We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra Chic and 4 Star ammenities but affordable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vondel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ultra Chic and 4 Star ammenities but affordable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

Very chic and modern decor. Room was huge, bed was even bigger!. The bathroom was gorgeous with a funky style shower and sink plus a bathtub big enough for 2! The room had nice ammenities and clean towels daily. Very comfortable layout with plenty of space. Our room faced the street and had a little sitting veranda. Hotel staff was very helpful and polite. We ate all of our meals outside of the hotel and saved a bundle.(yes, breakfast too!) Amsterdam has a lot of different cuisines and even vegetarians are catered to. NOTES: This is not a sound proof hotel. We bring our earplugs on all trips and were especially glad here since our room was next to the stairwell. Amsterdam is a party town and you will hear people on the streets at late hours. Bring earplugs to sleep and you should be fine. The sound was not an issue for us so we still give this place an excellent rating.

  • Liked — Room style and ammenities.
  • Disliked — Sound.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    263
    130
    67
    41
See reviews for
53
321
32
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

The hotel is well located just outside the noise but within walking distance from everything in Amsterdam.
The staff is a bit cold even though helpful.

Great design details everywhere in the lobby as well as in the rooms. We had a large room (de luxe) with a big bathroom. The room was clean but not tidy.

Dining area and common area are great. Breakfast is good but expensive.

  • Liked — design furniture decor location
  • Disliked — staff a bit cold, room could be more clean
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed in the Vondel for the weekend and had a most enjoyable time. The Lobby is beautiful, and epitomises "boutique hotel" to a tee. The double room we chose was, admittedly, small, but the space had been used very well, and so therefore this was not a problem. The breakfast was great, the patio area was great, and the communal areas were too. The location was perfect for what we were looking for (a quiet weekend), it was close to everything it needed to be close to, and the immediate area was very tranquil, and pretty, indeed.

Upon our next visit to 'Dam we shall certainly be paying the Vondel another visit. THE VONDEL ROCKS!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

Arrived in Amsterdam on the 25 July 207.

We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and welcoming.
Location was not too bad.
About 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Amsterdam.
My partner and I were upgraded to the XXL room for free which we found the room to be excellent. It was large with a seperate living area though the queen size bed is actually 2 single beds joined together with 2 seperate doona covers.
One of the problem with the XXL room we stayed in is it is in the building next to the hotel. This meant taking your luggage through a number of doors, into a SUPER small lift (only can fit in 2 people and 1 luggage a piece).
Also, as we found out later through our other friends who had stayed in the main hotel, there was no air-conditioning at all in any of the rooms. We found this to be quite annoying as even though the weather was overcast, the rooms were still fairly humid to sleep in.
Also, there were no ventilation in the hallways which meant you can smell smoke throughout the rooms and hallways.
Another problem we found was the noise level. The room doors tend to slam shut and you can easily hear your neighbours go in and out of the rooms.
Not much positives to come out of this experience. Probably wouldnt stay here again.
Overall, we have given the hotel 2 out of 5.

  • Liked — Spicy spring rolls
  • Disliked — No air-con
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

The hotel Vondel is located in a quiet area not far from the Leidseplein.

The Front-desk staff is kind and gives you a personal welcome.
The rooms are located in several older buildings, so ergonomic not always very well build.

The rooms vary in space and equipment, not all the rooms are big but small as they are they offer a good quality.
Rooms are equipt with a mediumsize bed, lcd television and a chair. Also a comfortable workingdesk is provided.
The bathrooms are small and sometimes a little old-fashioned but are ok.

The pricing varies to much, sometimes € 80 per night which is reasonable and sometimes € 250 per night which is idiot.

Overall; with the right price a good but small place to stay.

  • Liked — Friendlyness from staff
  • Disliked — Sometimes very high pricing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Beautiful hotel, great location. Service was excellent! A hotel we can recommend!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No airco
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

I had a large room 311. Beautiful interior and bathroom. Quite street. Negative - no airco and weak ventilation.

  • Liked — style
  • Disliked — bad ventilation
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#105 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone’s taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone’s throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vondel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.