We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is a beautiful hotel with such an interesting history! Situated perfectly in the centre of town, it was a brilliant place to explore the city from. The staff were all so helpful. We were showed to our room which had an amazing view down the canals. The breakfast was great, with optional a la carte menu, and enjoying a G&T on the terrace watching the boats go by was the perfect place to enjoy the sunset. Thanks to all the staff for making our staff so memorable. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    115
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
85
341
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the De L'Europe Hotel over the Easter weekend (19th-20th) after originally booking another hotel but that booking could not be fulfilled and the De L'Europe was given as an alternative - thank goodness our originally booking couldn't be fulfilled as this should have been the hotel we booked first time round!

Upon arriving in Amsterdam at 9am we proceeded to walk for 15 mins from the train station to the hotel which is located bang in the middle of Amsterdam, a truly perfect spot! We entered into a lovely entrance way with rotating door (already feeling special at this point you may note!) and spoke to a very kind lady behind reception to ask about the check-in time. Now I knew from their website that check-in time was 2pm but I was pleasantly surprised when she informed me and my wife that we could check-in at 11am.

We returned after a couple of hours and a quite scrummy waffle and coffee! We were shown to our room which was as I can only describe as the most fantastic room we have ever stayed in. We had been very lucky to have been upgraded without even asking to what I believe was a Deluxe One Bedroom which had it's own separate lounge as well as massive double bed with a pop up flat screen tv at the bottom, snow white and the seven dwarfs would have been in their element!
There was Bose speakers all around the room/apartment (I get confused it was that big!) as well as a tv in the bath just so you don't miss your favorite programme while sudding yourself down.

Breakfast was included in the cost of our room, it was a buffet style arrangement which suited us fine, I like my own time and speed in the morning, we weren't pressured to eat and move on as there was enough space to cater for other hotel stayers.

There is also a spa included in the price, we headed down there after breakfast and bar one other couple we have the use all to ourselves, it was clean well presented and you felt ever bit looked after while you relaxed.

The staff were just brilliant, when we had any questions they were as helpful as they could be dedicating time and effort to us. We asked about where to eat for the evening and the gentlemen at reception was exceptional, he phoned around and got us a private sitting at a restaurant that was by all account full - that just goes to show that the local business respect the hotel and its staff and make special allowances, something that gets passed onto you if you ask nicely.

The following morning we were interested in renting some bicycles and experiencing the Amsterdam way, this is something that everyone should do it is amazing! Anyway I digress the same gentlemen knew that the Easter weekend would be very busy for rentals and did all he could to find us some but sadly no where had any, but once again the hotel came to our rescue, the gentleman informed us that the hotel had some bicycles we could use free of charge due to them not being up to standard - I expected the worse but I shouldn't have had, the hotels expectations are so high that their bad is my good, we were happy with the bicycles and to be honest it made our weekend to have use of them.

All in all we can easily say that for a short weekend the experience that me and my wife got from the De L'Europe was first class and if we had booked anywhere else we definitely would not have enjoyed ourselves as much.

We'd like to thank the Hotel and it's staff for our time there and we hope to be heading back there very soon for a lot longer this time.

I recommend to anyone reading this review to just stop looking and book it now you will not be disappointed!

(I used 'skyscanner hotels' to get the best price)

Room Tip: Just be kind at reception and you might be lucky of an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I booked this hotel without reading any reviews booked it as it was the best value for 5 star on expedia for central amsterdam having come on to trip advisor i see this is voted 7th best in amsterdam and i can see why. Very good staff service the spa is excellent the food is very overpriced but there are hundreds of restaurant in walking distant. Last time i came amsterdam i stayed in another 5 star hotel but spent a fortune on taxis going places this hotel is right in dam square 5 mins walk from all tourists attractions. I will be returning as i do the amsterdam trip every year and will be staying here again

Room Tip: Book on expedia as you will get vip upgrade when booking there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The De l'Europe is a grand style petit hotel with top service and terrific food. Unfortunately, the "deluxe" room was located in the attic space and made us feel like we were the servants, not the guests.
We are giving the hotel 3 stars primarily for the service and the quality of food being service in their two main dining options.
As for the room, I would have given them less than 1 star if it was possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a luxurious hotel providing full services including a newly fitted spa. It seemed particularly well suited to longhaul customers who wanted help organising the detail of their visit to Amsterdam. The hotel provides a comprehensive concierge service.

The location is excellent, right on the water and convenient for all the sights. It is particularly well placed for tram services which are easy to use and very efficient. These are an easy and fun way of visiting the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh museum and the Concergabouw.

The hotel is very expensive our room costing over 350 euros and this was entry level. If you are like us not going to use the spa or the concierge services you could save money by going elsewhere which probably means on eof the attractive smaller hotels on the cnals. There seems a shortage of good quality larger hotels in Amsterdam.

Also the hotel slipped up on some areas where a top notch hotel would not have done. When we arrived there was no one to help us in with our bags despite a high level on staff in this are.We arrived an hour after check in time and our room was not ready. We were told to wait 5 minutes and 10 minutes later i had to go up to enquire again. We were given a room at the top off the building with no view of any sort and a tiny window which was unreachable and provided little light. When I complained they relocated us to a room with a proper window and a side view over the back of the building and we found this second room acceptable. I recall the hotel refers to some rooms without a canal view as over looking a courtyard. I would suggest a better description be over an enclosed atrium with some rooms having no natural light.

Once we were established in the hotel we grew to like it. We found the hotel brasserie to be good and in an excellent situation. Staff were very friendly. But at this price level for us it did not fully ht the button and we have stayed in comparably priced hotels elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel what your room spec actually means.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

From extra attention at check-in to care from restaurant staff, I appreciated all the care and advice
From the hotel. I also appreciated the privacy to enjoy this beautiful building and rooms when I had time to relax. Rooms are beautiful - mine was a deep blue chinoiserie - and bathrooms lush.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony overlooking the Amstel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

It's so rare these days to find service at this top level. The concierge staff, bell staff, wait staff and reception staff were all perfect. It was the epitome of service. We were offered a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite or a canal view for 200 euros a night. We took the comp. The junior suite was ample in space with plenty of closet and storage space for a one week stay. The bathroom was simply perfectly practical, beautiful blue heated tile walls with a large soaking tub and separate shower along with a double vanity with more than sufficient counter space for all the toiletries that we brought, or for that matter, could have brought. The towels were soft and huge and there were plenty of them. Room provided a comfortable refuge at the end of each day of our sightseeing. I really can't say much more than it was perfect and we can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade as I believe that they will give it freely if it's available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and HotelsClick so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.