We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! European Luxury at it's finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #14 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow! European Luxury at it's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early July and it was absolutely fantastic! We were traveling with a lot of family (which is stressful enough!) but once we got to the hotel everything was at ease. It is a little challenging to find the entrance with the construction on the street in front, but once we got inside everything was fantastic. From the doorman to the Front Desk, everything was great. The rooms we had overlooked the canal and were spectacular. As a techno-geek, the in-suite iPad and Bose sound system you could control in the bathroom was awesome! We had breakfast in the cafe, and despite a snooty guest beside us, everything was fabulous. One night we organized to leave the kids behind, and they organized a fabulous babysitter for us (Ann Flor?) who took care of our precious kids. The new part of the hotel is just great! We did have one room in the older part which was still nice and spacious, but compared to the new room wasn't nearly as nice. We had one "glitch" which I won't mention, but the staff dealt with it efficiently which is what you would expect. Courteous and centrally located, if you are looking for a luxury hotel, look no further!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section - simply breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    118
    40
    11
    12
See reviews for
87
344
29
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here on a family vacation last year. The hotel is very nice though not up to the standards of other 5 star Lgw hotels in Europe.

I would peg the value of a room here at $350us max. I booked a return visit for next feb on kayak at a rate of $260us. I dont mind paying for top quality as I am paying 800 a night at the ritz Paris on the nights prior to this stay.

I prepaid for the room last week and received an email from the booking service I used this morning saying the hotel had made a mistake and was not going to offer the rate they had charged my card. No call from hotel management. No call from hotel to explain. Just a form letter from easy to book. I would expect that a hotel that claims to be of this class to manage a situation better. Instead of rebooking at this hotel I have booked at hotel Pulitzer. This really rubbed me the wrong way. I think they have an overinflated view of what thir rates should be.

I booked Ritz Paris through same service and have already received email from the hotel asking if I have any special requests.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Sir,

I am sad to read that your reservation request was dealt with in such poor manner by the parties involved. This was beyond control of De L'Europe which I will explain to you in a seperate email. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your previous stay with us and look forward to welcome you back. in the not too distant future!
Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Having stayed here before the renovation I was already impressed however two years on this has become one of the finest in Europe yet retained its rich heritage in the process. The rooms, public areas and service are all exceptional along with the food and famous 'Freddy's bar'. Take my hat off to Kees on the door who knows all the local info.

Room Tip: Choose a suite in the Dutch masters wing, low floor amstel river view. balconies also a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

...so things are subject to change. I loved this hotel in spite of the hammering and sawing, because of the gorgeous physical plant and comfort of the well-appointed rooms. The location in the center of Amsterdam is advantageous to efficient touring, and the staff was helpful and accommodating. If in the old town again, I would enthusiastically stay here again. Oh, and the bathrooms are HUGE!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is outstanding in many ways:
Location
Courteous and extremely informed staff
The most comfortable and cozy bedding
Gorgeous suite
Elegant lobby
Outstanding restaurant, fabulous food and service.
Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I was a little worried about booking Hotel De L'Europe for our recent trip to Amsterdam based upon the reviews on Trip Advisor, but there was no need. The hotel was fabulous!

We booked a Junior Suite with a river view and found it to be perfect for our needs. We travel a lot on business and prefer a living room separate from the bedroom. That is exactly what our junior suite provided without the full suite price. The ceilings in our suite were high, and combined with the river view really added so much to the room. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful - done completely in blue mosaic tiles - not marble like everyone seems to be doing these days. Well lit, excellent water pressure and the tub was a dream!

Other reviewers have commented on the internet connection, but we experienced no problems. The Bose system even played our US dvds which was terrific at the end of the day. The location of the hotel is wonderful - located in a charming neighborhood and central to so many of the things you will want to see, but quiet enough to relax.

But it was truly the staff that made our stay so wonderful. The check in was smooth and charming. The bell staff was helpful (showing us the controls for the room) and efficient. The concierge was great - made us reservations at a romantic restaurant for our special dinner and helped me ship items home to the US (customs paperwork is so annoying). The delightful reception staff gave me clear directions a couple of times that made finding odd things (like super glue) a snap.

We will definitely be staying at Hotel de L'Europe again.

Room Tip: Get a river view. Watching the people and boats go by really makes the trip special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Dutch Masters Wing and are even more excited to read your positive remarks about the team. I will ensure your comments will be shared with all the staff which will undoubtedly put an even bigger smile on their faces!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVERLY HILLS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

We loved staying here, everything from the rooms to staff to service was great. We specially enjoyed the breakfast and the room in which it was served every morning. The hotel is located in the center of action where all the shops and restaurants are but the rooms are very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.