We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1100+ euros per night, pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
chicago
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“1100+ euros per night, pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a nice suite overlooking the water, yes. However I felt that the price was very high for Amsterdam. The included breakfast was not special at all. Dinner in the bib gourmand restaurant had a nice view but was also nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    113
    38
    12
    12
See reviews for
85
335
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I took my wife for her birthday for 4 nights , I have booked a very beautiful suite . Extremely professional staff and very helpful . The location is great the view is amazing . They have a two Michelin star restaurant
that is a must to dine in, don't forget to pass by Harry's bar at the lobby .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a suite that was one of the largest I've stayed in. Very comfortable bed, large bathroom. Service was wonderful, and the hotel's location was perfect. We had dinner one night along the canal. The breakfast buffet was a little disappointing, but the little Nutella packets definitely helped.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Took a while to be greeted by waiter.. Sunday evening 630pm. Spring chicken undercooked and tiny, but larger than waiters description of "looks like it was run over by a truck".
Massively overpriced! At 23 euros!
2nd meal was uninpressive.
Could not recommend....

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First the good news......the hotel is perfectly located in the city center and the public spaces are lovely. Now the not so good news......although our Junior Suite was very large, the bathroom was split in two separate rooms across the hall from each other. One room had the tub, shower and sink. The other had the toilet (and another sink) which made for an awkward getting ready regimen in the morning. But the real issue with the De L'Europe is the service. Two out of three mornings, despite repeated requests, we waited over 20 minutes for almost all of the breakfast buffet to be replenished and the "eggs to order" cook was clearly overwhelmed. Not acceptable when the breakfast is €32 a person. The same is true with the front desk staff - although we were told that the seats they got us for the Concert Hall would be center orchestra, we were actually seated in the last row of the mezzanine. And when we showed up for dinner at a restaurant the concierge suggested and told us she had made a reservation at, we arrived only to find there was no reservation for us. Awkward to say the least. Next time, we'll be trying a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here during the Gay Pride Festival last month and had a blast. The hotel is so extremely well situated, and although in the very heart of the city, it’s far enough away from the Red-Light district and all the noisy bars and clubs.

We were fortunate enough to get a room with a balcony, overlooking the river and were able to watch the parade of boats and floats as they passed beneath us. This is our third visit this year, and I think another one is in order, later this year. I have stayed in a few 5 Star Hotels in Amsterdam, but I can confidently assure anyone thinking of visiting the city, that this is definitely the right choice to make.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This luxurious hotel had a beautiful elegance mixed with charm and character. I loved our eclectically plush upscale red room with more super cushy pillows than I've seen at any other hotel. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom had a separate deep soaking tub and large beautiful marble shower. The water pressure was powerful for a great cleansing shower. There were also an abundance of fragrant toiletries and a bathroom scale. The scale is not always my friend, however I like having one in the room on vacation. We had a beautiful canal view and the hotel also offers canal boat rips to their guest. This hotel is centrally located and close to everything! This is a fun city with loads of activities from shopping, open markets, night clubs to restaurants and museums. The staff was friendly and professional. There was also a retractable clothing line over the tub. There really weren't any negatives but a maybe would like a bit more bright light in the room, however loads of mood lighting. This is a fantastic stay though and we thoroughly recommend De L' Europe!

Room Tip: I believe most of the rooms have a view of the canal. If you plan to go to the Anne Frank museum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, EasyToBook and Hotel.de so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.