We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a fantastic stay at The De L'Europe!! My friend and I were greeted by the most welcoming staff who really looked after us for the entire stay. Our room was lovely with a small balcony,good view and an amazing marble bathroom with heated flooring. The bed was also ridiculously comfy!

The staff at the hotel really made our trip extra special by recommending some great bars and restaurants and also made sure we found our way round the city with ease.

Great hotel in a beautiful location!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    115
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
85
341
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We recently returned from a trip to Amsterdam and Belgium. I wanted our first five nights in Amsterdam to be special so I selected a suite for five nights at this hotel. This hotel is magnificent. It overlooks the canal and exudes European charm. Our suite was spacious with a gorgeous bedroom and a separate are to bath and shower with a TV and separate bathroom. The bed was so comfortable and they provide slippers that are like walking on marshmallows. My daughters bed in the living area was super comfy as well. The hotel staff is top rate. Our early flight was cancelled. They responded immediately to our email regarding a later arrival. The concierge helped with restaurant recommendations, directions and reservations. They are so friendly. One night we wanted a snack and we were brought a delightful array of nuts. The cleaning staff was also wonderful. The night manager who assisted with train reservations to Brussels was patient and kind even though I was a little irritable. (Glad we did not book later return train from Brussels to Amsterdam as we could not wait to return to Amsterdam and got out of Brussels on earliest train. The location is perfect. Within walking distance of great restaurants, museums, and shopping. If you really ant to be treated like royalty then definitely stay at this amazing hotel. It made our trip to Amsterdam really special. (we are the family who had a cell phone loss. Thanks to all of your staff.

Room Tip: I would recommend the suite. Fresh flowers in the lobby and room. Like having a spa in your own r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was our first visit to Amsterdam. My husband and I were extremely impressed with the welcome we received on arrival. Amanda, at the reception desk, had excellent customer service skills (and a smile that did not leave her for the five days we were there).
We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe suites have a super view of the city and the flower market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a great location and is great value for a luxury boutique hotel experience. But what really makes it sing is the attitude of the staff. Everyone from the doormen to the front desk staff to the housekeepers is friendly and welcoming. Jacquie - so very helpful. Everyone displayed charm and caring without being cloying or pretentious. You made our weekend in your city a joy to remember!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

The river view room was excellent and the quality if there room - fittings are very high. Most if the attractions are close to the hotel. The hotel staff were exceptional and very friendly.

The holt pool and spa is not the largest, but still really nice and good views of the river from the pool.

The best thing is the windows are high quality and shut out the noise of the party boats at night - in the early hours.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Our recent stay was the fourth time at De L'Europe. The staff of the hotel are consistently outstanding/friendly and the day/night managers are true professionals (Jeroen Bronsveld most particularly). The Masters wing of the hotel is the place to be and the rooms are extremely well appointed and spacious. We have stayed at many of the finest hotels in Europe and this is surely among the best.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Masters wing if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Your kind words are very much appreciated and will be shared amongst the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to De L'Europe soon!

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great service, a wonderful morning breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. We had a room on the third floor that overlooked the canal. It couldn't be more quintessential Amsterdam. A bit on the pricey side, but well worth it. A short walk to everything in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and HotelsClick so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.