We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One and only in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“One and only in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Since 25 years my hotel of choice when in Amsterdam, actually one of my favourites Hotel globally:
- Always very friendly staff
- Very nice rooms
- TOP service
- Very Clean
- Perfect location
- Amazing building
- Great Restaurant
- Great Bar

There isn't a single thing I could complain about

I can recommend to all travellers, be it for business or private

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    126
    43
    12
    12
See reviews for
93
373
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel in November of 2013 for a tradeshow. I forget the name of the architect but I was told by the staff that the hotel was redone on the interior by the same architect who designed the train station and other well known monuments in the area.

When I got out of bed in the middle of the night there were motion sensors that turn on lights to illuminate the sides of the bed and bathroom counters. There was a flat screen TV motorized to come out of the footboard of the bed.

I forget what I paid, it was at the higher end for hotels in the area but had a large room with a very large bathroom with a nice bathtub. After walking the tradeshow floor everyday for 8 hours straight the bathtub was nice to have.

I had a balcony with a nice view of the canal and surrounding area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel on our annual trip to Europe. I have visited this hotel before over 20 years ago. This hotel has a great reputation and you get this old world feel when you walk in. We had a nice time on our visit but we could not help but think that there was missing something. It almost seemed like we were in a time machine that took us 15 years back. the staff in the hotel is very friendly. They would go out of their way to help you, there are two restaurants on the main floor. One of the restaurants is a very high-end Michelin star and the second one is more casual but has a really nice patio/deck on the canal that is perfect for lunch. The rooms need a little facelift as the colors and the decor are definitely dated. This hotel is in a nice location so if you are not picky on the rest of it and don't care about how much you pay, you can go ahead. It was a bit disappointing to see that such a nice hotel has not been kept up as much as you would expect in this case.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as the place to stay in Amsterdam if you are looking for something special in luxury and excellent service.The location is very convenient for all the attractions of the city.We were allocated a junior suite with wonderful views overlooking the Amstel river which was spacious and beautifully appointed.The personal welcome we received and the guide to the room and hotel facilities was the perfect start to our stay.The brasserie restaurant and breakfast was excellent overlooking the river.A tip if you wish to dine at the Michelin star Bord D'eau be sure to book in advance as it gets very busy.

We stayed for 2 nights in November 2014

Room Tip: Room 124 is the wonderful room we stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Many hotels seek to be perceived as being excellent, and do it by intimidating visitors. This place is the opposite: it has every amenity, its service and luxury are unparalleled, and yet when you drive up in your rented car the doorman (in top hat and tails, of course) remembers your name (even though it was a year since your last visit); the front desk treats you like family and so on, and so on. Visit Freddy's Bar (and ask for a Grolsch, and be surprised); dine by the Amstel, oh--and spring for the luxury rooms, also overlooking the river. You'll only live once, and your money won't mean anything to you after you're dead.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hotel, with an excellent service, from breakfast to dinner and from arrival to departure. Very nice lounge and very beautyful rooms in a very nice building. We also had dinner in the restaurant Bord'eau. Simply perect!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this hotel after on line research for a first visit to Amsterdam. The location is central and within walking distance of virtually every major attraction in the city. My pre visit emails with questions were answered by the concierge staff with detailed information. On arrival we were greeted warmly by everyone at the door and desk. Both rooms I reserved were upgraded, one to a junior suite which was spacious and comfortable with much closet space, heated bathroom floor, lots of extra towels and toiletries. A welcome fruit basket appeared in my room later in the day. We needed walking directions from the hotel, and the concierge told us about a discrete wooden door in a square to look for on the way. It opened into a hidden beguinage with an organ concert in progress in the chapel- magical experience we would have missed without his guidance. Pool is small, but charming to swim looking out at canal. We had great facials in the spa. The hotel has a Michelin starred restaurant that was booked, but we did try the less formal restaurant that has a bib gourmand Michelin designation and it was very good. Overall the whole experience was one of luxury, pampering and flawless service. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We passed some rooms which are directly adjacent to an interior stairwell with a small sitting area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.