We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vondel to your Saves list
Hotel Vondel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #151 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, down a very quiet backstreet just 5 mins walk from Leidesplein, where there are plenty of Bars and restaurants.
I had seen reports that the rooms on the lower floors were quite noisy, so I requested a room on one of the upper floors, which turned out to be at the back of the hotel and was so quiet you would have never of thought you were in the middle of a city!
The room was very clean, with a brilliant chambermaid that left the room as new every day.
I would recommend this hotel strongly.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talbotbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in November for 2 days/3 nights.

We arrived later in the evening, about 8 pm, and all that was left was a basement room. We weren't too thrilled about it, asked kindly if there was anything else available, but there wasn't. We were told that there would be in the morning, which was very nice.

The room was very nice. A bit small, but very clean, modern, and still bright even though it was in the basement. We decided we didn't need to move in the morning - after all, we are only in the room to sleep.

The front desk staff was very helpful. Being first time visitors to Amsterdam, we asked for a city map and where would be a good place to grab a bite to eat. They directed us to a touristy area with 100s of restaurants just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It was great.

The wifi was included with our room, and worked well. No problems at all.

My only real complaint is with the basement room. Yes, we could have moved, but it would have been more hassle than it was worth. The noise level was really bad...we must have been below the restaurant, because the footsteps stopped around midnight and started up again around 5 am. Other than that - we didn't hear a peep the entire time.

The hotel is close to all the museums, canal tours, shopping districts - both affordable shops, and luxury shopping are very close by, everything really! You can't beat the location. I would stay again for sure, just not in the basement!

Room Tip: request no basement room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandandfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Although we were probably given the smallest room in the hotel, and I did check the Internet booking and it did say small room so I have no complaints here, The room was fairly quiet. This is the key criteria for any Hotel. It's also extremely well situated, I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful so ticked all the boxes. all in all a very good experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute booking and were worried by the reviews of the basement rooms so we paid a bit extra (£30) for an executive room.

The room looked just like the website pictures; decor was modern and simple, the bathroom was amazing - a giant tub plus a dinner plate sized shower! Very clean as well - housekeeping are doing a good job.

The receptionists (we encountered a total of 3) were all very kind, helpful and welcoming.

Only downfalls were that we were expecting a king sized bed, but it was 2 big singles pushed together, you could hear chatter in the morning from other guests in the hallway and also there was no clock anywhere in the room, so we had to keep pestering the reception desk for the time!

Overall, a great place, and really made our trip! Will definetly book again for our next trip.

Room Tip: Room 314, ground level is a very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebears123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a small but very friendly hotel close to all amenities and great night life, well worth stating here. Be advised the rooms are small but great and have double beds and a bathroom included. Breakfast is served in the hotel and is well priced

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darcheryorks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location near to the Museumplein and Jordaan area with the 9 streets with quirky and interesting shops. The reception, dining room, lounge area etc were modern and airy and if you go in spring/summer a fabulous terraced garden. We were in a basement room (Room 112)which was still reasonably light and spacious - though as were below reception etc at times there was noise from people walking about above. We are not terribly noise sensitive people and both heavy sleepers so didn't disturb us but may be a problem if you are, but overall we found the hotel to be quiet. It never felt as though there were 86 rooms. We had booked an executive double and expected it to be slightly bigger but was still fine. Great rain shower over the bath. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and that really helped to make our stay. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there at all - found a nearby cafe for breakfast. We would stay there again if we visit Amsterdam, though may request not to be in a basement room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darcheryorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you are looking for a boutique hotel, this is a great find. Having just come from the Radisson Blue, it was an adjustment as the rooms were very tight and small in comparison. The floors within my tiny room had many mini levels up and down I kept tripping on as they weren't easily seen. The room was very nicely decorated though. It could have used more lighting as Amsterdam is quite dark during the rainy season.
Staff was very helpful and sweet and room service was extremely quick. Great channel selection on the television. Good location for walking to attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iesimskriesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#40 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#130 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#87 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing