We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vondel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The place was nice and so was the staff. The price was not so fair, especially for the meals and the bike rent service. The room was nice but personally I think the carpet is not sanitary and I don't like it. Good location. Appreciated the kit to make tea in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    260
    129
    67
    41
See reviews for
51
317
32
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was in Amsterdam in April 2014 for one night. I was originally booked at Hotel Roemer but when I arrived in the morning the room I reserved (double beds) was not available. The clerk offered an upgrade at the Vondel for the same price. He also offered me to have the Roemer breakfast while I waited for the transfer to occur. Even though there was a mess-up, it worked out as the Vondel was a spacious and well-appointed room. Large bed, large bath with soaker tub and shower, plus double sinks. Seating area with couch and chairs, plus a nice view. Also, the lobby bar stayed open late that night to accommodate us and continued to provide wine and snacks far after they should have been closed. The lobby seating was also very comfortable and inviting. All in all a very good experience.

Room Tip: some of the rooms require a long walk and steps or a tiny elevator. If this is a concern, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very clean, smart hotel. The staff really couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Room was nice and clean but in basement below restaurant so very noisy at breakfast times. Great location-- about 5 mins walk to the gorgeous Vondel Park. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here to celebrate parents 50th wedding anniversary with a four day visit to Amsterdam. The rooms were on the 5th floor and a card congratulating my parents with a free drink was waiting in the room. Very nice. That showed the message had passed from internet booking to hotel operations and on to housekeeping. So good internal communications. The rooms were modern, clean and with small but very nice shower room. The windows opened fully and there was air conditioning. Which is great if you are a fresh air fiend. There was also a cute little elevator that took the hard work out getting to the room.

Breakfast was extra but consisted of a well stocked hot and cold buffet with attentive staff offering coffee and endless refills. Tea is of the weak European variety while claiming to be English breakfast blend. My tip is to take your favourite bags from home. A very nice touch is the menu on the table that offers pancakes, eggs etc. at no extra cost.

The hotel is very handy for local restaurants and all that goes to make up Leidsplan 10 minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. We also walked to the Anne Frank house but I would recommend a taxi. The message really is that this is a great hotel close to the action.

Room Tip: Top floor is good for roof top views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent customer service (at reception and in the restaurant/bar) really makes this a welcoming place to stay. Our basement double room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable - but there was some noise from staff unavoidably clanking up and down the metal staircase opposite our window early in the morning. Tram stops are about 5 minutes walk, key museums (Riksmuseum, Van Gogh museum) ten mins. walk. Avoid the overpriced tourist traps of Leidseplien and try the restaurant Panini (about ten mins walk NE of hotel ) and the Cafe Gollum on the Overtoom (runs parallel to Vondelstraat) which serves a huge range of excellent beers and bar food. Also on Overtoom - a good Thai eatery and a supermarket.

Room Tip: avoid the basement rooms if you don't want to be disturbed in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend after two people had recommended it to us. Excellent location next to the vondel park, shops and trams. The hotel was lovely and the staff were really nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be coming back soon!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3nights for a little romantic break in amsterdam. I chose the hotel based on reviews from others on trip advisor. The hotel is in a great location, literally round the corner from vondel park, and a two minute walk into the bustling centre. The room was lovely and we especially liked the double shower (saves a lot of time in the morning). We were greeted warmly and given a map and had all the areas explained to us. Yes the rooms are small, but if you have hand luggage/weekend bag you should be fine. It was very well decorated throughout. The room was extremly warm and sleeping with the window open was quite noisy so that made it a little uncomfortable for me, but had i asked im sure they would of turned the radiator off (was so busy i forgot to ask!). The hotel bar was quite expensive and the cocktails arent up to much. And do not rent the vondel scooter as you will find a much cheaper place in Jordaan. Other than that it was perfect and we would definitley stay again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone’s taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone’s throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vondel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.