We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best in Amsterdam !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply the best in Amsterdam !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very romantic and luxury hotel in Amsterdam. Excellent service and beautiful interior. You can feel yourself like on Carribean cruise vessel in the center of one the best cities in the Europe. Welcome onboard !

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest,
We like to thank you for your kind review. Your comments about the interior and service are truly appreciated and will be shared with our team.
Looking forward to welcome you back in the future,

Warm regards,
Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    133
    46
    12
    14
See reviews for
100
392
35
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Born and living in Holland I ‘am not particularly impressed by the hospitality in The Netherlands. Usually the service is mediocre at its best and rooms are small and a hodgepodge of furniture. In Amsterdam there are lots of hotels and I had a few; I guess the worst hotel in the world (according to Tripadvisor) is actually in Amsterdam BUT
Hotel de L’ Europe is a very pleasant exception! This is a 5 star hotel in the middle of Amsterdam, with a high service level and very kind staff. My daughter and I stayed at this beautiful hotel last weekend and we had a wonderful time.

Booking
I booked the hotel by telephone because I wanted to make sure that I got a room with balcony. The booking was handled friendly and professionally. We arrived early and stored our luggage and went into town. It was raining cats and dogs so we got 2 umbrella’s from the hotel.

We had a few drinks at the hotel bar with a very nice piano player and a comfortable and nicely decorated smoking lounge!
We had dinner in the Brasserie which was very good (not cheap though). There is also a 2 starred Michelin restaurant but did not use that.

Room and breakfast
We had a marvellous room (328) with a huge bedroom and a huge bathroom, two balconies and view on the Amstel river. It was quiet, big, good temperature, great linens,
a fruit bowl and an I-pad to use. WiFi was free and worked uninterrupted. They gave my daughter a nice present for her birthday which was very friendly.
Breakfast was not includes in the roomrate. You can choose from the buffet and you can order a la carte. It is expensive (€ 73,- for 2) but sitting in the restaurant, overlooking the river and having a fresh breakfast and being served as two queens, is worth the money.

The friendliness of the staff, the warm interest they show, the smiles, the ambience of luxury- without- the- stiff- upperlip, ticks all the boxes.

I would be back in an second, and then stay longer.
Do not hesitate, if in Amsterdam stay at de l’Europe.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Elena,
Thank you for having taken the time to write such a nice and extensive review on Tropadvisor!
We are delighted te read that you enjoyed our facilities such as the room, Brasserie, breakfast and as you indicated high service level and very kind staff. Please be assured that we will share your kind words with our team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back,
warm regards,

Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was perfect in every way. The location, the service, the rooms, the breakfast....every detail was extraordinary. The concierge was a godsend. I don't believe that I have ever experienced a better concierge in all my years of frequenting luxury hotels. They essentially arranged our entire weekend, maximizing our visit to the city. In addition to the concierge, the other stand out service was by far, the door man who not only gave us directions to a locale but walked with us to the end of the street to ensure we went the correct way. Hello? That is FIVE STAR service. We could of not picked a better place to stay for our first visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Angela,
We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at De L' Europe. Your comments about our concierge(s) and doorman are greatly appreciated and have been shared with them and the entire team.

Looking forward to serving you again sometime in the future,
warm regards,

Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent a four day Valentine's Day weekend at this hotel and could not have been more pleased. The entire staff seems imbued with a friendly spirit of hospitality. The concierge staff is among the best we have encountered. The private boat tour they arranged was a highlight of our trip, as was the Indonesian restaurant they booked for us. Their suggestions and directions were spot on. The restaurant is a two star possibly worthy of three. The breakfast buffet is spectacular, the rooms well equipped and the bar congenial. Altogether a five star experience.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Alan,
Thank you so much for this nice review! It was a pleasure to read that you were very happy with our staff, our concierges in particular, Bord'Eau restaurant, breakfast buffet, room and bar.
We hope we can welcome you back perhaps for a future Valentine's celebration or some other occasion.

Warm regards,
Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was luxurious and beautiful without being overly trendy. It was also superbly quiet, spacious, and comfortable. Service was impeccable and the staff were extremely thoughtful and helpful and they seemed to take pride in the quality of the hotel. The spa is very professional and a lovely place to indulge. The location can't be beat. I usually stay at the Dylan, but De L'Europe is a much better bargain!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at De L' Europe Amsterdam. It is gives us pleasure to read that you enjoyed your room with all its facilities, such as the light sensors, the comfortable bed and the rainfall shower. Your compliment about the delicious meal at our Hoofdstad Brasserie was greatly appreciated.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly when booking next time and we will do our utmost to book you a nice table at Bord'Eau restaurant.

Kind regards,
Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff, great food and drinks.
It was really lovely sipping my delicious cappuccino while listening to the very talented piano player play on. Very nice touch.

We wanted a place to eat that was trendy and busy so we asked Alexander for some recommendations and he was spot on and super friendly. He definitely knows what's going on- ask him for advice.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay, that you enjoyed the food and drinks and liked our staff, Alexander in particular. We will definitely forward your compliments to him!

With kind regards and till hopefully another time in the near future,

Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just visited Amsterdam for the first time and stayed for three nights at the D L'Europe. It totally lived up to our expectations. We stayed in a Junior Suite overlooking the river which had luxurious decor and magnificent views from three large windows - but when closed the high strength glazing ensured complete quietness. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The bathroom - which was huge and done out in dappled marble throughout - had both rainfall shower and ample sized bath and the underfloor heating was adjustable. There was mood lighting provided and I only had to raise my head off the pillow in the middle of the night and soft floor level lights by the bathroom door came on to show you the way - excellent idea. Breakfast was served either in the Brasserie or at the end of the Promenade room with comfortable armchairs overlooking the canal. We eat in the Brasserie one night and the food was delicious and excellent value for money. Unfortunately the Bord d'Eau was closed the two nights we had available to dine there but we will make a point of trying this restaurant next time. Every single member of staff made us feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble. I shall be recommending the De L'Europe to all my friends and hope to be back there soon.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Guest Relations Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Carol,
Thank you for having taken the time to write this very nice review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the room with its lightplan, the Brasserie and our staff. It is unfortunate that you were not able to have dinner in our Bord'Eau restaurant but should you book our hotel again please do not hesitate to contact me prior and I will do my utmost to book you a nice table, providing that the restaurant is open (it is closed on Sunday and Monday).

Kind regards,
Jacqueline Grätz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LHW, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.