We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Book in Advance!
Ranked #13 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Splendid Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

First I would like to say entering into the lobby is quite impressive as it continues and turns into a nice cocktail lounge and bar. Hotel staff was excellent and we had a deluxe room which was very nice and the bathrooms were lovely. The marble had a finish that was not slippery and the floor was also heated. We were attending a meeting and the food for dinner and lunch in the private dinning room was wonderful. Breakfast was included in our 350 euro a night rate and very good. Very good location for getting around the city on foot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xpuha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Swindon
Level Contributor
345 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and had chosen DeL'E as it was located within reasonable walking distance of the main attractions.

We took a taxi from the airport and the cost was just under €45. This was in a large multi seater and the driver assured us that he would charge the same as a "standard" car. As the cost going back was about the same and it was then "rush hour" this seemed to have been the case. Going back we booked the taxi ourselves (TCA as recommended by other reviewers) and it arrived in about 10 minutes from our call.

The hotel staff throughout were very friendly, efficient and helpful, although we had done a lot of research and had planned our trips out, so I do not think we needed much help on that aspect.

We had booked a junior suite with a canal view, and this room was absolutely fine in terms of size, view and facilities and as we had expected. We were offered an upgrade for an extra €300, but declined this. The bed was very comfortable and the nespresso machine was a welcome addition, although a small kettle would have been useful to make tea, rather than having to use water from the nespresso which had a coffee taste. The complimentary bottled water was a nice touch. The lighting on the wardrobe side of the room is not very bright though, so not easy to see inside. Occasionally the room was cold on returning after a day out, so it is possible that this may have been on a timer?

The bed was very comfortable, although like other reviewers the automatic lighting system was a bit strange - difficult to read in the bathroom if the lights suddenly go out. Perhaps a simple guide for the room basics might help here! Also as has been mentioned the internet access was at times a bit slow, and on one occasion non-existent..

We ate in the brasserie on two evenings and the service and food was very good, we also had some excellent cocktails in Freddy's bar. The wine list in the brasserie contained many choices that were expensive, but amongst these were a handful of perfectly acceptable wines at a reasonable price for the quality hotel that it is.

Breakfast was OK, a nice range, but the cheese and meat on one morning were a little "tired" looking, but it was our latest start and no doubt would have looked better earlier on.

Housekeeping were too efficient, in that any bathroom product that had been opened seemed to be replaced on a daily basis. If these are discarded it is wasteful and unnecessary.

We bought 2 Holland Passes (5 entries each) at a total of €88. We were left with 2 windmill passes, but even so after visiting the Van Gogh and Rijks museums, the new and old church, the Hermitage and doing a canal tour, we still got our money's worth. Of these our favourite was the Hermitage (and also had a good lunch there).

I think we would have visited all regardless of whether we had the pass, so it was not a question of "we must get our money's worth".

We also visited the Anne Frank house which is not in the Holland Pass, but very worthwhile and attended the free concert on Wednesday lunchtime at Concert Gebouw - extremely popular even in early March and I do not think there were any spare seats, not sure if this was due to the quality of the performance, the fact that it is free, or that it was pouring with rain - however we enjoyed it.

The disappointing visits were the two churches, the old as it was being renovated and those parts that were visible were not all that impressive and the new as the exhibition it contained effectively meant that you could not really see the building itself all that well.

On the subject of food we had a good lunch at Ristorante Pizzeria Isola Bella at Thorbeckeplein and also at Cafe de Jaren just down the road from the hotel.

Overall we enjoyed our visit to Amsterdam, we think the length was about right for seeing the main attractions that we wished to see and it is a good city to walk around - mostly flat, with just the occasional bridge over a canal having an incline!

One final point, as we wanted to travel from Bristol we flew with easy jet and paid for speedy boarding - going out was fine, but coming back they did not differentiate between those who had paid extra for SB and those who had not, so it was a waste of money paying the extra.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

While the hotel was quite luxurious, it is not the best choice for business travelers. I was disappointed in the internet access -- only wireless access was available, and the signal was unstable and poor. At times the internet was very slow and not really usable. Definitely disappointing, given the price range of this hotel. The internet connection was too slow for a good remote connection to my office network. I would have really preferred a wired connection.

I heard that the hotel had recently been renovated, and it was indeed beautiful. My room was decorated in red and black (very Dutch), with a spacious white marble bathroom. There was ample closet space and a huge bed. Although the room was a nice size, the desk was very small and cramped. It was difficult to do any work at this desk.

The service was generally excellent and responsive. The room service menu was on the hotel's website, which you access on the provided iPad. You can also order using the iPad, something that they recommend. However, you still have to call for the soup and dessert of the day, something that they should be able to update on their site daily. Since I had to call for this information anyway, I always wanted to order while on the phone. They would politely request that I put in my order on the iPad, but I didn't understand why I should bother going back to the iPad when I had someone on the phone to take my order.

In addition, every time the iPad sleeps (after 10 minutes of inactivity or so), you have reconnect to the internet service provider through the hotel website. This might be understandable for your personal computer, but for the iPad provided by the hotel, it was a nuisance. It would be like having to log in to the hotel's TV service before watching TV, instead of just turning the TV on.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you don't expect to do any work while in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiddleleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your overal positive feedback with regards to your stay at De L'Europe last October. Your compliments on the product en service will definitely be shared amoungst the team.

I am, however, very sorry to hear that you were affected by what seems to be a defect internet hotspot near your room at the time when you stayed. Internet is of fundamental importance to our guests, for that reason access has always been provided on a complimentary basis. I am pleased to inform you that since you have stayed, additional hotspots have been put in place and the option of a hard wired connection is now available as well.

At De L'Europe, we love to speak to all our guests in person therefore I was surprised to hear that you were referred to your Ipad to place an order with Room Service. On the Ipad, our guests are now encouraged to speak to us in person to share their preferences in order to ensure all orders placed are exactly to their liking.

Please feel free to contact me when you think about staying next, in order for me to personally overlook your stay and ensure your next stay will be even more memorable for the right reasons.

Best regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

i do not often feel compelled to write glowing reports about hotels or the service that i have experienced although after our stay at the De L'Eroupe i really feel i should comment in the hope that others travelling to Amsterdam experience the same quality of service from the De L'Europe hotel as we did.

My boyfriend and i have just returned from the De L'Europe hotel. We have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and i can honestly say that this hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed at. Not just due to the hotel but mainly the wonderful staff employed by the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone from our driver to the waiting staff had a unique quality of making you feel very special.

From the moment i booked the hotel the guest relations team were fantastic. Titta in particular was extreamly helpful. Titta organised a wonderful room that overlooked the river and was simply stunning. I received a pre booking form asking some basic information including what temp we would like the room and what pillows we would like. Not many hotels offer such options pre check in.

On our arrival at the airport our driver called my mobile to check we had arrived safely and to confirm where we were in the airport. He was waiting for us with a huge smile and a hand shake. It was a welcome start to a lovely weekend.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with the concierge manager who couldnt have been more helpful. We arrived quite early and were given a room to freshen up and change as our room would not be ready until a little later that day. This was such a lovely gesture as most hotels would only offer luggage storage! On returning to the hotel a little later that morning, Titta who i made the booking with came and personnally showed us to our room this again was such a lovely touch.

We were shown to our stunning room where rose petals were left on the bed and in the bathroom. All rooms have Ipads and docking stations adding that little extra comfort and facilities to the rooms. There was a welcome gift on our arrival of a bottle of wine on ice.

The food and service in each of the restaurants were faultless. Ralph from the Promenade is truly an asset to the De L'Europe hotel, his friendly nature and manner make you feel as if you have made a lifelong friend. The management team must have searched the whole of Amsterdam for such wonderful staff.

its very rare that you find a hotel that is stunning and has the staff to match but i can honestly say that from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty.

My boyfriend and i look forward to visiting this wonderful hotel agian very soon.

Room Tip: Premier Dexule River View Room - Romantic Blue was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvansSullivan1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

After its recent complete renovation, De L'Europe is now one of the very best hotels in Amsterdam. Mixing classic traditional with modern contemporary, the result is stunning. The rooms are all themed in different colours, some rooms are blue, others red, grey or white. Our junior suite was blue with a magnificent view over the Amstel river. Free use of an Ipad in the room, free wifi and ipod docking station and a Nespresso Machine were all included. The white marble bathroom had underfloor heating, a huge bathtub and rainforest walk-in shower. We did not try the restaurants but the open-kitchen concept of the Brasserie was attractive and the red-themed lobby bar, which also does afternoon-tea, was slightly quirky but stylish.
There is a small gym and indoor pool with view over the canal downstairs. The traditional dutch Freddies bar seemed popular with non-residents as well.
An excellent choice next to Muntplein at the top of Damrak means you are within walking distance of almost anywhere in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel De L'Europe in November right after they had finished their renovations and we were completely "wow"ed by the new look!! Due to a miscommunication on a previous visit, Titta greeted us at the front desk and even gave us a choice of rooms to stay in! We had a fantastic room with a view of the canals and a bottle of champagne was sent to our room as soon as we had checked in. The staff and service level are unmatched by the other hotels in the immediate area! The lobby is breath taking with its large chandeliers and huge portraits hanging on the walls. It exudes elegance and class and we just loved it! Titta, if you see this, THANK YOU for making our stay so memorable and enjoyable! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Me and my friend loved our stay Hotel De L'Europe, The concierge Mr.Bronsveld planned each night beautifuly. They scheduled the best restaurants and places to go to aswell as put us on the guestlist to certain nightclubs. Everybody there was very friendly and helpful. This hotel is also in the center of Amsterdam. It was our first time in Amsterdam and it was the best New Years we've ever spent. The view of the canals from our room were very excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,015 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De L'Europe in Amsterdam ,also referred to as The Grand Dame amongst Amsterdam's luxury hotels, is situated on the banks of the Amstel River right in the city center. Awarded as best hotel in The Netherlands by Conde Nast Traveler 2014, it is impossible to escape the city's rich history while staying at this iconic 19th century treasure. De L'Europe boasts a distinctive decor, enhancing each room and suite with a replicated Dutch Masters painting, hand picked in exclusive partnership with the nearby Rijksmuseum. Traditional old-charm co-exists with historic masterpieces in the grand Promenade, where the city's most authentic Afternoon Tea is served while river views provide a breathtaking backdrop to award-winning Bord'Eau (**), Hoofdstad Brasserie (Bib Gourmand 2014) and the authentic Freddy's Bar (Best Cocktail Bartender of The Netherlands 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing