We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOTEL <3” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Book in Advance!
Ranked #13 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOTEL <3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

they were so genurous and upgraded our room we were there for 9 days / honeymooners
the place is beautiful and the staff helpful and nice
and every thing was perfect
they even have there own bath product line :)
so clean so thoughtful
we loved every moment in our staying and it is close to every thing (laundry , cinemas , groceries ...etc)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanobdizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, Engalnd
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

A strange review, as we never managed to get to the hotel. In short, I had booked this hotel and my wife and I were truly looking forward to staying there for a very special wedding anniversary. I contact them before arrival, only to be told in a very brusque manner, that we were expected the previous day. I politely asked to be put through to Reservation Manager only to be told that the department was shut! 5* hotel shuts at 5.00pm? The next rude person was someone on the Front Desk who told me that the 2* MIchelin restaurant had nobody on duty to attend to my reservation.

Well by that time, this client was ready to cancel the entire reservation. Spoke with Duty Manager who took my cancellation, but did not seem shocked by the lack of care shown by his staff. We re-booked at another nearby hotel and I will review this hotel on our return.

Room Tip: Seems they have let the hype get to their heads! Just contrast this with Claridges in London or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laurence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

It saddens me to read that we did not manage to meet your expectations over the telephone prior to your stay with us. Our Reservations Department does operate 'office hours' however the Front Desk is more than capable to attend most reservation enquiries.

The reason why you were not able to be put through to Bord'Eau restaurant is due to the fact that they are closed on Mondays. Our policy would usually be that we note down your contact details and get in touch as soon as the booking office opens again. On most cases our Concierge will be able to advise about availability however when the Bord'Eau approaches full capacity the Concierge does need to consult with the restaurant itself prior to confirming anything.

We do sincerely hope that we get to welcome you to the hotel in the not too distant future and I would like to invite you to make your arrangements through myself in order for me to personally overlook your stay.

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
jbronsveld@leurope.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stylish and classy hotel with a very good location, rooms are big, bathrooms are huge! My corner room was overlooking the canal, bed was very comfortable.
Staff is friendly, the Brasserie was just ok for breaksfast but better for lunch. Did not try the Bord'eau restaurant. The lobby and the bar are nice and it comes with a fumoir for cigar lovers.
So it may be pricey but if you can get a promotionnal rate for a canal room, go for it !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is located near the center of Amsterdam, and is certainly one of the best in town. From here, one can walk to most places worthy a visit.
Every part of the hotel is elegant and the rooms are an interesting mix of traditional decor and hi-tec appliances ( Bose sound system and iPad supplied for use of complimentary WiFi ). The staff is very helpful and friendly. The bar is nice, but a bit expensive - like in most hotels. To get a good room rate, book early.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarcophilus_harrisii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel is very well situated and is elegantly furnished. Service is professional and friendly. Rooms are rather spacious and the beds are comfortable. Parking fees are exaggerated. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttravaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for five nights in January and the only thing the hotel's wonderful staff were unable to provide was decent weather! However, the doorman was always ready with an umbrella. We had a wonderful room overlooking the Amstel and there was always something to watch. We went to see the concierge when we arrived and he was one of the most helpful we've encountered. He managed to get great concert tickets at the last minute - and brought them to us personally. He recommended the museum pass, as well as multiple-day tram pass, both of which we used a lot. He actually listened to our interests and made recommendations accordingly. During his absence, his colleague was equally helpful and efficient. The hotel is very well located, close to tram stops and also within walking distance of several points of interest. Whenever we left the hotel, the doorman would ask us our destination and recommend the best way to get there and also various things to look out for en route.

The restaurant had just received a second Michelin star, but unfortunately it was closed when we arrived and only re-opened the last night of our stay. By the time we got around to making a reservation, it was fully booked, so we weren't able to try it.

The gym was also being renovated during our stay, but a temporary gym had been organized and it was fine.

The only small annoyance was the lighting system in our room, which we never did really work out.

Breakfast is served in the more casual dining room overlooking the Amstel. One evening, we had an early dinner in the bar/lounge area, also overlooking the Amstel. Both locations are very pleasant for more casual dining. Staff were very efficient and friendly, but not overly familiar.

We fully intend to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just stayed 3 nights here with my husband in a junior canal view suite. We had a very warm welcome when we arrived and the staff were very friendly. The hotel is about a 15-20min walk from the central station. It's within walking distance to pretty much everything- Ann Frank house, museums, shopping areas, restaurants, etc. The junior suite we had was very nice. Not overly large, but lovely and with every conceivable amenity. Underfloor heating in the marble bathroom is nice, and motion sensors for lighting if you get up in the middle of the night and only need a small amount of light so you don't trip over something! 3 windows with views along the canal. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Complimentary bottled water each day and complimentary wifi that is simple to connect to then works throughout the whole stay. We really had a lovely 3 day break in Amsterdam- loved the city (our first time here), and the stay was made even better by choosing this hotel. We did so much sightseeing we never got a chance to try the spa or pool. My husband used the treadmill in the gym a couple of mornings and liked the equipment. Breakfast is a buffet and also you can choose from a menu for cooked items so plenty of choice. The staff at the hotel really were very pleasant and professional, and seem to be very good at what they do - and look like they enjoy their jobs (which I personally think is the mark of a really great hotel). We would highly recommend this hotel to a friend- we were delighted to have picked it and sorry to leave it!

Room Tip: A canal view room is great- wonderful to see the canal boats and the ducks! Also nice to watch the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,013 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing