We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

From beginning to end our stay at De L'Europe was more than we could have ever expected. Staff were helpful from check in to checkout. Concierge helped out with every request.
#1 Location: Perfect home base from which to shop, dine, and enjoy all of Amsterdam.
#2 Rooms: Lovely - comfortable bed, great views, and spacious and beautifully appointed bathrooms.
#3 Cuisine: Excellent food, especially at the Bord'eau Restaurant.
#4 Staff: Top-notch staff! The service, from reception to food to concierge to housekeeping, was spot on.
# Cleaniliness: The rooms and hotel are beautiful and spotlessly clean.

The room, location, facilities and service were excellent. We could not have made a better choice. The hotel is not only beautiful and conveniently located, we must stress that the staff was incredibly friendly, professional, and helpful. HIGHLY recommend this hotel for anyone looking for first class service and accommodations in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: opt for a room with a view of the canal. our room was spacious and there was more than adequate clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    103
    35
    12
    12
See reviews for
72
296
28
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had heard that a great hotel in Amsterdam was amongst the missing and the first hotel we checked into certainly seemed to underscore this belief.

Checking Virtuoso’s other Amsterdam properties we called the De L’Europe to seee if they had room in their inn as it could not have been worse than the depressing dump in which we were staying.

The De L’Europe is conveniently located on a canal a few minutes from Dam Square. Immediately on arriving and being greeted by the top hatted door man, the polished brass stair rails and the long expansive lobby looking out across the river, a long way away, we felt peacefully at home. We could have been in the Bristol, the Dorchester or the De Russie.

Service was perfect; attentive but low key.

And then there was the suite. Big, with a terrace overlooking the city and the canal view marred only the sight of the ugly concert hall (NEW).
The rooms big and comfortable. We will not share with you the suite number as we do not want others competing for it, but we found it special.

And then there were the 21st Century electronics. The I-pad on the desk that included all the hotel information. Gone were the leather bound books. We were told that soon one would be able to use it to order room service. Gone would be the curt voices and misunderstood words.

The new marbled bath with fragrant and unusual amenities had a heated floor and the slippers which I usually find more of a hassle than they are useful, were uniquely clog like and the only ones I have ever taken with me.

In the middle of the night I arose from the overly large, very comfortable bed and was shocked by a soft light. There was a night-light under the bed table on a motion sensor that I had set off. This was the attention to detail.

We had dinner twice in their Brasserie Hoofdstad and the food was superb along with the view of the canal. It was romantic dining along the canal with a view of the city beyond.

My only nit is they should reconfigure the layout of the breakfast buffet. The buffet itself was above average but the serving dishes are on the pass-thru into the kitchen which requires one to be an NBA player to view the offerings and eggs and meats are crammed into the same corner with the bread and pastries creating a traffic jam. I realize there are space and access considerations but not enough thought has been applied to the ease of offering their breakfast buffet.

We did not try “Bord’Eau”, their Michelin starred restaurant but it looked spacious and glitteringly elegant. We were told they offered a $36E fixed menu lunch.

We did however make extensive use of Freddy’s the hotel bar, especially the English Library cigar-bar that is adjacent. Indoor smoking in an English library setting with bar service is heaven for a smoker in today’s smoking abhorrent world.

Freddy, who’s portrait graces the hotel lobby, was Freddy Heineken, the late owner of Heinekens who’s daughter Charlene seceded him.

Maybe in it Charlene that attracted Bill Clinton who reputedly was in residence in the Presidential Suite just before we arrived.

The De L’Europe exudes the aura and excellence that comes from an owner with the interest, money and commitment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Was warmly greeted by the night staff, as I arrived late. Mohamed, the concierge was fantastic and explained everything, was professional and properly represented the hotel. Rooms were luxurious and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good with a great view. Dinner was good, although they should be careful with their cornish-hin special (two of the chicken dishes served to our party were undercooked, and you don't want to see that in a chicken dish).

Hotel staff was extremely helpful, got us taxis whenever we needed them and helped us find other good restaurants and cafes nearby.

Would highly recommend this hotel for business travelers as well as for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here and found out right from the start that the staff were very helpful and friendly,the porter gave us some excellent info on local bars depending on what we were looking for. Really good location with a couple of restaurants and a cocktail bar.room had a wonderfully big bed, and everything was super clean.the only strange thing was the room lighting but once you remember not to read too long on the toilet you'll be fine.breakfast was really good too but then you are paying for it.will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a part of the leading hotels of the world and is an amazing hotel. We loved the room and the location of the hotel. It is centrally located and has a very nice and grand lobby. The coffee shop has a great view of the river. The service is amazing and this is a classy hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our very first time in Amsterdam and let me tell you we never really left the hotel! They had it all! right in the heart of town! We went down to hotel restaurant and had a one of the best dinners iv ever had in my life and I have had my fair share of 5 star cuisine! I could not of dreamed this place could be so romanic the view of the city and the canals was breathtaking and the wine parring was carefully thought out. The meal all together was divine. Our room was fantastic the bed was enormous and so was the bathtub! We just loved the pool Do not forget the check that out!
Then high tea it was such fun but it took up the whole afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A beautiful hotel with impeccable service, attending to your every need. Large American size bathrooms, king size beds and very quiet rooms. Our room didn't have a window, but it was extremely quiet. Breakfast was excellent, as was tea and cocktail service. Hotel arranged for our guide, Peter, who I highly recommend. We hired Peter for two days and we can't say enough about his services. He showed us everything we wanted to see and more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Venere, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and EasyToBook so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.