We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam in style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amsterdam in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This amazingly located hotel made my first trip to Amsterdam an absolute delight. Let's first talk about the unassuming but classy exterior which cut out the hassle and bustle of the street and made it feel like wondering into a secret venue. The staff from doormen to concierge to the spa staff were impeccable. Concierge have great suggestions on where to go and when to go tailored to your needs. The new river view suites were beautiful large spacious without feeling empty, the decor was arty but yet cosy and stylish.
The spa is a great place to unwind and refresh yourself and is definitely worth a visit even if it's for a quick swim or sauna. Gym extremely clean and open 24hrs with a wide range of equipment.
You have to experience having a cigar in the cigar room with a drink from the Freddys bar lovely way to unwind and end the evening. The breakfast was great, not a massive spread where you are wondering how long the food has been there but enough to keep you busy. The lunch menu was diverse and to a high standard. Nice options for the dish of the day. Hopefully the weather is nice enough so that you you can eat outside overlooking the canal. Overall definitely will be coming back and hopefully that is very soon.

Room Tip: Try the river view suites lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    143
    48
    13
    14
See reviews for
117
440
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Right on the canal. Located moments to everything.
The quintessential Amsterdam hotel.
Close enough to the action including red light district without being a part of it.
We had the blue room which was cool.
Breakfast was good. Omelettes not great but service first class.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We did not stay at the hotel, but did have the opportunity to have dinner in the restaurant within the hotel on our last evening in Amsterdam. The atmosphere in the restaurant was amazing, and we had a table that overlooked the canals. We chose from what would be described as a ``wine bible`` with over 60 pages of wines from their cellar!!! Dinner was amazing and it was great to have the opportunity to select from a vegetarian menu, as it is sometimes difficult to select vegetarian options in higher end restaurants. The service was impeciable and we wanted for nothing. By far the best meal we ate in the Netherlands during our stay! I would definetely return again to both the restaurant and to experience the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I've been to Amsterdam on two other occasions when I was in my 20's and stayed in cheap hotels near the Red Light District. This time we stayed at L'Europe and it was really a great experience. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, even with what I'm sure were annoying 'American' questions.

The only issues we had were with the lighting in the room.

The lighting was a bit difficult to figure out what switch worked which light. There is a floor lamp in the corner which is not controlled by a switch on the wall, but one that you have to reach behind the chair on the ground to turn it off. Strange! The lighting is also very dim. Not such a big deal in the room, but my wife really had issues getting ready in the bathroom with such low lighting.

A definite stay if you're looking for a really nice hotel!

Room Tip: Some rooms have great city views and may also have a balcony. If you get the 'wrong' room, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We've stayed at the beautiful De L'Europe now three times and we are already looking forward to returning.

I love the fact that the hotel team are the same familiar faces (and who recognise us back!) and whom clearly love their hotel offering genuine hospitality. From the minute either Case or Jerome greet you at the door - you know you've arrived at the right place.

We travelled with our elderly parents (slightly disabled) and our dog and nothing was ever a bother - even though that mix can be slightly chaotic! We were treated beautifully - by every person we came across. The rooms are without fault - beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable. The restaurants serve delicious food and the location is fantastic.

Being in the hotel industry ourselves we feel it's important to test the market and visit the other hotels in town - but please, we'd just love to stay at the De L'Europe time and time again. It's unquestionably the best place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adro, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The staff is smiling, senior management is very professional, young management in the average.
It's several times that I come here and I've always find a nice hospitality and the concierge is an high quality one.
When you come for business or turism it worths the money you spend.
Unfortunately there's no a loyalty program but just a membership.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed in 2 different rooms in this hotel as part of our trip to the Netherlands and Belgium. Both rooms were quiet, dark (key in the heart of summer), clean, and well decorated. The breakfast everyday in the lobby area facing the canal was wonderful. Lots of choices, from breads, cereals, egg dishes, fruits, coffees etc. Really got us off to a good start each day. The restaurant (for dinner) on the canal level was actually very good- maybe among the best food we had in Amsterdam. The staff was wonderful, helping us with reservations at museums and restaurants. Having a bike rental available at the hotel was great- we loved cycling around the city. Would definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room in the newer part of the hotel overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LHW, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.