We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Come Back for de l'Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Come Back for de l'Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visited this venerable Amsterdam hotel 4 or 5 years ago. It was then rated 5 Stars but was certainly not up to modern, international 5 Star standards. Then the hotel closed for major -- actually near-total -- renovations and updates. Wow. What a success that has been.

I am about to finish what has been a marvelous 5-day stay at the hotel. The renovation (and expansion) has brought the de l'Europe into our century without sacrificing any of its charm. Before, the lobby was sort of elegant, but was dark and even musty. Now the lobby has opened-up terrifically, offering a striking view of a canal and pampering guests with comfortable chairs, couches and good lighting. The restaurants and bars are as inviting as ever, but now with a clean, crisp modern feel and menu. The rooms are equally 5 Star -- spacious and luxurious, with all of the 21st Century expected electronic conveniences, including free wifi.

What has changed too is the staff attitude. I seem to remember a haughtiness and even disdain from the previous desk and reception staff. Today that remains only from the doorman, who (for reasons I can't imagine) is aloof and unfriendly. Everyone else oozes charm and helpfulness, without being over-friendly (this is, after all, a 5 Star hotel and staff should maintain some deference to the guest. LOL). The staff is helpful, ready to anticipate desires and so forth. There are moments, actually, when I feel that I'm at a Peninsula Hotel. That's how good things have become at the de l'Europe.

What has not changed is the location. It is superb. Within walking distance of just about everything a tourist seeks in Amsterdam and with 2 key tram stops within 2 minutes walk.

Over all, Hotel de l'Europe has reclaimed its 5 Star status and surely is Amsterdam's best luxury full-service hotel. Nothing comes close. It alone is almost reason to return to this charming city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    115
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
85
341
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Middle East Desalination Research Center decided to have the January 2013 board meeting in Hotel de l'Europe. The members from 10 different nationalities and their technical advisors were amazed about the superb professionalism and kindness of the staff. Conference facilities including equipment were perfect. Meals were at Michelin star level. The staff was efficient and discreet. We consider to do it again at Hotel de l'Europe.
Ambassador Ronald Mollinger
MEDRC Center Director

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

After enjoying a 12-day Baltic cruise that ended in Amsterdam, we decided to extend our vacation for 4 additional days at the De L'Europe. How right was this choice! Even though arrived early in the morning after disembarking from our cruise ship, we only had to wait 20 minutes for our room to be readied. The hotel staff could not have been more professional, friendly, and competent - ready to assist in any way possible.

We were personally escorted to our room by one of the hotel managers. Our suite afforded two beautiful views of the city and its canals. There was nothing lacking by way of amenities or service. The housekeeping staff were accommodating and ensured that our room was consistently cared for, replenishing towels and supplies as used.

The complimentary full breakfast buffet was excellent and the waitstaff helpful and solicitous.

In sum, we discovered this property via the internet and chose it for its central location and excellent ratings. What we discovered far exceeded our expectations. Some hotels have received 5-star ratings; De L'Europe in our judgement consistently earns them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in August, very impressive upon arrival with the well dressed concierge opening the door for you, reception staff were very friendly & helpful, complimentary tasty puddings on your bedside tables, turndown service at night, slippers, bathrobes, etc etc as you expect for the price of the rooms...
however the room was a little dusty, some lights & switches didn't work, the complimentary use of a non-working iPad, & non-existent wifi (even though it says free wifi)...just a few oversights to make the stay a little unmemorable...besides this, Amsterdam was awesome!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed our services and facilities!

Please note that whilst you were staying with us, we were in de midst of changing our entire WIFI service which obviously had an impact on your conectivity and the functionality of our in-room iPad At De L'Europe, we now have one of the fastest high speed WIFI networks on the market today which covers the entire hotel and terrace.

Please accept my apologies for the fact that you did not get to enjoy this service. I would truly apprciate it if you contact me directly when you are thinking of travelling to Amsterdam next in order for me to ensure you will be very well looked after.

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
jbronsveld@leurope.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A remarkable stay.
From the first greetings at the door to leaving the property- PERFECT!
The Service, Quality, Accomodations ( Room was so quiet and had the BEST view), Food, Staff is 5 star - just an impeccable stay.
Recommend a Jr. Suite.
Cocktails and food in their lovely restaurant sitting along the canal is a delightful way to end your day.
Location is perfect, walkable to all major sites.
The ONLY bad thing...............we had to check out!
Can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Book a Jr, Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A luxury hotel I have being seeing since my first visit to Amsterdam. We decide to stay there this time and I wish I had know its amazing failures considering what you pay for a room. Some, like the dust that dominates almost every corner, can be photographed. Others cannot. Among them.
I) the story that tells you the concierge upon arrival about the hotel services without caring if they are closed or not (as the restaurant Bord d'Eau in August)
ii) the rudeness of the breakfast restaurant staff. Do not expect them to give you any attention and quickly attend your requests or simply remember them. If you have the misfortune of being there for your breakfast when there are guests from their country of origin, your order is just history,
iii) If you don’t like to have your personal items touched and rearrange by house keeping staff put them in your luggage. They will do what they want with it.
iv) the light switches. Bear in mind that the halogen lamps in the ceiling can be graduated maintaining the pressure on the switch. Besides all that, except in the bathroom all the plugs are at the floor levels which is quite uncomfortable for laptops and iphones.
v) Location seems, and it is, great but the streets surrounding the hotel are very noisy.
vi) Be aware that a taxi from or to the airport will cost you half the price the service the hote will offer you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for having taken the time to give us your feedback. I am truly sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and I wish that you would have made your dissatisfaction known whilst on property in order for us to immediately turn things around.

Please note that your feedback has been taken on board and addressed to the relevent departments in order to ensure action is taken. In order to maintain consistency in our service & kitchen team in Bord'Eau, the entire team is sent on holiday at the same time. Please do let me know when you are coming back to Amsterdam next in order for me to ensure you will be well looked after and experience the level of service we like to pride ourselves with.

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in two separate suites in this hotel in July and were very happy. First of all the staff is a delight. Especially Alice at the front desk and Farley the waiter at the breakfasts. We arrived early and they did not have our rooms available. So we decided to take the canal boat that takes tourists for a tour of the canals. When we returned only one of the rooms was ready. It was a decent suite, a bit on the cramped side and close to the front of the hotel. It had a very nice view of the canal, a small living room and small bedroom. The bathroom was all done up in white marble with black streaking. My only two small complaints about this room are that the curtain in the bedroom did not fully cover the window so light came in and one night you could hear rowdy people walk by. After a few hours we got access to our second suite. At first I was annoyed that it was on the other side of the hotel but was assured by Alice that I would like it very much. She was right. Our second suite (I think was 256) was larger than the first with a nice sized living area facing the canal, a bathroom done up in pink tiles and a nice sized bedroom with a curtain covering up the fact that it faced an indoor hallway (which I didn't care about). The color scheme was nice. The bed comfortable. There was a tv that you could raise from the end of the bed (didn't use). Here my only complaint was that it was so high tech that it was difficult figuring out how to turn on the lights in the various areas of the suite. The best part was the view from the living room at night. Just magical. Also, it was farther away from the front of the hotel so there was no noise from outside. I did not want to leave. Breakfasts were nice. The breakfast area faces the canal and there is a nice little buffet that was included. This is a great and very expensive hotel and has a very old money, old refined elegance. We ate at a good restaurant a block away. The hotel is located near touristy things. Personally, I do not prefer this area of Amsterdam. However, I liked the hotel. I liked Alice's recommendation for her favorite restaurant (not the one a block away). I would be happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and HotelsClick so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.