We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Nice hotel, cosy, stylish with that french/dutch touch. The location (as their brasserie's terrace) is sensational. The hotel consists of more buildings attached together, so around every corner there is another surprise. One more tip: great thee menu!

Room Tip: take a view on the water. hey, your in amsterdam!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    115
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
85
340
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms and large bed. Nice finish to things. It is certanly the best hotel in town. Friendly staff but they are slightly cocky they forgott to bring me coffee at breakefast when ordered. Listed the wrong roomservice meny when asking.
Charged me twice for the room and when contakting them they gave back 32€ so i had to contakt them twice to corekt them. But this is the best hotel i have stayed and i Will come back soon, the staff is trained good and are polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the recently renovated L'Europe in Amsterdam. This timeless hotel overlooking the river and canals is a gem. All the flair and beauty of 19th century with a modern 21st century interior and amenities. Our room had a balcony overlooking the river. It was just perfect. Staff are just wonderful and in my opinion, are the best in Amsterdam. I loved the terrace for lunch and the cocktail bar after a day wandering around the city. Room service was literally instant and everything hot ! We will be passing through Amsterdam in a couple of months time so we will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river facing south - west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

I arrived early after an exhausting flight from NY knowing the room may not be ready. My luggage was stored for me while i went to walk around. I returned around 2pm, and the room still was not ready which was disappointing. Finally, i was shown my room after a brief tour only to find it very small. It has a nice view of the canals from one small window. The staff did follow my request for a quiet room, away from elevators. This is probably the smallest room i have ever slept in and i find it hard to accept in such a high level hotel. The bathroom is very luxurius and large with heated floor but no double sinks. There is a Nespresso coffee machine which is great and the iPad is great too. The Concierge by the name of Eel, correct my spelling, is superb, warm, helpful and wonderful. He guided me on some wonderful walks, recommended places to eat, lent me books of Amsterdam etc. Other staff is great but not as helpful as that man. Now, problems..... On my first day in the hotel, i found 4 flies in my room. They were going crazy above my head. How could housekeeping allow this to happen? Called front desk and was told to wait or someone. After several min, i called back bc noone showed up. This is when the wondeful Concierge showed up and managed to get rid of 2 flies. He arranged for an insect zapper or me so i could kill the remainng flies. The room is clean but not as it should be. Wood floor areas are dusty and dust balls stuck to my suitcase. Tables are dusty also. Housekeeping is inconsistent. On my first day, i had no bath mat, dont dusturb sign, hand cream and body scrub. On second day, i got some of the bath amenities but not all and the room was cleaned very late at 2pm. On the 3rd day, i got all the amenities and finally the dont disturb sign. In this level hotel, housekeeping should be superb. In all, i think this hotel is overpiced so beware of the high prices especially for the tiny rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Agnes,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us detailed feedback on your recent visit to De L'Europe. Your compliments on the design of the hotel are also much appreciated!
I am very sorry to read that you found your room to be on the small side. All are rooms are unique in size and design and we will always do our utmost best to address an area of discontent when being made aware.
I am pleased to read that our Head Concierge, Eef has made such a positive contribution to your stay. Your comments about the room cleanliness have been passed on to our Executive Housekeeper who will investigate and address the matter. It is our policy to have all rooms double checked by Supervisors on a daily basis. Please accept our apologies for the inconsistancy experienced.
Agnes, I hope we will get the pleasure to welcome you back at some point in the future. Please contact me directly when this time comes in order for me to personally ensure that you will be well looked after.

Warm regards,

Jeroen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Great friendly staff, yummy food, centrally located and walking distance from just about everything! We were upgraded to a deluxe suite and it had heated marble floors!!! Wow! Staff was very accommodating, and helpful. We would stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DUBAI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very nice hotel location in the middle of the city .. very friendly staff fast check in .. I booked through booking.com and front desk upgrade my rooms to suits .. very nice suits and very comfortable large enough .. coffee machine in the room and nice TV with IPad connected to the internet free of charge ..every room with different decoration and very nice decorated ... this hotel recommended by my wife ... very easy to reach the shops and restaurants .. nice Islamic restaurants around the hotel.. parking cost 57 euro

Room Tip: some rooms and suits with poor view .. then I you want a view you should ask the hotel before .. kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Beautiful hotel, quirky as probably any large site in Amsterdam would have to be. Our rooms were large and beautiful, with gorgeous views over the Amstel River. Weather permitting, eating outside provides a nice canal-side experience. A few small flaws (some confusion at check-in, occasionally inattentive service in the restaurant, hot water issues in one of our rooms, hard-to-figure-out video system) did not meaningfully detract from otherwise responsive and polite service. Very good concierge. Easy walk to major sites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.