We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a real VIP - great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Zürich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Felt like a real VIP - great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I've decided to book at the De L'Europe Amsterdam for a very special occasion - birthday of my wife and our wedding anniversary. We had only one night, but what we've got, was great.

Already through the booking process the staff was very helpful. They advised me to book via the booking engine of LHW (Leading Hotels of the World), as there was a special promotion running for club members. I informed the hotel about my preferences and about the occasion of my stay.

When we arrived (actually quiet early in the morning) we've got a welcome of the guest relations manager. We've booked a superior double room - and we ended up in a deluxe one bedroom suite in the new Dutch Masters Wing of the hotel, where only VIP rooms are located.


Our room was delightful - a perfect mix between modern elements and classic luxury. Our room was very big, also the bathroom (complete in mosaik-style) was large. There were many gadgets, like a complete surround sound bose system, three TV sets (one built-in the bathtub), air condition, heated floor in bathroom, modern light control, a nespresso machine, and much more.

We had the best view you can get from our room - to the Amster river and to the city.

The hotel gives-out a I-Pad 2 for your free usage in the room, including docking stations. A very good idea - because the whole hotel directory is included in a special app. You even can order room service directly via I-Pad.

As a welcome greeting we've got a bottle of champagne, nuts, and a bottle of red wine in our room. As we had now enough drinks, we decided to order room service - quick, tasty, well-presented and a reasonable price (35 Euros for 2 dishes).


The bathroom was specious, as I wrote, and equipped with all comfort. Many fresh and fluffy towels, bathrobes, and many bathroom amenities of a own luxury cosmetic line. The bathtub was big, and we had also a rain-forest-shower. You could access the bathroom from two sides.

We've also used the SPA area, which is small, but very romantic, nice made, and clean. There is a pool with jacuzzi and jet stream, good temperature, with a romantic starlight heaven above. As we were the only guests, we could turn-down the lights and switch on romantic sounds. There is free mineral water at the pool bar, and again many cosmetic amenities to use.

There was also a little fitness center, with modern machines. So you can access YouTube or Facebook through the screen of your fitness bike..:-)



The whole hotel is providing a very warm atmosphere, all is in warm colours, and well-mixed between classic grand hotel luxury and modern style. There is a great mixture of famous Dutch paintings everywhere hidden in the hotel, which we all found later at the Reichsmuseum.

Through that we hat a deluxe suite, we've got some extra attention from the staff - newspaper delivery, minibar refil service, fresh coffee & tea, and of course a turn-down service.


We had a drink and a cigar at Freddy's Bar. The bar is very nice - the staff was lame. We were the only guests, and I needed to ask twice that I could place my order, which I could get 15 minutes later. Also, if you offer a nice and spacious cigar lounge, you need to provide at least a cigar ashtray, a cutter, and long cigar matches - all not available. Atmosphere is nice.


We slept very well at a specious, huge bed (one of this luxury hand-made-bed's or whatever) with XXXXL pillows. We went for breakfast to the Brasserie. Very nice located at the Amster river. Quality of the food was very good, service was quick and friendly. The buffet could be larger (for that it is a top hotel), but never mind.


We've got threated not only with a early check-in, but also with a late check-out at 16:00 without any extra payment. Check-out was quick and easy, we could store our luggage there for a wile on. Front office was helpful in organizing some additional bags for our hand luggage.

When our car arrived and we wanted to leave, we've got a personal greeting again from guest relations - with a very nice present (room fragrance candle) on our way.



All-in-all, this hotel and its staff made our celebration perfect and unique. We've got the best what you can get for very reasonable money. We really felt like real VIP's at any time. I will come again definitively.

Room Tip: Inform the staff about any special occasions, they will help you according to availability. Rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    122
    42
    12
    12
See reviews for
91
363
30
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early July and it was absolutely fantastic! We were traveling with a lot of family (which is stressful enough!) but once we got to the hotel everything was at ease. It is a little challenging to find the entrance with the construction on the street in front, but once we got inside everything was fantastic. From the doorman to the Front Desk, everything was great. The rooms we had overlooked the canal and were spectacular. As a techno-geek, the in-suite iPad and Bose sound system you could control in the bathroom was awesome! We had breakfast in the cafe, and despite a snooty guest beside us, everything was fabulous. One night we organized to leave the kids behind, and they organized a fabulous babysitter for us (Ann Flor?) who took care of our precious kids. The new part of the hotel is just great! We did have one room in the older part which was still nice and spacious, but compared to the new room wasn't nearly as nice. We had one "glitch" which I won't mention, but the staff dealt with it efficiently which is what you would expect. Courteous and centrally located, if you are looking for a luxury hotel, look no further!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section - simply breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here on a family vacation last year. The hotel is very nice though not up to the standards of other 5 star Lgw hotels in Europe.

I would peg the value of a room here at $350us max. I booked a return visit for next feb on kayak at a rate of $260us. I dont mind paying for top quality as I am paying 800 a night at the ritz Paris on the nights prior to this stay.

I prepaid for the room last week and received an email from the booking service I used this morning saying the hotel had made a mistake and was not going to offer the rate they had charged my card. No call from hotel management. No call from hotel to explain. Just a form letter from easy to book. I would expect that a hotel that claims to be of this class to manage a situation better. Instead of rebooking at this hotel I have booked at hotel Pulitzer. This really rubbed me the wrong way. I think they have an overinflated view of what thir rates should be.

I booked Ritz Paris through same service and have already received email from the hotel asking if I have any special requests.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Sir,

I am sad to read that your reservation request was dealt with in such poor manner by the parties involved. This was beyond control of De L'Europe which I will explain to you in a seperate email. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your previous stay with us and look forward to welcome you back. in the not too distant future!
Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Having stayed here before the renovation I was already impressed however two years on this has become one of the finest in Europe yet retained its rich heritage in the process. The rooms, public areas and service are all exceptional along with the food and famous 'Freddy's bar'. Take my hat off to Kees on the door who knows all the local info.

Room Tip: Choose a suite in the Dutch masters wing, low floor amstel river view. balconies also a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

...so things are subject to change. I loved this hotel in spite of the hammering and sawing, because of the gorgeous physical plant and comfort of the well-appointed rooms. The location in the center of Amsterdam is advantageous to efficient touring, and the staff was helpful and accommodating. If in the old town again, I would enthusiastically stay here again. Oh, and the bathrooms are HUGE!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is outstanding in many ways:
Location
Courteous and extremely informed staff
The most comfortable and cozy bedding
Gorgeous suite
Elegant lobby
Outstanding restaurant, fabulous food and service.
Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I was a little worried about booking Hotel De L'Europe for our recent trip to Amsterdam based upon the reviews on Trip Advisor, but there was no need. The hotel was fabulous!

We booked a Junior Suite with a river view and found it to be perfect for our needs. We travel a lot on business and prefer a living room separate from the bedroom. That is exactly what our junior suite provided without the full suite price. The ceilings in our suite were high, and combined with the river view really added so much to the room. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful - done completely in blue mosaic tiles - not marble like everyone seems to be doing these days. Well lit, excellent water pressure and the tub was a dream!

Other reviewers have commented on the internet connection, but we experienced no problems. The Bose system even played our US dvds which was terrific at the end of the day. The location of the hotel is wonderful - located in a charming neighborhood and central to so many of the things you will want to see, but quiet enough to relax.

But it was truly the staff that made our stay so wonderful. The check in was smooth and charming. The bell staff was helpful (showing us the controls for the room) and efficient. The concierge was great - made us reservations at a romantic restaurant for our special dinner and helped me ship items home to the US (customs paperwork is so annoying). The delightful reception staff gave me clear directions a couple of times that made finding odd things (like super glue) a snap.

We will definitely be staying at Hotel de L'Europe again.

Room Tip: Get a river view. Watching the people and boats go by really makes the trip special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Dutch Masters Wing and are even more excited to read your positive remarks about the team. I will ensure your comments will be shared with all the staff which will undoubtedly put an even bigger smile on their faces!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.