We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Combination of Location, Service, Food, Facilities and Ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Combination of Location, Service, Food, Facilities and Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

While the Location, Food and Ambience were excellent what stands out is the impeccable Service. The Suites are large and there is an option of Contemporary or Classic. I stayed in the Contemporary Wing which was spacious, grand and convenient. I would go to this Hotel again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I prefer the modern Contemporary Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    103
    35
    12
    12
See reviews for
72
296
28
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

After having lived 10 years in Amsterdam, we frequently return to this fascinating city. We have stayed at the Amstel Hotel (stiff and arrogant, bad location), the Grand (OK), the Okura (superb restaurants in the hotel, location not ideal), the Hilton (OK but taxi drive from city center) and the Krasnapolsky (a category below the above-mentioned places). For a long weekend, we decided this time to try the Hotel de l'Europe. It was one of our most memorable hotel experiences, even on a global level (similar to what we experienced at the Brenner Park Hotel in Baden Baden, the Mandarin Oriental in Munich and the Singita Lodge in South Africa). Already at our arrival we were welcomed by everybody with the utmost friendliness (valet, porter, reception, customer relations lady...). We had booked a junior suite and were without asking upgraded to a larger suite (we're member of the Leading Hotels of the World). The hotel interior is very pleasant and the facilities are very good. The location is excellent for visiting Amsterdam. All important musea (world class in Amsterdam) are within walking distance (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Stedelijk Museum, Hermitage...). Next time we come to Amsterdam there is no doubt that we will stay at the Hotel de l'Europe again. Hopefully they will be able to maintain this incredibly high level of service. We will also try their two Michelin stars restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Perfect location, excellent service, spacious rooms, intimate atmosphere, only a few steps from the realy city life. True grand hotel where you get what you pay for. Amazing experience, wish to come back one day.

Room Tip: Go for the canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Exceptional service, good rooms, excellent bedding, impeccable service with many staff, nice and intimate atmosphere right in the old center of the city. Just walk outside and you are right on spot. Less impressive than the Conservatorium hotel, but more cosy and intimate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Amsterdam hotels always are pricey and often very small and old. This one however is an amazing grand hotel in the best location you could ask for, and it was renovated quite recently. The new bar is fantastic. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Yes, it's expensive, especially during high season, but if they can upgrade you, they will. We booked a junior suite in off-season, and for a hundred euros more we were given a huge suite on the canal. It was a gorgeous room. Ultimately, it's the best option you can get, if money is no object. Hotel De L'Europe is definitely my favorite hotel in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you are there off season, ask to be upgraded. They will offer you a nicer room for a discounted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The most amazing luxurious hotel ever! Cannot begin to tell you what an experience we had. Everything from the minute of our arrival to our departure was nothing short of perfect. The staff are so caring, warm and genuine! Superb service from them. The room was definitely the most luxurious I've stayed in, extremely comfortable with lots of gadgets such as Nespresso machine, ipod station, iPAD. Lots of lovely towels, complementary paper and lovely cakes at bedtime. Very central, right across from the Flower Market and Rembrandt Square. Took the hotels own boat for sightseeing around the canal. Will highly recommend to all for a top Amsterdam experience

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at De L'Europe with 2 other families to spend a pre-christmas weekend. We were all treated like royalty! We were upgraded to beautiful and very spatious suits on the newly refurbished Dutch Masters wing. The suites were perfect to stay there with the kids, full of high-tech gadgets and beautiful ammenities. The guest relations manager, received us and explained every detail of the room. The concierge organised a perfect private canal cruise, and we were picked up directly at the hotel's door! The only downside was that the pool was being remodelled, but we were offer access to the pool at The Grand a few blocks away. In summary a fantastic experience that I am hoping to repeat this year.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Venere, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and EasyToBook so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.