We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rembrandt and chandeliers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, Amsterdam 1012 CP, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rembrandt and chandeliers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this elegant glamorous hotel. From the moment you drive up to the front door, greeted by a top hatted doorman, you know you are in good hands. The lobby is deep crimson, lit with huge chandeliers, the walls decorated with giant Rembrandt faces. The rooms are very comfortable, the 5th floor has fabulous canal views. We stayed in room 524 which had a dual aspect balcony which I recommend. Breakfast and dinner were top notch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    100
    34
    11
    13
See reviews for
71
290
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were booked into De L'Europe for one night, prior to starting a river cruise. What an elegant, refined pleasure! We actually wished we could extend our stay. The staff was courteous and very friendly and informative; the location was perfect, and right near the flower market, the room was large and very continental, with an identified reproduction of a Rembrant painting on the wall. Oh, and the view of the city was just right. I'd love to go back to Amsterdam and stay there once again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is well appointed, staff are fantastic, cocktail friendly and atmospheric even when very few people are in; Micheiln star restaurant is amazing and the location is perfect. in good weather sitting on the river side with a cocktail in hand must be magic; the weather was too cold for us in February

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the confluence of the 2 rivers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The much needed refurbishment made this perfectly located property again competitive which was necessary given the new boom of design and boutique hotels in Amsterdam.

Got a great upgrade (with the Leaders Club) to a small suite facing the canal. The rooms are new, but mine was all painted in red which makes it feel dark and somewhat stuffy. Perfect soundproofing guarantees for a relaxed sleep in the very comfortable beds and the bathrooms are all new.

Room service breakfast was outstanding and the staff were all pleasant and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal facing room with a (small) balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploudalmezeau, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

the best hotel in AMSTERDAM Great location beautiful rooms and an amazing service . Complimentary wifi access. a great stay overlooking the canals.The tradition of a palace hotel respected. the staff was always efficient and smiling. You do not regret regret the price of your stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hotel De L’Europe was stunning and in a really central location. I was travelling with work and I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite which had a huge bed, a balcony overlooking the canal and an amazing bathroom. The hotel was meticulous with the details with a speaker system and TV in the bathroom, comfy bathrobes, lovely toiletries and tasty selection of chocolates in the room! We held meetings there in the day and I found the meeting room to be well laid out with natural daylight. Overall, I’d recommend this hotel for meetings and for a bit of luxury on a trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at the end of March,at this beautiful hotel. We simply could not fault it. There were 3 of us, and we were allocated a suite in the new section overlooking the Amstel. It was almost like having 2 separate rooms. The room was spacious without being cavernous, the bathroom a treat with luxurious and abundant amenities and the iPad in the room is a lovely touch. The breakfasts are delicious and generous, and the service from everyone we encountered was attentive without being fawning. The location is the best in Amsterdam, as far I am concerned. I am a travel agent, and until now I have booked hotels nearer to Dam Square, thinking this was the centre of it all. It is not. You can walk with ease from this hotel to almost anywhere of interest. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the Amstel, although they may be more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, Amsterdam 1012 CP, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and EasyToBook so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.