We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktail bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great cocktail bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We went here recently and definitely want to return, it has a real cool retro feel to it. The prices are high for cocktails, but good quality. The only gripe I have is they weren't very happy when one of us ordered a cup of tea...but other than that I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Your feedback with regards to your experience in Freddy's Bar is very much appreciated. Thank you for your overall positive response. Our award winning bar staff know indeed how to make a phenominal cocktail! Please accept my apologies if your request for tea was received in a less than gracious manner. Your feedback is taken seriously and addressed accordingly. We hope to welcome you back to Freddy's again soon for a cup of tea or one of our cocktails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    127
    44
    12
    12
See reviews for
93
375
30
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The remodeled hotel has worked to anticipate every comfort of hotel guests. The room, the lighting, the bedding, the room amenities -- and the view -- were all exceptional. The staff was friendly and helpful, as we found most everyone in Amsterdam to be.

Room Tip: Our riverside junior suite was small but lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Didn't stay at the hotel but had dinner at the Hoofdstad Brasserie. Got table overlooking the water - and enjoyed the Christmas lights reflecting in the water. Food good value. Would recommend the tournedos (a la carte). Also the starter course salad with beetroot and the Creme brulee. Coffee comes with petit fours - nice touch.
The waiter was very concerned that I hadn't finished my main course.
Lovely spot for a romantic dinner in a unique location at an affordable price. Strange how Amsterdammers don't seem to have discovered it yet. Mostly foreigners there.

Looking forward to trying it again in the summer - and hopefully sit out on the terrace

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you very much for this lovely feedback! We are thrilled to read you have enjoyed your dining experience as much as you have. Make sure to also come and visit Bord'Eau, our gastronomic restaurant. Until then, we wish you a great festive season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, NJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My wife and I recently made our seventh trip to this beautiful city. Each time, we have stayed at the Hotel de L'Europe where we are treated not just as guests but as returning family members. The last two stays have been subsequent to the fantastic renovation that the hotel received. The rooms are beautiful with every modern comfort, while still incorporating old world charm, that you can imagine. It is as comfortable as it is beautiful with a fabulous location and a great staff who care about your every need. We know so many by name (they know us as well!) that I do not want to name them for fear of forgetting to name at least one of our friends there! We are planning another visit next April and are really looking forward to our visit. We recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The best, for us, are the Amstel River view rooms. All are quiet and beutifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear valued guest,

It is our absolute pleasure looking after you and we feel honoured to have been selected as your hotel of choice when visiting Amsterdam throughout the years!

We wish you very happy Christmas and healthy 2012!

Team De L'Europe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We were personally greeted by Mr. Jeroen Bronsveld (Front Office Manager) upon arrival. He escorted us to a beautiful Red Suite with views of the Amstel river and the city. A bottle of Billecart-Salmon Champagne was then sent to the room. Both Mr. Bronsveld and Titta (in Guest Relations) were aware that we were celebrating a special occasion. We had a wonderful celebratory dinner at Bord'Eau that evening- only an elevator ride away.
The hotel has just been magnificently renovated (it is owned by the Heineken family). There is marble- marble- marble- and more marble- all slabs matched perfectly with each other. Every room comes with its own iPad.
The entire staff could not be more warm, welcoming and friendly--including the doormen and the wait staff at breakfast and tea. The concierge (Eef Sparla) arranged our tickets to both the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum--just a short walk from the hotel. The location of this hotel is superb--whereas The Amstel Intercontinental is remote--STAY HERE !--we definitely made the correct decison !
The hotel was just featured in an article in the Sunday New York Times travel section. We are longing to return here on our next trip to Amsterdam !!!

Room Tip: Get an Amstel iver View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear both,

Thank you very much for this amazing review. It has been great to have you with us and to have been chosen by yourselves as THE hotel to celebrate your special occasion. Please make sure to come and visit us again soon! In the meantime, we wish you a wonderful festive season!

Team De L'Europe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Smooth arrival with the doorman taking charge of our car immediately (garage is expensive but that is normal for Amsterdam).
Some difficulties with check-in as our package was not well transmitted by LHW. After verification all was settled well and all LHW advantages (upgrade, welcome gift, etc..) were considered.
We booked a De Luxe One Bedroom Suite and were upgraded to a Prestige One Bedroom Suite with a small balcony and view of the Munt Tower and the Amstel River. Very spacious separate living area and a small but cosy bedroom with a great bed. The room was very comfortable and pleasant to stay in.
During our stay the staff was always very friendly and helpful. (Special thanks to Mrs. Jacqueline Grätz who really made us feel at home). Most of the time we were addressed with our family name, which is exceptional.
Breakfast sometimes a little disorganised, depending on the staff.
All in all we had an excellent time in hotel de l'Europe and when in Amsterdam again, we will surely stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I've decided to book at the De L'Europe Amsterdam for a very special occasion - birthday of my wife and our wedding anniversary. We had only one night, but what we've got, was great.

Already through the booking process the staff was very helpful. They advised me to book via the booking engine of LHW (Leading Hotels of the World), as there was a special promotion running for club members. I informed the hotel about my preferences and about the occasion of my stay.

When we arrived (actually quiet early in the morning) we've got a welcome of the guest relations manager. We've booked a superior double room - and we ended up in a deluxe one bedroom suite in the new Dutch Masters Wing of the hotel, where only VIP rooms are located.


Our room was delightful - a perfect mix between modern elements and classic luxury. Our room was very big, also the bathroom (complete in mosaik-style) was large. There were many gadgets, like a complete surround sound bose system, three TV sets (one built-in the bathtub), air condition, heated floor in bathroom, modern light control, a nespresso machine, and much more.

We had the best view you can get from our room - to the Amster river and to the city.

The hotel gives-out a I-Pad 2 for your free usage in the room, including docking stations. A very good idea - because the whole hotel directory is included in a special app. You even can order room service directly via I-Pad.

As a welcome greeting we've got a bottle of champagne, nuts, and a bottle of red wine in our room. As we had now enough drinks, we decided to order room service - quick, tasty, well-presented and a reasonable price (35 Euros for 2 dishes).


The bathroom was specious, as I wrote, and equipped with all comfort. Many fresh and fluffy towels, bathrobes, and many bathroom amenities of a own luxury cosmetic line. The bathtub was big, and we had also a rain-forest-shower. You could access the bathroom from two sides.

We've also used the SPA area, which is small, but very romantic, nice made, and clean. There is a pool with jacuzzi and jet stream, good temperature, with a romantic starlight heaven above. As we were the only guests, we could turn-down the lights and switch on romantic sounds. There is free mineral water at the pool bar, and again many cosmetic amenities to use.

There was also a little fitness center, with modern machines. So you can access YouTube or Facebook through the screen of your fitness bike..:-)



The whole hotel is providing a very warm atmosphere, all is in warm colours, and well-mixed between classic grand hotel luxury and modern style. There is a great mixture of famous Dutch paintings everywhere hidden in the hotel, which we all found later at the Reichsmuseum.

Through that we hat a deluxe suite, we've got some extra attention from the staff - newspaper delivery, minibar refil service, fresh coffee & tea, and of course a turn-down service.


We had a drink and a cigar at Freddy's Bar. The bar is very nice - the staff was lame. We were the only guests, and I needed to ask twice that I could place my order, which I could get 15 minutes later. Also, if you offer a nice and spacious cigar lounge, you need to provide at least a cigar ashtray, a cutter, and long cigar matches - all not available. Atmosphere is nice.


We slept very well at a specious, huge bed (one of this luxury hand-made-bed's or whatever) with XXXXL pillows. We went for breakfast to the Brasserie. Very nice located at the Amster river. Quality of the food was very good, service was quick and friendly. The buffet could be larger (for that it is a top hotel), but never mind.


We've got threated not only with a early check-in, but also with a late check-out at 16:00 without any extra payment. Check-out was quick and easy, we could store our luggage there for a wile on. Front office was helpful in organizing some additional bags for our hand luggage.

When our car arrived and we wanted to leave, we've got a personal greeting again from guest relations - with a very nice present (room fragrance candle) on our way.



All-in-all, this hotel and its staff made our celebration perfect and unique. We've got the best what you can get for very reasonable money. We really felt like real VIP's at any time. I will come again definitively.

Room Tip: Inform the staff about any special occasions, they will help you according to availability. Rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.