We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I believe the best hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I believe the best hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

A very good location in the old city center with wonderful views to the Amstel. The entire hotel has been recently refurbished with good taste and comfortable solutions in the public areas. The equipment in the rooms is remarkable, with a very comfortable bed and bathroom. The friendly attitude of all the staff, from the doorman to the manager on duty is surprising. All our requirements were solved efficiently and promptly as one can expect in a five star hotel, but unfortunately too often the service received in de luxe hotels is a “four and a half” being generous in the qualification. Good quality food and excellent service for breakfast and dinner. Freddie’s Bar is a must to be visited.
I believe it is the best hotel in Amsterdam and no doubt it is in the select bunch of best hotels in the World. Bravo ¡¡

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    143
    48
    13
    14
See reviews for
117
440
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown MA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This property has been beautifully renovated in a very stylish yet elegant way. Our room overlooking the canal was fantastic and even came with an Ipad which we put to good use. The staff were fantastic. The pool and spa were spectacular and the location in the heart of Amsterdam made everything within walking distance. So why not a five star? The only area where we felt the hotel fell down was breakfast. Breakfast was included in our rate yet when we sat down the first morning we were told we could only order from one side of the menu and anything on the other side was extra. On this trip we stayed in 8 different hotels, all about the same cost, and this was the only property that limited breakfast choices. On top of that, the buffet that was set out was the most simple and uninteresting of all the hotels we stayed in. At this price point this is not what we expected. This is an easy fix and the only downside of this otherwise superb property.

Room Tip: Get a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

An old world hotel right in the middle of Amsterdam. Nothing in the city was more then 10 minute walk from our hotel. The rooms were just re-done and very nice. Only bad thing I can say about this hotel, was in the am the staff was VERY loud in the hallway and woke my wife and I.

Otherwise, the only place to stay in Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have stayed at De L'Europe several times since 2001, the most recent March 15th for three nights. This was my first time back since the hotel was remodeled. I brought friends with me, we both had Deluxe Junior Suites, canal views, me on the 2nd floor, them on the 3rd. From the lobby to the room, perfect. Check in was a breeze, front desk staff right on their game, luggage delivered to the room in minutes. Housekeeping was low key, handling both cleaning and turn down without us ever noticing. My favorite bar in town is Freddy's, that being Freddy
Heineken, whose family owns the hotel, that has been rebuilt with all the charm. Both Gert, 20 year employee, and Marcel, 10 years, still give the best service in town. Along with the physical remodel, food and beverage has radically changed, for the better. We found ourselves eating often in the hotel. Room service was prompt, food actually still warm! Of course the location is perfect, the view from the breakfast room is of the Amstel, elegant, yet laid back. I used to stay at the Sofitel Grand, 20 visits worth, and I cannot say the same about that remodel, the charm completely gone. We had come from the Connaught in London, which I love, but my friends and I both agreed, L'Europe was at least as good, or better. Bravo!

Room Tip: Personally I like the canal view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

You'll receive a friendly reception from everyone, including the concierge, bellmen, and waitstaff at this 5-star establishment. Everything is plush and immaculate. A rather impressive property. The tram stop is literally just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

First I would like to say entering into the lobby is quite impressive as it continues and turns into a nice cocktail lounge and bar. Hotel staff was excellent and we had a deluxe room which was very nice and the bathrooms were lovely. The marble had a finish that was not slippery and the floor was also heated. We were attending a meeting and the food for dinner and lunch in the private dinning room was wonderful. Breakfast was included in our 350 euro a night rate and very good. Very good location for getting around the city on foot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LHW, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Splendia, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.