We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real AmsterdamTreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 4 Pay for 3 Nights
Ranked #15 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Real AmsterdamTreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel De L’Europe for two nights after attending a conference on the outskirts of Amsterdam. It was our first visit to the city.
This 5* hotel is very conveniently located on the Amstel river in the heart of Amsterdam, having its own private jetty, and great views of the city.
From arrival to departure we were met by staff who were friendly and highly professional, making us feel welcome and comfortable throughout our stay.
The hotel was very elegantly appointed throughout. We occupied a junior suite which was everything we had hoped for. Having a large impressive balcony overlooking the river and surrounding area, which we would have used much more if it hadn’t rained so much! The room was very comfortable, spacious, very clean and exceptionally well serviced, and had all the comforts and facilities you would expect of a hotel in this class.
We had dinner in the hotel’s brassiere on our first evening and it was a delightful experience. The food was very good, well served and my gluten free diet was well catered for. The views were exceptional of the river and city at night, which made for an excellent dining experience. We also enjoyed a drink in Freddy’s bar where we sampled the hotel's ‘famous’ Bloody Mary cocktail with that secret ingredient! – highly recommended, and again, excellent friendly service.
The hotel has a wonderful spa, swimming pool and gym, and the service and quality was very much in keeping with the rest of the hotel. We enjoyed a spa treatment whilst we were there and can vouch for the professional competence of the staff from the experience we had.
There is only one downside to this hotel and that comes down to cost – it wasn’t a cheap stay, but we knew that from the outset, and the quality of service, ambience and facilities were at the standard you would expect for the price.
It certainly deserves to be classed as a Leading Hotel of the World, and we will definitely stay there again if ever we revisit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room 228 was fantastic - a junior suite with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    145
    49
    15
    15
See reviews for
123
448
37
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a stunning 5 Star hotel that I would readily recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam. I have stayed many times but each time it gets better. I stayed last weekend and I have to say that the service, ambience and overall beauty of this remarkable place really blew me away.

The rooms and suites are second to none, with free Wi-Fi and state of the art bathrooms. Our suite overlooked the River Amstel from a lovely terraced balcony and having breakfast out there as Amsterdam came alive in the morning, was a truly memorable experience. To add to the relaxation factor, the hotel boasts a swimming pool and spa also. I should really give the restaurants a review of their very own, but I am more than happy to do it here. Het Terras is my personal favourite, set right on the River Amstel, with fabulous views of Amsterdam's busy and vibrant boat culture, is an ideal way to enjoy the excellent food and watch the world go by. The service is naturally 5 Star, as one would expect, and in all the years I have been coming to Amsterdam, I can honestly say that it is by far my best dining experience to date.

Also, try Freddie's Bar, which is a beautiful, "olde worlde" type of cocktail bar that is the perfect place to unwind and have a couple of drinks before dinner. It also has a humidor right next door for those who enjoy a cigarette or perhaps a fine cigar with their "Manhattan" or "Tom Collins." I know of no other establishment in Amsterdam that offers this kind of luxury. The bar staff are attentive, fast and very professional, as you'd expect of a hotel of this calibre.

I have to say a big thanks to all the staff, who gave us an extremely enjoyable experience during our stay, and we can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Spend four days in the middle of Amsterdam in great atmosphere of L'Europe. Service and quality of employees is outstanding, you are in the middle of all nice areas and attractions in Amsterdam. Super experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip over 9-11 May 2014. The room was sumptuous, king size bed, overlooking the canal, beautiful, marbled and shiny bathrooms with large shower and quasi jacuzzi tub. Business room very spacious, good technical support, and excellent catering service, both for quality of staff and food. Was packed with American tourists, clearly this must be a sought after hotel for well offs, middle aged tourists, seeking centrally located, trustworthy accomodation. If i were in Amsterdam as a tourist, i am not sure i would choose it as, given the very central location, there are crowds as soon as you step out of the lobby, and the lobby itself being very noisy and packed. Also, it does not have any intimacy or cosy atmosphere, but rather the grandness of a large scale, luxury hotel. So clearly it depends on what one is looking for. A couple of "improvements" areas: i arrived around 12 and rooms would be generally available as of 2. That is fine, but for a 5 start hotel where we had booked about 30 (expensive) rooms, i would have expected a more efficient and forthcoming attitude by the reception desk staff to try and accomodate my early arrival. Secondly, there was some confusion with the car reservation service again by the reception desk, possibly just a question of bad luck but it did not help. Lastly, i asked for in room breakfast and they seemed to have forgotten and then delivered something which looked like they had tried to make up at the last minute. Again, it was probably bad luck but my expectations gets higher the higher the stars the hotel claims, so this this is the reason for my lower rating on service and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I spent 4 days in Amsterdam this week and stayed at this amazing hotel. The service was impeckable and the food at the restaurant was great. Freddy's Bar, named after Freddy Hieneken, was a very cool place to hang out and get a brewery fresh Hieneken on tap. The hotel is centrally located and the hotel rooms were very large and well appointed. They spared no detail in ensuring that I had a memorable stay in Amsterdam. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a lovely junior suite on the canal with a huge and very comfy bed. The hotel's location is a major strongpoint in a picturesque part of town, walkable to all the major attractions. Concierge came up with some good dinner ideas and were helpful arranging a visit to see the tulips. This is a grand old hotel that has been thoughtfully modernised and works for business or leisure travellers. One downside was breakfast though which was a bit basic and not of very good quality, and no in the same canal-side room it used to be in a few years back. Otherwise pretty faultless.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I spent a week in Amsterdam last month and had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for two nights. My first criteria is always location, and the location of this hotel is fantastic. It is in city center, right on a canal, and very close to Dam Square but a couple streets away so as to be removed from the seediness and crowds. My room had a lovely balcony that overlooked the canal. The other outstanding feature of this hotel is the customer service and, particularly, the concierge services. The concierge staff are extremely knowledgeable, very patient and friendly, give excellent recommendations, and are able to offer tours that surpass any others I could find in Amsterdam. The tours certainly are not cheap (and some seem a bit overpriced), but the quality is excellent. As to all of the hotel staff, I agree with another reviewer's statement that they are polite and helpful, but not snotty or aloof. The rooms were nice (and the bathrooms were especially nice) and worthy of a 5-star hotel (they are middle of the road among rooms in other five-star hotels I've stayed). Having an iPad in the room and a U.S. electric outlet was great. Overall, I was VERY happy with my stay at De L'Europe and would not stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.