdam to enjoy this special day's festivities!

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future,
Kind regards,

Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Splendia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.