We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel with amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Hotel with amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Location is as good as it gets, a quiet area very near the center of Amsterdam looking out over a canal. I have visited a few hotels in Amsterdam and I recently chose this hotel as the most romantic place to propose to my now Fiancé. The rooms have been recently renovated and the one I stayed in was amazing. The staff are incredibly friendly and very helpful, they were quick to respond to emails and did everything they could to make my stay enjoyable. The staff exceeded themselves in going out of their way to help me organize a romantic candlelit dinner overlooking the canal and even decorated my room with roses.
I cant imagine a better place to stay, however if you do choose to stay somewhere else be sure to visit this hotel for high tea and find out what you're missing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    115
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
85
339
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location makes for an excellent base to explore museums, shopping etc. On Tram route 4# which goes directly to the Rai Conference Centre.

Surrounding main streets are busy but the hotel offers a calm base to retreat to. We read other reviews about the various room arrangements and pre-booked a canal view room. This was spacious, comfortable and well decorated. In this part of the hotel double glazing and what must be the best insulation anywhere, meant very little street noise and virtually no noise from other rooms or corridors. Probably the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in. Loved the mix of wooden floors and carpet.

Bathroom was excellent. A water circulation system sometimes sounds as if there is a tap running but is designed to keep all water fresh.

As mentioned by others ipads are useful. Wireless was at times a bit variable but generally good. Nespresso with complimentary coffee was a bonus though not so good for making tea. In room dining and room service was prompt and charming.

Desk staff were responsive and helpful, keen to ensure guests get the best Amsterdam has to offer. Concierge assistance was truly outstanding. Take up the offer for tickets to exhibitions, recommendations to restaurants etc. This assistance will streamline your visit.

Hotel offers bikes... we were not brave enough to take on the locals.

Room Tip: Book a canal view if you can. Twin bedding is not available but German twins can be made as two sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just completed a stay at this hotel and found it to be great. The location in the city center is certainly ideal for seeing sights and shopping. The antique district is a short walk away, and the hotel staff were always eager to help with arranging museum visits, etc. The lobby and bar are very nice, spacious with great views of the canal. We were not impressed with the Bloody Mary however which was supposed to be their specialty. We wanted to try their fine dining restaurant but we were there on a Sunday and Monday when they are closed. In fact, we had a bit of a time finding a restaurant open on these two days, but again the hotel staff were very helpful in finding a great restaurant for us. All in all, no complaints and we would return.

Room Tip: Request a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenska Bistrica, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was really fantastic. Flowers were everywhere and beautiful. Breakfast was amazingly rich and tasty. The room was nice but the bed was quiet hight. Bathroom was clean and nice with every hygiene I needed. Restaurant in lobby was perfect. And the location is very interesting. Nice stay

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is an easy walk from Central Station even when wheeling a suitcase; it takes about 20 minutes at a leisurely pace.

The welcome on arrival was excellent and our room was lovely with excellent views over the Amstel. The facilities were superb and home from home, from the Nespresso coffee machine to the ipad to the Bose music system! The bed was turned down each evening and the most delightful little cake was left to tide us over until the morning!!

The location was excellent. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to, and it was easy to pop back for a brief rest before going off again. There are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance, some of which were rather good! The hotel offered to make bookings, but because of the time of year, we left it to chance, and managed to get tables at the restaurants we wanted, but in busier periods bookings would be wise.

The hotel has an excellent bar and restaurant and a super cocktail bar, Freddy’s. A pianist played in the lounge in the afternoon and in Freddy’s in the evening. An excellent choice of cocktails was on offer, although my partner fancied a cocktail containing elderflower cordial, not on the standard list. A delightful cocktail was produced for him, so thank you to Freddy’s for that!!

The attention on checking out was as good as our welcome, and since it was raining, the hotel arranged for a taxi to take us to the airport at the standard rate of 40 euros.

Room Tip: Discuss the options with reception on booking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Absolutely fabulous place. Great service, perfect apartment being modern and very up to date with exceptional disabled room facilities. Me being in wheelchair have found it hard travelling Europe to find great services for my disability. I need a roll in shower and spacious areas. This bathroom was great with a height adjustable vanity, the toilet isn't quite situated right, the shower is a bit small but good enough. Other than that, fast prompt service with food or whatever you need. We overlooked the Amstel River with two balconies. Beautiful! Couldn't ask for a more appropriate fantastic place to spend our time in Amsterdam.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I concluded our recent European trip in September in Amsterdam. This hotel, given the high price, was not exactly what we thought it would be; we are pretty careful with our bookings, and were surprised that our room faced the centre courtyard, and not the picturesque canals on the exterior of the building. Additionally, it was hard to move around in our tiny room, meaning our luggage had to sit in the middle of the floor near the door. On the positive, despite its tiny size, the room was all about luxury. The bed, with its massive pillows, provided us with by far the best sleep on our trip. I really enjoyed the modern bathroom and, particularly the spa-like shower. The only glitch with the shower was that the door banged into the rain shower head every time the shower door was opened.

Even though we were nearly pickpocketed outside the hotel, the location is superb. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, however we felt that they did not go the extra mile for us when we told them to try to book a couple of restaurants for us; it seemed like we had to chace them down as opposed to leaving us a phone message as requested, leaving us wondering if they ever made the effort to call the places they said they would.

The hotel restaurant, like the hotel itself, is extremely expensive, but the extra dollars went towards good service and, my favourite, the modern palate cleansers between courses. Unfortunately, the chef tried to add uniqueness to the dishes in a way that did not hit the mark; the lobster dish was offensive. The deserts, especially the chocolate balloon, was a unique and unforgettable experience. Overall, for the price you pay, I waiver on whether or not I would recommend the restaurant to other travellers.

Overall, though the price of the room was very high considering the size and the fact that we had no view, if you are into luxury in a top location, this place might be for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and HotelsClick so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.