We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel de l'europe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“hotel de l'europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2004

Arrived at the hotel de l'europe which was a short ride from the airport in the taxi- take the town cabs instead of the independant ones or you will be paying much more for the ride. The staff were very welcoming, but our room was very small, a suite with a separate sitting room. I asked for an upgrade as we are amex card holders and we were given a superb room. The reason that the first room was small was the fact that I suffer from asthma and asked for a non-smoking room, but to be honest, the second room that we were offered was fantastic, with a view of the street and was huge, the sitting area was in the bedroom. Also the bathroom was much better. The first room had a small bath and one sink with no separate shower or toilet, and did not have a bidet. the second room was a smoking room, but I could not smell the smoke, and on the plus side it had a superb bathroom with a separate shower big enough for two, and a bath- also a separate toilet area with a bidet- bliss! The toiletries were Bulgari 'au the vert' which is my signature scent so I was very pleased. The staff could not do enough for us- the concierge 'Alex' was the most helpful man in the world- he booked us an indonesian restaurant which was fabulous- we had reservations when we entered it as it was small, hot and very busy, but the staff all spoke english and were so friendly- plus the food was exceptional. Also Alex booked us another restaurant and helped us to find places of interest, especially the sex museum! That was a must- located on Damrack- don't bother with the one in the red light district as it was rubbish! Amsterdam does not feel very safe in the red light district in the daytime as there were all sorts of characters offering us drugs, but at night (once I had left my handbag in the hotel room) it felt very safe- loads of tourists and police around. We went into the sex shops just for the experience and saw the ladies of the night- wild or what! Walked for miles in the day, but disappointing to find that the two major art museums were closed. Some of the diamond centres were disappointing but there is plenty to do- just when we were getting into the swing of things it was time to leave- and we stayed for 4 days too. Freddys bar was great, very intimate and the barman was so nice, he looked after us. Check out a canal boat ride as we never had time to do one, but looked good. Very interesting city, dare to see the sex and drug culture even if it isn't your kind of thing- there's nowhere quite like it anywhere else in the world- to be sure I will be going back, when- I really don't know as it was 16 years ago I last went before now!
Have fun, be safe and don't take the camera to the red light district or you may find trouble.

2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2004

we stayed here on a recent biz trip - whilst I don't know how much was paid we enjoyed our stay. very convenient location and very historical with all the mod cons.

admittedly we asked for a non smoking and ended up with a room on the inside of the hotel which was dark but it was very quiet - something which the canal rooms probably are not given their prime position in the city centre.

room service food was expensive but nice. staff friendly and helpful.
if I could afford to stay 5 star I would stay here again as it compares well to other 5 star hotels in europe although it has more of a historical than trendy feel

3 Thank Torrie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2004

was put in the back though promised canal (and they weren't at all full); seriously dirty rug; plumbing leak; hidden costs; as for the gourmet, restaurant, three words: paper napkins, $200. --Absolutely would not return .

7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2004

I decided to book this hotel based on the pics and reviews I browsed on the net. I was disappointed by the small lobby and the rooms that have way less chracter than it seems on the pics (and we booked a deluxe room). Thankfully, we got a discounted rate, but even so, I founded that this hotel was overpriced, even though it is sure confortable and the location is very central. I would definately try another hotel next time.

1 Thank Maximilien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2003

stayed here in jan2000 it was nice the restaurants and especially freddys bar gurt is the best bartender ever .came back in dec jan 2000-2001 for new years again i loved it a short walk to everything everyone is super helpful super fast room service 24 hrs a day so i just reserved aroom for new years again this year oh yeh the guy at the front door who helped us out the cab remembered our names from the year before we were here definitely very awesome

1 Thank Mwilson3937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2003

visited this hotel in March for 5 days. Must concur with storage closets in suite. Amazing amount of space. Very comfortable accomodations. Toiletries by Bulgari were a plus to me. Excellent service, very clean, close to everything. Concierge was very helpful in arranging for theatre tickets and for changing train accommodations for us. I'd definitely stay here again. The pool does not have a shallow end and it looks a lot bigger in the pictures, but my 8 year old thoroughly enjoyed herself.

1 Thank teeokeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
255 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2002

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of damp days in March 2001; we were most impressed by the colossal amount of storage in our room, then by the huge bathroom, then by the welcoming flowers, chocolates, and beer (the place seems to be run by Heineken). Very helpful concierge, great location, right in the middle of everything.

7 Thank BornTooLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,926 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Low Cost Holidays, Otel, Odigeo, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing