We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations almost completed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De L'Europe Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added De L'Europe Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, City of Roses, Oregon
1 review
“Renovations almost completed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Note to webmaster: Why is this property listed twice? See also ranking #47 of the same hotel. We visited Amsterdam in early June, and were most pleased with our stay at this fine hotel. Renovations are nearly comple, and it looks to be a dazzling hotel, with a great location and fine restaurants. This is a 5 star hotel, and I highly recommend it for those fortunate enough to be visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Pay for upgrade to Amstel River view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    115
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
85
339
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is an excellent spot to spend a decadent weekend with your lover! Thanks a lot!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelrepAmsterdam, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
We are very pleased to read that De L'Europe proved to be a good choice for your romantic weekend. Please do continue to keep us in mind when an anniversary is on the cards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I knew the hotel was under construction until the end of May, but the section we stayed in was complete and there was no inconvenience to us other than the new restaurants not yet open. What a room!!! The colors were based on a large reproduced Rembrandt painting hung in the room and the features are too many to list. They gave us wonderful service and provided everything you would expect from a top european hotel. Look for them on every top 10 list by year's end.

Room Tip: We had a view of both canals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelrepAmsterdam, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
WOW! Thank you very much for sharing this amazing review! We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the design and interior of our new rooms and we cannot wait for you to return to the hotel and sample the cuisine of our two stunning new restaurants.
When you do, please feel free to contact me directly in order for me to be able to personally overlook your stay!

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

The staff are some of the best I have encountered in Europe, no attitude, and extremely good service. The location of the hotel is perfect, though complicated to get to if you have rented a car due to construction, not only of the hotel, but the street in front (your nav. will take you the wrong way). The room was spacious, but gloomy even with 3 windows facing out.. I dont know if the room was one that still needed to be remodeled, or if it was one of the finished rooms.. the style of it was very french chic circa 1981, and I mean that in a very good way.. as that is totally current... however the lighting was deplorable...and felt like something out of the "Eyes of Laura Mars" film ... they had to bring an extra floor lamp to use with my lap top, and the hall leading to the bed room was too dark to read the thermostat clearly... but staff were wonderfully accommodating and apologetic, making one feel rather ok about it ..

Room Tip: get a one bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelrepAmsterdam, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Joshua,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback! I truely appreciate the lovely comments you have made about our staff and location. We take pride in ensuring our guest are feeling comfortable and well looked after and I am happy to read you have witnessed this personally.
I appreciate that the 'mood lighting' in some of our rooms is not to everyones taste and your feedback is taken onboard. In the meantime we are of course more than happy to accomodate additional lighting requests.
Joshua, thank you once again for the positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to De l'Europe to experience the entire hotel in its full splendour!

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

we stayed 4 nights in this nice paradise -the service was the best you could wish -we had a beauitful suit !!the breakfast was great and served on time every morning , room service and housee keeping excellent reception/concierge always with a smile, very helpful and very efficent- - this will be our hotel at our next visit to Amsterdam !!Thank you !!,Fam.. Manor.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed there last week with our 2 kids and we enjoyed the hotel very much. The downtown location of the hotel is quiet and superb, we did not have to use our car during our three nights stay. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Even if the main building is under complete renovation at the moment it did not effect our stay at all. Don't miss the indoor-pool, overlooking the Amstel-river. The a la carte-breakfast was delicious (our son loved the chocolate basket). The bathroom was breathtaking huge (BVLGARI soaps and shampoo) and with an integrated TV-flatscreen truly luxurious.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Worth every euro! Extravagant, Pricey, Deluxe, Perfect Location. I got an upgrade to a suite from a junior suite and I could have fit a family of five in that suite COMFORTABLY. Really beautiful, brand spanking new interior. LOVED the bath tub and the massage in the room. Everyone who worked there was helpful and gracious. Be sure to see Gert in the bar - he's a wonderful bartender and so engaging. Also every one speaks english like it's their native language - so super simple to get anything you may want. Not for people on a budget but if you can go deluxe for one or two nights in this city HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel with Victorian exterior, located opposite Flower Market in the City Centre, overlooking Amstel River & Munt Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De L'Europe Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.