We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but not exceptional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vondel to your Saves list
Hotel Vondel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #149 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Adequate but not exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We ended up at the Hotel Vondel after being told at the reception of Hotel Roemer that our prepaid room reservation would not be honored. Once arriving at their sister hotel we were upgraded to a junior suite and given their overpriced breakfast ( 19 ) euros. We found the staff to be spotty. Some were nice and knew what they were doing while others didn't. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was nice but the couch was very dated. The free internet also didn't work. Not my first choice in any future bookings to Amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Ted1955,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and taking some time to share your thoughts with us. I am sorry to read that we were not completely able to meet your expectations on this stay. Needless to say this is not what we envisage what for our guests. If situations like these occur we always do our outmost best to find the best possible solution for all parties, based on your feelings I can only conclude that we were not successful in doing so.

We hope to be able though to welcome you back in one of our hotels on a future trip to show you our passion for hospitality.

Best regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager Hotel Vondel

Youp Bimbergen – Hotel Manager Hotel Roemer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    323
    166
    76
    50
See reviews for
73
404
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Lovely hotel. Spotlessly clean. Couldn't fault it and would definitely go there again.

Ridiculous that this review must be more than 200 characters as I said everything I needed to in 86 characters and all this is just red-tape nonsense.

Tripadvisor take note - 0/5 for you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear iwanttobeanonymous,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website. We are very pleased to read that you had an excellent stay in Hotel Vondel.

I will make sure to share your comment with the team since it serves as a great motivational tool to all of us.

We definitely look forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam someday, please reach out to me in case I can assist when planning a future stay

Warm regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Vondel Hotel for five nights in early August and absolutely loved everything about it. It's truly European feel and location were perfect for my first trip overseas. The complimentary breakfast and other food/beverage offerings were delicious and the staff was always friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Jair Thieme who looked after all of our needs and made our stay there that much more special. There's great value at this hotel and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear girlsvacation,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you got the true European feeling in our hotel.

Hotel Vondel is indeed located in a quiet residential area in Amsterdam within walking distance of all the main attractions. We will share your comments with Jair and all other teammembers.

Once again, thank you very much and we hope to see you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great hotel could not fault this at all . From check in to end of stay staff we there for you . Room was a nice size with everything you need in it , bed was lovely loads of pillows very comfortable . Would defiantly stay here again and would stay cheek this hotel out .

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Arsenal G,

Thank you for finding the time to write a review on this website. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you liked the amenities and the bed so much.

Please contact us if we can be of any help planning your next trip to Amsterdam

Best regards

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel was off the main street which provided intimacy and style. The bedroom was large, and clean providing all the amenities necessary. The staff was wonderful, extremely helpful. It was close to everything allowing us to walk to all the museums and shopping. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backyard/terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised and impressed with the cool room at the Vondel Hotel in Amsterdam. It's very different from the main hotel chains.

The bedroom and bathroom looked very nice and different. Everything was clean and staff was great.

It was no problem to leave our luggage after check-out and it got tagged.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear rexde500,

Thank you very much for your great review on this website! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We highly value your comment with regards to the interior design and personal service in our hotel, since these are among our key values.

I look forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam someday.

Best Regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were a group of 10 staying for 4 nights. We loved this hotel, it was central and convenient to most places. The staff were amazing and could not do enough to help us at any time and the beds were extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend this to fellow travelers and should we return I would definitely go back to the Hotel Vondel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Debra W,

What a pleasure to read your thoughts on your recent stay with your party; I am pleased to read that you had a great time in Amsterdam with us and that we were able to be a part of this. I will make sure your praising words are shared within the teams, since it is a great motivation to us all.

I would be honoured to welcome you back in the hotel anytime, please contact me personally for assistance when planning your next trip.

Best Regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vondel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.