We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stylish stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stylish and classy hotel with a very good location, rooms are big, bathrooms are huge! My corner room was overlooking the canal, bed was very comfortable.
Staff is friendly, the Brasserie was just ok for breaksfast but better for lunch. Did not try the Bord'eau restaurant. The lobby and the bar are nice and it comes with a fumoir for cigar lovers.
So it may be pricey but if you can get a promotionnal rate for a canal room, go for it !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    152
    50
    15
    16
See reviews for
133
464
37
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is located near the center of Amsterdam, and is certainly one of the best in town. From here, one can walk to most places worthy a visit.
Every part of the hotel is elegant and the rooms are an interesting mix of traditional decor and hi-tec appliances ( Bose sound system and iPad supplied for use of complimentary WiFi ). The staff is very helpful and friendly. The bar is nice, but a bit expensive - like in most hotels. To get a good room rate, book early.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel is very well situated and is elegantly furnished. Service is professional and friendly. Rooms are rather spacious and the beds are comfortable. Parking fees are exaggerated. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for five nights in January and the only thing the hotel's wonderful staff were unable to provide was decent weather! However, the doorman was always ready with an umbrella. We had a wonderful room overlooking the Amstel and there was always something to watch. We went to see the concierge when we arrived and he was one of the most helpful we've encountered. He managed to get great concert tickets at the last minute - and brought them to us personally. He recommended the museum pass, as well as multiple-day tram pass, both of which we used a lot. He actually listened to our interests and made recommendations accordingly. During his absence, his colleague was equally helpful and efficient. The hotel is very well located, close to tram stops and also within walking distance of several points of interest. Whenever we left the hotel, the doorman would ask us our destination and recommend the best way to get there and also various things to look out for en route.

The restaurant had just received a second Michelin star, but unfortunately it was closed when we arrived and only re-opened the last night of our stay. By the time we got around to making a reservation, it was fully booked, so we weren't able to try it.

The gym was also being renovated during our stay, but a temporary gym had been organized and it was fine.

The only small annoyance was the lighting system in our room, which we never did really work out.

Breakfast is served in the more casual dining room overlooking the Amstel. One evening, we had an early dinner in the bar/lounge area, also overlooking the Amstel. Both locations are very pleasant for more casual dining. Staff were very efficient and friendly, but not overly familiar.

We fully intend to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just stayed 3 nights here with my husband in a junior canal view suite. We had a very warm welcome when we arrived and the staff were very friendly. The hotel is about a 15-20min walk from the central station. It's within walking distance to pretty much everything- Ann Frank house, museums, shopping areas, restaurants, etc. The junior suite we had was very nice. Not overly large, but lovely and with every conceivable amenity. Underfloor heating in the marble bathroom is nice, and motion sensors for lighting if you get up in the middle of the night and only need a small amount of light so you don't trip over something! 3 windows with views along the canal. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Complimentary bottled water each day and complimentary wifi that is simple to connect to then works throughout the whole stay. We really had a lovely 3 day break in Amsterdam- loved the city (our first time here), and the stay was made even better by choosing this hotel. We did so much sightseeing we never got a chance to try the spa or pool. My husband used the treadmill in the gym a couple of mornings and liked the equipment. Breakfast is a buffet and also you can choose from a menu for cooked items so plenty of choice. The staff at the hotel really were very pleasant and professional, and seem to be very good at what they do - and look like they enjoy their jobs (which I personally think is the mark of a really great hotel). We would highly recommend this hotel to a friend- we were delighted to have picked it and sorry to leave it!

Room Tip: A canal view room is great- wonderful to see the canal boats and the ducks! Also nice to watch the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip for one night. The hotel is of a very high standard, and service is brilliant. Rooms are of a good size and very comfortable. Restaurant is a bit pricey for what it is but the food is decent. Would definitely recommend for anyone visiting the city given its close proximity to everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

If you are going to Amsterdam, stay at this hotel. If you expect the finest of everything, you won't be disappointed. The staff will treat you like royalty, trying to anticipate and meet your every need and request. The location is central and scenic. The food and ambience are world class. And, the rooms are a gentle escape from the hustle and bustle of the City, with linens and bedding and bath comforts that will transport you to a serene and relaxing oasis perfectly assembled for restful and relaxing restoration and sleep. De L'Europe does not diappoint in any way!!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the canals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 354 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 354 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Splendia, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.