We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revamped L'Europe and a nice smoking lounge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Revamped L'Europe and a nice smoking lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The 'other' old 5-star Hotel in Amsterdam has been done up. All rooms are refurbished refurnished. Two 'new' restaurants command the respect from the local food critics and a pool and wellness areas have been added. Like all other Dutch hotels slightly understaffed but a real effort is made. Personally I like the brand new smoking-allowed oases. Humidor is limted but atmosphere makes up for it. Not as brilliant a smoking areas as in the Breidenbacher Hof in Düsseldorf but who can touch that... By the way you are in the heart of town.

Room Tip: At the back of the Hotel rooms offer a rustic view of the river Amstel. At the front, right-hand sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    127
    44
    12
    12
See reviews for
93
375
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

we enjoyed the most magical stay ever at the De L'Europe. the hotel is full of old world charm and elegance and the staff most friendly and welcoming. our suite was beautiful ,with views over the Amstel that we will always cherish, and the food and service was first class . my partner and i both agree that this hotel lives up to its place amongst the worlds finest!

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony add to the charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

First time I have returned since the refurbishment. It was perfect in everyway, apart from the room was a bit small, it was fine because the large balcony (weather was great) made it feel more spacious, but would have to upgrade to a more spacious room when the winter sets in (balcony not much use then) apart from the room size everything was perfect, great staff, wonderful bar and fab and stylish smoking/cigar lounge!! Well done De L'Europe! Used to stay at Grand Sofitel for years but this hotel has overtaken The Grand in my opinion. Amsterdam is a great destination for a short break and always SO relaxing!! Ate too many cakes that are placed at reception and in the room! Nice touch though.

Room Tip: Balcony room with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Hotel de l'Europe is located in the heart of Amsterdam by the River Amstel and is within walking distance of the Rijksmuseum and many other sights. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the rooms are fresh, spotless and well insulated against the busy city scene outside. Staff are courteous and pleasant and the reception staff well trained and competent. Our dinner at the Bord'Eaux was outstanding and offered one of the best sommeliers I have found anywhere. The Brasserie is OK. On the last occasion we were there, the bar service did not quite live up to the standards of the rest of the rest of the hotel. The choice of food was limited and the quality disappointing. I am sure the management can do better!

Room Tip: You pay extra for a river view, but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had the pleausre of staying at the hotel for 3 nights with my son on our way back from the UK. We had the most pleasurable stay, the Junior suite was amazing, the location of the hotel is the best, and the staff were totally amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel for business or holiday.

Room Tip: Junior suites for the family are really comfortable with the pull out sleeper couch for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My partner and I pre-booked and paid for a deluxe room and had notified the hotel we would be arriving late. When we came to check in, they had sold our room to someone else and downgraded us to what was little more than a well decorated cupboard - what they called a standard room. And they made it worse by telling us that if we had arrived 5 minutes later, they would be booking us out to another hotel.

The following day, the disaster was turned into a triumph for the hotel thanks to the outstanding actions of Titta Romppainen from Guest Relations. She accepted without question that the hotel had failed us badly, took complete ownership of the issue and upgraded us to a suite for the second night, with a stunning view across the canal and over Muntplein.

The hotel has been refurbished since our last stay some years ago, is very centrally located and with luxurious marble bathrooms, an iPad in every room (even the cupboard sized one) and extremely comfortable beds with high quality cotton sheets, it is definitely recommended.....just don't turn up late (or if you do, speak to Titta)! If it hadn't been for the way we were treated on the first night, I would happily give the hotel five out of five on all counts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind words about our colleague Ms Titta Romppainen. I am delighted that she has been able to turn your stay into such a delightful one.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the confusion and miscummunication upon arrival. This is obviously not an example of the warm and attentive service we like to pride ourselves with. Appropiate action/ training has taken place to ensure situations like this are avoided in the future.

We sincere hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you back again very soon!

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is simply one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. It is in a perfect and beautiful location on the Amstel. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous and the Bord 'Eau is amazingly good and certainly deserves its Michelin star. For more informal dining the Hoofstad Brasserie is a delightful riverside place for lunch. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom was a marble masterpiece. The spa and pool were closed for refurbishment but they looked amazing. Simply the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Venere, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.