We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sometimes the soul of a hotel comes through” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vondel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“sometimes the soul of a hotel comes through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've stayed at the Vondel whenever I'm in Amsterdam and typically 2-3 times annually for many years. In the areas that business hotels excel, the hotel is "just ok". They make smallish mistakes. They are not particularly efficient in service at the dining room. I'm not convinced that profit is a significant motive of the owners of the hotel; if it were, they would likely do a better and more planful job of building customer loyalty and new customer activity. But, unless you require a mistake proof and efficient hotel, which it is not, I fully recommend the Vondel. It is well priced. It has great breakfasts. It has lovely people working there. And, in my experience It has a soul. Most chains catering to business - with the possible exception of a few - don't earn their existential real estate. The Vondel does, I think. You will find nice people who want you to have a relaxed and happy experience. That's worth a lot to me.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Vondelstraat
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    261
    128
    67
    41
See reviews for
50
317
32
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, down a very quiet backstreet just 5 mins walk from Leidesplein, where there are plenty of Bars and restaurants.
I had seen reports that the rooms on the lower floors were quite noisy, so I requested a room on one of the upper floors, which turned out to be at the back of the hotel and was so quiet you would have never of thought you were in the middle of a city!
The room was very clean, with a brilliant chambermaid that left the room as new every day.
I would recommend this hotel strongly.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in November for 2 days/3 nights.

We arrived later in the evening, about 8 pm, and all that was left was a basement room. We weren't too thrilled about it, asked kindly if there was anything else available, but there wasn't. We were told that there would be in the morning, which was very nice.

The room was very nice. A bit small, but very clean, modern, and still bright even though it was in the basement. We decided we didn't need to move in the morning - after all, we are only in the room to sleep.

The front desk staff was very helpful. Being first time visitors to Amsterdam, we asked for a city map and where would be a good place to grab a bite to eat. They directed us to a touristy area with 100s of restaurants just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It was great.

The wifi was included with our room, and worked well. No problems at all.

My only real complaint is with the basement room. Yes, we could have moved, but it would have been more hassle than it was worth. The noise level was really bad...we must have been below the restaurant, because the footsteps stopped around midnight and started up again around 5 am. Other than that - we didn't hear a peep the entire time.

The hotel is close to all the museums, canal tours, shopping districts - both affordable shops, and luxury shopping are very close by, everything really! You can't beat the location. I would stay again for sure, just not in the basement!

Room Tip: request no basement room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Although we were probably given the smallest room in the hotel, and I did check the Internet booking and it did say small room so I have no complaints here, The room was fairly quiet. This is the key criteria for any Hotel. It's also extremely well situated, I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful so ticked all the boxes. all in all a very good experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute booking and were worried by the reviews of the basement rooms so we paid a bit extra (£30) for an executive room.

The room looked just like the website pictures; decor was modern and simple, the bathroom was amazing - a giant tub plus a dinner plate sized shower! Very clean as well - housekeeping are doing a good job.

The receptionists (we encountered a total of 3) were all very kind, helpful and welcoming.

Only downfalls were that we were expecting a king sized bed, but it was 2 big singles pushed together, you could hear chatter in the morning from other guests in the hallway and also there was no clock anywhere in the room, so we had to keep pestering the reception desk for the time!

Overall, a great place, and really made our trip! Will definetly book again for our next trip.

Room Tip: Room 314, ground level is a very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a small but very friendly hotel close to all amenities and great night life, well worth stating here. Be advised the rooms are small but great and have double beds and a bathroom included. Breakfast is served in the hotel and is well priced

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darcheryorks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location near to the Museumplein and Jordaan area with the 9 streets with quirky and interesting shops. The reception, dining room, lounge area etc were modern and airy and if you go in spring/summer a fabulous terraced garden. We were in a basement room (Room 112)which was still reasonably light and spacious - though as were below reception etc at times there was noise from people walking about above. We are not terribly noise sensitive people and both heavy sleepers so didn't disturb us but may be a problem if you are, but overall we found the hotel to be quiet. It never felt as though there were 86 rooms. We had booked an executive double and expected it to be slightly bigger but was still fine. Great rain shower over the bath. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and that really helped to make our stay. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there at all - found a nearby cafe for breakfast. We would stay there again if we visit Amsterdam, though may request not to be in a basement room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone’s taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone’s throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vondel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.