We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smiling and professional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Adro, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smiling and professional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The staff is smiling, senior management is very professional, young management in the average.
It's several times that I come here and I've always find a nice hospitality and the concierge is an high quality one.
When you come for business or turism it worths the money you spend.
Unfortunately there's no a loyalty program but just a membership.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    162
    51
    15
    16
See reviews for
150
487
40
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed in 2 different rooms in this hotel as part of our trip to the Netherlands and Belgium. Both rooms were quiet, dark (key in the heart of summer), clean, and well decorated. The breakfast everyday in the lobby area facing the canal was wonderful. Lots of choices, from breads, cereals, egg dishes, fruits, coffees etc. Really got us off to a good start each day. The restaurant (for dinner) on the canal level was actually very good- maybe among the best food we had in Amsterdam. The staff was wonderful, helping us with reservations at museums and restaurants. Having a bike rental available at the hotel was great- we loved cycling around the city. Would definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room in the newer part of the hotel overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at the hotel De L'Europe in august there where three of us, my wife and daughter. my wife and I were upgraded to a junior suite and my daughter was given an upgrade to a deluxe room . The hotel we found was extremely comfortable and quiet our room over looked the Amstel river, the staff were excellent the sevice was faultless nothing was to much trouble. We spent some time sitting on the terrace overlooking the river just watching the boats go by. We found the three days we spent there very relaxing. Food in the restaurant was very good, the waiting staff were excellent. again nothing was to much trouble.
AJ

Room Tip: Join the Leaders Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

L'Europe was indeed the perfect place as a base for our family to visit A'dam after many years. We organised an event for a number of friends at the Brasserie, lekker food and a perfect venue. No need to elaborate else, simply a divine Hotel. Tot ziens !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, Limpopo, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We did not have a room with canal views but the hotel staff is so friendly and the hotel is so well situated that it did not matter.I would highly recommend this hotel and would not stay anywhere else when visiting Amsterdam.Thanks D L'Europe for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. I would highly recommend it. The staff and service were outstanding. We have stayed at top hotels worldwide and this one ranks right up there. The location is superb.....right in the middle of everything and within walking distance of most major sights. The rooms were great. We were in suites both times which could not have been nicer. The food was excellent at the restaurants in the hotel. We also enjoyed the spa on two occasions and had very enjoyable treatments. This is a great hotel and I can assure you that you will have a wonderful time there.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The hotel is beautifully positioned at the corner of a canal with great views of passing river craft. The interior is a bit of a puzzle with gestures to grandeur in the form of very large chandeliers and over scaled reproductions of famous Dutch paintings clumsily obscured behind the chandeliers,set against nasty pink walls. The rooms have more controls for temperature and lighting than can be found in a cockpit. Once you work these out there are benefits like lights that guide you to the loo should you be geographically challenged in a 4 meter square room. However I found it all rather over designed and needlessly complicated. The linen is superb however and the breakfasts were freshly prepared. The bar is well stocked and if you like a gin martini the bar has a good range of gins and the barman is skilled.
But on balance I would look for something with less strained decor effects on my next visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The rooms looking onto the central court are gloomy. Make sure you have a view out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, Hotel.de, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.