We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Hotel in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed in a stunning room looking over the River Amstel, the room was immaculate and spacious, the bathroom was light and tasteful. The staff are very helpful and polite. It is well situated and close to everything a visitor would want when visiting Amsterdam. We had a wonderful holiday in romantic settings, perfect xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely compliments and photos. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future!

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    131
    46
    12
    13
See reviews for
96
386
34
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Smooth very smooth - De L'Europe is a hidden jewel amongst in the 'Diagon Alleys' of Amsterdam. The staff were beautiful prepared to meet, attend to and guide the unprepared arriving guest. Rooms are delightfully set out, roomy yet intimate, comfortable while still helpfully practical. Attention to detail is ever-present be it in the food, service or invisible support. This is a hotel for those who wish to quietly absorb and appreciate the many little things that make Amsterdam such a fascinating city. This is a hotel for those who seek quiet sophistication, elegance or simply for very special moments and memories; it delivers all with style.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

How lovely to read that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one! At De L'Europe we like to pride ourselves for our genuine hospitality which I am happy to read you got to experience.

Please do advse me when you are thinking of returning to the hotel in order for me to get the chance to perisonally thank you for your kind words about the team.

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This beautiful hotel is located in an ideal location near many trams and a short walk from the tourist areas of interest. The nearby trams will also get you to the museum area quickly. From check-in to check-out we had a delightful stay. We had an urgent need for clothing to be pressed and everything was done within an hour as promised! The in-house fine dining restaurant was a special treat, and the concierge helped with pre-trip restaurant reservations and provided us with a list of interesting and diverse activities. The hotel also provided tickets to key museums meaning no long wait on lines to buy tickets. The room we had was large, beautifully decorated in warm red tones and we had an overabundance of bath towels and toiletries. Although the spa and fitness center were closed for renovations, a fitness area was set up and I was amazed that it was empty every time I used it which allowed me to pick the machines I wanted (yay!). The room was technologically up to date - including an in-house iPad and docking stations for our iPhones and iPods. The continental breakfast was good - because I love tongue it was a treat to find this meat offered with other conventional breakfast meats (ham, turkey, etc.). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel, great location, old world European charm, yummy restaurants, comfortable bed, large modern bathroom, fluffy towels and robes - what's not to like! Also, loved the iPad and chargers in the room. We used the helpful friendly concierge services to book tours and taxis. Would love to stay here again when in Amsterdam.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hotel De L'Europe was the first hotel in our 5 country Fall trip. Our friends had stayed here and highly recommended it. We convinced another couple to stay at this hotel, and hoped, at the price we paid (high) that the hotel would live up to our expectations.
From the moment we arrived, we were duly impressed. The grand salon was stunning with the huge Dutch master reproduction paintings and beautiful chandeliers front and center. Reception was professional and swift. We got to the hotel early as our flight arrived at 8:30 am. We asked to be upgraded to a canal view room. Within 2 hours of arrival, our request was granted. The room, on the third floor, had a wonderful view of the bell tower and canal. The bed, fine linens and bathroom were first class. The best nights sleep of the 5 hotels we stayed at. The bathroom, was hands-down, my favorite. I loved the deep bathtub, the large rainhead shower and the lighted makeup mirror. Housekeeping was perfect, never missing a beat. Even the soaps and shampoos were top of the line.
All of the staff were friendly, spoke perfect English and did their jobs with high professionalism. Special thanks to Kostas at the Brasserie, a real pro and gentleman. His staff, at breakfast, were super. The coffee, the best! Also, Roland, the concierge, (gave us wonderful advice and took care of arranging the tour we took outside Amsterdam).
Gert, the bartender: when we asked him about Jenever gin which is ubiquitous in the Netherlands, he proceeded to produce 3 shots to our table with an in depth explanation for each. A real Mixologist, he made us feel welcome and appreciated.
When you spend as much money as this hotel commands, you expect a certain level of service. Hotel de L'Europe did not disappoint and was our favorite hotel on our month long journey. The location is perfect for seeing all of the sights in town. We felt safe and well taken care of.
The only downer was that the spa and pool were not available due to maintenance. They did, however, offer an alternative hotel with a gym and spa down the street.
We would return to this hotel and highly recommend it. Our friends also raved about it!

Room Tip: Book early for the best discounts. Ask for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I traveled to The Netherlands for work this fall, and was delighted to have one night in Amsterdam. Everything at De L'Europe was absolutely magnificent! The hotel staff was exceptional - friendly and helpful, courteous and prompt with service, and very invested in making my stay memorable. The bedroom (even my room without a view) was spectacular. The linens and the bed were so comfortable that I had the best night of sleep in my 23 day work trip across Europe. I was so happy with the quality of the amenities at De L'Europe that I look forward to spending a more extended stay there with my partner.

The bathroom was just stunning - excellent quality towels, heated floors, superb water pressure and lovely toiletries. It really is the little details like these that make such a huge difference.

Hotel is located very conveniently and is so picturesque. While a bit pricey, if the budget will allow it - opt for a luxurious stay at De L'Europe while in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here one night, everything was perfect. From the detailed service to the luxuries of the bedroom. Great comfortable bed, great coffee, great bathroom among other detailes up to the heated bathroom floors!. One more thing in the middle of Amsterdam literally 15min from everything. A little pricey but worth it if your budget is good with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.