We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my greatest hotel stays!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, Amsterdam 1012 CP, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of my greatest hotel stays!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here one night, everything was perfect. From the detailed service to the luxuries of the bedroom. Great comfortable bed, great coffee, great bathroom among other detailes up to the heated bathroom floors!. One more thing in the middle of Amsterdam literally 15min from everything. A little pricey but worth it if your budget is good with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    91
    30
    10
    11
See reviews for
67
253
24
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel de l'Europe as a treat for 3 nights. All in all the stay was excellent, but at that level of amenity and price, excellence is what you have every expectation of getting. The room was spacious, well aired with a good view over Amsterdam and had all modern conveniences including some that we struggled to cope with. The bed was very comfortable, one of the pillows was so large and heavy we could barely lift it - great for propping you if you want to watch TV in bed (which we didn't) or being propped up because of breathing or back difficulties. The lighting was so sophisticated that we never really mastered exactly what each switch did or what combinations produced what effects. We got by, but the universal option of seeking help from the concierge did not appeal in the middle of the night. There was a CD player in the room with a truly wonderful sound system that gave us great pleasure. The TV sat at the end of the bed and could go up or down electrically via a switch beside the bed - it wasn't clear what you did if you preferred not to watch TV in bed. Luckily that did not worry us and nor did the TV at the foot of the bath!

There were certain extra luxuries that we greatly appreciated - sending purchases home through the concierge without being directed to a post office, an efficient business centre, blinds that could be adjusted easily.

We were surprised by a badly soiled second toilet roll in our room, only discovered at 3.00 am when you are unlikely to summon housekeeping, but not expected at that standard of hotel. Staff were duly mortified when drawn to their attention.

The breakfast buffet was rather sparse for a hotel of that standard.

The greatest pleasure was in the dining - we dined twice in the Brasserie overlooking the river/canal which was excellent and they catered well for special dietary needs. But the piece de resistance was the fine dining at the Michelin star Bord'eaux restaurant. We booked through he concierge and were lucky enough to get a cancellation. The experience was wonderful. We had told the concierge that my wife had special dietary needs and on arrival the maitre d' listed them all exactly and the tasting menu had course after course where my dish was different from my wife's but hers was in no way inferior. The tasting wines were also superbly chosen by the sommelier. Service was friendly, sharp and we came away feeling that the past 3 hours had been among the most memorable of our lives.

All in all a wonderful experience.

David C

Room Tip: Ask to be shown how the light switches work when the concierge staff show you to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The 'other' old 5-star Hotel in Amsterdam has been done up. All rooms are refurbished refurnished. Two 'new' restaurants command the respect from the local food critics and a pool and wellness areas have been added. Like all other Dutch hotels slightly understaffed but a real effort is made. Personally I like the brand new smoking-allowed oases. Humidor is limted but atmosphere makes up for it. Not as brilliant a smoking areas as in the Breidenbacher Hof in Düsseldorf but who can touch that... By the way you are in the heart of town.

Room Tip: At the back of the Hotel rooms offer a rustic view of the river Amstel. At the front, right-hand sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

we enjoyed the most magical stay ever at the De L'Europe. the hotel is full of old world charm and elegance and the staff most friendly and welcoming. our suite was beautiful ,with views over the Amstel that we will always cherish, and the food and service was first class . my partner and i both agree that this hotel lives up to its place amongst the worlds finest!

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony add to the charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

First time I have returned since the refurbishment. It was perfect in everyway, apart from the room was a bit small, it was fine because the large balcony (weather was great) made it feel more spacious, but would have to upgrade to a more spacious room when the winter sets in (balcony not much use then) apart from the room size everything was perfect, great staff, wonderful bar and fab and stylish smoking/cigar lounge!! Well done De L'Europe! Used to stay at Grand Sofitel for years but this hotel has overtaken The Grand in my opinion. Amsterdam is a great destination for a short break and always SO relaxing!! Ate too many cakes that are placed at reception and in the room! Nice touch though.

Room Tip: Balcony room with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Hotel de l'Europe is located in the heart of Amsterdam by the River Amstel and is within walking distance of the Rijksmuseum and many other sights. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the rooms are fresh, spotless and well insulated against the busy city scene outside. Staff are courteous and pleasant and the reception staff well trained and competent. Our dinner at the Bord'Eaux was outstanding and offered one of the best sommeliers I have found anywhere. The Brasserie is OK. On the last occasion we were there, the bar service did not quite live up to the standards of the rest of the rest of the hotel. The choice of food was limited and the quality disappointing. I am sure the management can do better!

Room Tip: You pay extra for a river view, but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had the pleausre of staying at the hotel for 3 nights with my son on our way back from the UK. We had the most pleasurable stay, the Junior suite was amazing, the location of the hotel is the best, and the staff were totally amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel for business or holiday.

Room Tip: Junior suites for the family are really comfortable with the pull out sleeper couch for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, Amsterdam 1012 CP, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LHW, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, EasyToBook, Priceline, getaroom.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list