We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding service in luxurious hotel environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
scotland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Oustanding service in luxurious hotel environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed 4 nights for city break. Room in main hotel had large marble bathroom with separate monsoon shower cubicle and bath. Bedroom area equipped with coffee machine , mini-bar TV with multi language channels , and sophisticated lighting all set in luxuriously decorated room. We took B&B option which was very good and the breakfast rooms, ( also used as the bistro for optional lunch or dinner) have wonderful views of the canals. The cocktail bar " Freddy's" has first rate staff and pleasing ambience for evening drinks . In the main lounge area, called the "Promenade" another bar with frequent evening pianist which in luxurious seats creates a wonderful sense of relaxation after a busy day of sight seeing. There is a "Michelin " now I believe two star restaurant which we did not visit due to other engagements : hope to next visit!
It is the staff however which elevate this hotel to the truly exceptional. Prior to arrival we had contacted the Concierge station for concert bookings, restaurant recommendations, advise on museum timings and travel and the service was faultless , courteous and friendly. This service excellence was continued after our arrival by all concierge, reception, housekeeping, bar and dining staff staff and an outstanding Guest Relations Manager who at my advance request took great care to mark my wife's birthday with a bottle of prosecco and a present. I would undoubtedly rate this hotel as truly fulfilling its membership of " The Leading Hotels of the World"

Room Tip: Ask for a room on high floor like floor five with larger bathroom and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this glowing review! It is great to read these nice comments, especially about our staff in Freddy's and our Guest Relations Manager, Jacqueline.
Hopefully you will find some time to enjoy Bord'Eau next time.

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    126
    43
    12
    12
See reviews for
93
373
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Other than a few minor annoyances we experienced, there is much to recommend about this hotel. We started our European vacation with a stay at De L'Europe. After a long flight overnight, we took a 52 Euro taxi ride to the hotel. Upon arrival, we were disappointed to learn our room would not be ready until 4:00 p.m., although we were upgraded to a larger room. After exploring the city, we returned at 4:00, only to be told the room was not yet ready, and no other rooms were available. While waiting another 30 minutes, we enjoyed the bar, where I had a beer and my wife had a Cosmopolitan, which cost 15 Euro. The second floor room was comfortable, large and nicely decorated. Dinner at the hotel was average. The window view of the city was terrific, but otherwise unexceptional.

Tired from our flight and exploring the city, we were in bed by 9:00 p.m., only to be awoken by an attendant entering our room at 9:20 to turn the bed down. Our fault for not using the do not disturb sign, but 9:20? Perhaps that is early for Amsterdam. During the night, there was some street noise from patrons of the drinking establishment across the street.

The location of the hotel is perfect, as most of the places we wanted to go were within easy walking distance. Despite the delay in accessing our room, the staff was exceptionally polite and helpful in arranging tickets to a museum.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Joseph G,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to read that we did not entirely meet your expectations. We strive to have all rooms ready for new arrivals by 2pm and I am truly sorry to hear this did not happen in your case. Please note that the turn down service must be completed before 10pm however we are of course more than happy to conduct this service at whatever time convenient for you in the future.

Hopefully we get the chance to welcome you again and that you also get to experience our Bord'Eau restaurant which just got awarded its 2nd Michelin star.When this day comes, please feel free to contact me directly in order for me to personally look after you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Director of Rooms
jbronsveld@leurope.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We are regular visitors to Amsterdam usually staying at the Grand or the four star American hotel. This one beats them both by a long way. Though entirely different ,it compares favourably with our all time favourite ,the Mount Nelson in Cape Town.
On entry it is warm and inviting. The room we had was tastefully decorated with the most beautiful marble bathroom with underfloor heating, separate bath and shower and 'his and hers 'washbasins.
The two on site restaurants are certainly worth a try,particularly the Bord'eau which was awarded a second Michelin star just a few days prior to our arrival.
We were lucky to have a river view and would suggest requesting the same when booking.
It really is difficult to find fault and this will be our first choice in future.
It is not the cheapest hotel in Amsterdam but in our view good value nonetheless.

Room Tip: do request a river view room .it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the De L'Europe on a business trip. The hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam and within easy reach of the vast majority of tourist attractions. There are also a number of great restaurants nearby, including the hotel's own. The hotel is very grand and the rooms very luxurious. I was allocated a room on the top floor of the hotel which offered superb views across Amsterdam. The staff could not do enough for me and they helped out me out with any query I had. The breakfast was delicious and everything you would expect from a 5* establishment. I will definitely return here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

What a magnificent hotel where old word charm meets modern day elegance. I would rank this hotel right up there with the Peninsula in Hong Kong. The De L'Europe is the perfect size hotel, not too big but all the amenities of a larger hotel. We booked through American Express and were given an upgrade to a junior suite with a beautiful view of the canal. We loved the Nespresso coffee machine in the room with an endless supply of free coffee. We had plenty of bottled water as well. Amanda, at the concierge's desk was one of the nicest and most helpful people we have ever met in a hotel. She gave us numerous restaurant recommendations (which were very good), booked tickets to museums and even train tickets. If you are worried about restaurant reservations in advance, Amanda can take care of this on site. We actually cancelled all previous reservations and went with Amanda's. The rest of the hotel staff were equally as nice and helpful. Great, great service all the way around.

The hotel is very elegant, and has been modernized and updated. Not too stuffy either. You can see the rich colors and nice replica artwork throughout the hotel on the website. For us it was just perfect. The beds were so comfortable that we often found ourselves waking up almost too late for the 11:00 am cut off at breakfast (a little jet lag too, traveling from the USA) . We were able to sit at a nice little window table with a view of the canal during breakfast. We ate at Bordeau, the on site Michelin rated restaurant. What a great experience with impeccable service. The wine recommendations were right on with the food. Book early for this restaurant for it fills up fast. Amanda (did I say she is the best concierge ever?) was able to pull some strings to get us in on a late notice.

This hotel is quite expensive, but it is worth it in my opinion. A stay of a life time. Not sure if the hotel has anything to do with it, but any taxi we picked up from the hotel was often a Mercedes, a couple of times an S class. Wow. I cannot say enough great things about his hotel. I am a very picky traveler. I actually was pretty bummed out when we had to check out. My wife and I will return to this hotel next time we go to Amsterdam, which by the way, is much more than coffee shops and the red light district. What an awesome city, and the people are really nice too. Great job by all the around by the staff at Hotel De L' Europe.

Room Tip: The spa was not open due to it being renovated so I gave it an average rating. We had a corner Jr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

What a great place, if you expect an old school and old fashioned bar there's the place. I came in with bog group of friends interested in a story behind it. We wanted to see where legendary Freddy Heineken was spending his free time. No disappointment at all. Around late 40's bartender was saying stories about him serving Mr. Heineken a beer etc. Great place, you can almost smell old time and see time freeze over there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel de l'europe in Amsterdam last month and absolutely loved it. We booked our hotel with AMEX and got a fantastic free upgrade to a large suite. The staff and especially the concierge was top notch. The concierge was fantastic helping us plan some wonderful dinners and a great private tour of the city at night (this tour was awesome - ask the concierge about it if you want to explore the city at night and see the red light district). They simply couldn't be nicer. The hotel also has some cool history as it's owned by the Heineken family (by the way... they only beer they serve is Heineken!) The hotel bar, Freddy's, (named after Alfred Heineken) was very nice and served great drinks. Lastly, the hotel is in prime location making it very easy to walk the city and see all the major sights. I would highly recommended this hotel - and definitely will come back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.