We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - very friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vondel to your Saves list
Hotel Vondel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #151 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
darcheryorks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - very friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location near to the Museumplein and Jordaan area with the 9 streets with quirky and interesting shops. The reception, dining room, lounge area etc were modern and airy and if you go in spring/summer a fabulous terraced garden. We were in a basement room (Room 112)which was still reasonably light and spacious - though as were below reception etc at times there was noise from people walking about above. We are not terribly noise sensitive people and both heavy sleepers so didn't disturb us but may be a problem if you are, but overall we found the hotel to be quiet. It never felt as though there were 86 rooms. We had booked an executive double and expected it to be slightly bigger but was still fine. Great rain shower over the bath. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and that really helped to make our stay. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there at all - found a nearby cafe for breakfast. We would stay there again if we visit Amsterdam, though may request not to be in a basement room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    352
    180
    79
    52
See reviews for
82
444
37
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you are looking for a boutique hotel, this is a great find. Having just come from the Radisson Blue, it was an adjustment as the rooms were very tight and small in comparison. The floors within my tiny room had many mini levels up and down I kept tripping on as they weren't easily seen. The room was very nicely decorated though. It could have used more lighting as Amsterdam is quite dark during the rainy season.
Staff was very helpful and sweet and room service was extremely quick. Great channel selection on the television. Good location for walking to attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Comfortable hotel in a very good location, near Vondelpark and the Museumplein, which I think is far better than staying, for instance, near Dam Square, where for sure must be way noisier! Here you have good sleep quality, even in a room facing the street. I don't mind walking so I didn't take the tram, both Dam Square and Anne Frank's House are approximately a 25- 30 min. walk. The room was not very spacious, but comfortable nevertheless. I liked the fact that it had tea and coffee making facilities, which you don't usually find outside the UK. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level Contributor
164 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

In central Amsterdam close to the Vondelpark and the vibrant Leidseplein on a quiet street is this pleasant hotel. It's small and comfortable. Pleasant and efficient reception. Very nice public rooms (e.g. a well-lit and roomy library; breakfast room etc.). My single room was in the attic. It was quite small but had everything you might need for a night or two. Good sturdy furniture; small but efficient work desk. Good bathroom with good water pressure. Attic window could be opened. Everything immaculately clean.
Just a bit of a problem with the (free) wifi internet: it rather came and went and came again; that's exasperating if you're in the middle of something.
But all in all: a fine place and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you're looking for somewhere central (theatre district) and quiet, then this is the perfect hotel for you. One of the bonuses in terms of a smallish hotel was the lift. Many older style hotels in Europe don't have lifts, which makes trundling bags to your room difficult. The staff were friendly and helpful, the bed extremely comfortable, the room and bathroom cleaned to a high standard. The adjoining restaurant Joost was outstanding. We dined there twice and were impressed both times with the quality and reasonable price of the meals. So handy too when you arrive late in the day and don't wish to head out into the night looking for somewhere to eat. Would definitely recommend both the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

In contrast to my stay at the Double Tree Hilton Congresbury, earlier in September I was in Amsterdam on business. At the Rai Centre for an exhibition. My business partner and I stayed at the Vondel Hotel and found it extremely welcoming my room was first class the breakfast was terrific.

I will just say though the problem of coffee seems to be common across the globe, there is never enough! waitresses drift about and never seem to top up a coffee cup! Why can't we coffee drinkers be given a POT of coffee and be left to sort ourselves out with top ups. A small cafetiere would do it. It seems weird to me that tea drinkers are afforded this luxury while we coffee drinkers suffer thirst and wanting!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here for 3 nights. Quirky boutique hotel with narrow corridors and smallish rooms but I enjoyed it. Walls are a bit thin too, had to use ear plugs in the mornings as vacuuming in hallways was quite loud. Very comfy bed, great staff and an ideal location. Would definitely return. If you're looking for a quirky boutique hotel experience and are prepared to overlook a few things then this is for you

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#58 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#42 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#106 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#69 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#83 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#118 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vondel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.