We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect city hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vondel to your Saves list
Hotel Vondel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect city hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very nice boutique style hotel in the city of Amsterdam. Excellent location, close to all major museums and shops, without all the noise of bars and traffic. Staff is friendly. I had a suite/ apartment with 2 bedrooms (bunk beds for the kids), separate living room, nice bathroom and kitchen (with equipment like a Nespresso machine and cups). Also nice view from the living room into the Vondelstreet. WIFI available, breakfast really basic, but okay. Perfect hotel both for business and/or pleasure.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids, ask for the apartment. Very large and good value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    296
    153
    73
    46
See reviews for
65
371
35
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I really was hoping for a wonderful stay at the Hotel Vondel. This was a special weekend for us and the culmination of a cycling trip in the Netherlands. This hotel has potential but I think needs a shake up in staff and operations in order to meet the luxury boutique hotel status they are aiming for.

First, they need to work on their web site and be much more transparent about what type of room you are getting for what you book. Making rooms look and sound better on the web page then they really are is the oldest book in the trick for hotels but any true quality hotelier knows that while it might pay in the short term it just doesn’t pay in the long term, reputation and returning customers are more important.

We booked an executive room thinking that we would get a pretty nice room. We didn’t need a suite, it was summer and would mostly be out of the hotel visiting friends, but we wanted a nice experience and to be honest price is far from our limiting factor. Based upon the photos and information available on the web site we felt the executive room should meet our needs. However, when we arrived we were checked into a room in the basement (but with windows, sort of a garden flat without the garden access). The room was small and I am challenged to say how it could be different from a standard room. Although somewhat disappointing we thought we would just get by for the weekend. Unfortunately we were awoken our first morning by almost three solid hours of deliveries coming in the back door over our heads making in not only impossible to sleep by almost intolerable to stay in the room with the constant pounding of boots. While this is unacceptable for any guest room it certainly seemed inappropriate for an ‘executive room’, although since it was a Saturday maybe they weren’t expecting 'executives' to need sleep.

In response to this we wrote an email to the manager (Fiona). Fiona was very nice, responded promptly, sent along a nice note and bottle of wine to apologize but said she couldn’t move us until the following day (the last night of our three in the hotel). The next morning again we were awoken, literally, by a staff member crashing a supply cart into our door. Unfortunately despite Fiona’s very professional approach her staff are clearly inexperienced and at times frankly rude.

Once we were moved, we were put into a Junior Suite on the second floor which was a very nice room and more along the lines of what we were initially anticipating.

In addition to the challenges with a room in the basement, the hotel is starting to show its age and the lack of attention to detail with the staff service is also mirrored with some of the furnishings. The furniture in the lounge is outright filthy and needs to be replaced, the rugs in our second room had a number of snags and pulls and overall the hotel is looking tired.

Room Tip: 1. Don’t take a room in the basement. 2. If you want a nicer room, don’t bother with the executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Excellent service from the friendly staff. A good range of food at the breakfast buffet, including pancakes made to order and fresh fruit (but no fruit salad). Our top floor room was under the eaves - it looked over the roof of another building so it had the advantage of being quiet. The arrangement of the room was cleverly contrived, including stands for two suitcases, but the twin beds were side by side and the toilet/shower room (with fixed shower head) was cramped. Glimpses of other rooms showed that some were much bigger - this is in the nature of the conversion of a building of this kind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was a great find by my husband who got a great deal. Perfect location with the park, shopping, restaurants & museums all near by. Room was small but nice with a lush bathroom. Lots of stairs though! Only issue was with replacement of wash cloths & tea/coffee but otherwise lovely & staff were very helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stay here often and already made a review before but though it was worth while writing again. I was here in a beautiful sunny day with outside terrace open and it was again lovely. The rooms are all so different that you might have the chance to get a big size but this time, although I visit so often, they gave me a tiny room which was a problem as I had loads of samples. I had dinner and lunch in hotel and really liked the aspargus meal with good choice of wine. I really like the dutch modern decor and the choice of great magazines in the lounge areas. The location right in front of wonderful Vondel Park and short walking from museums is certainly a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My travel agent booked this hotel for a business trip, stating that I was arriving early due to flights. When I got there, I had to wait almost 2 hours to get a room. Not so great when you are coming from the US (overnight)!

In general it feels like the hotel was really good, but then went on booking.com and therefore has sold a bunch of rooms to tourists. It was all foreign tourists, so it was not suitable for a business trip.

Also, Internet is not included, nor do they have blowdryers, irons, ironing boards in room. Major tourist hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is cool and funky. My sister and I had room 232 which had twin beds as requested. It was a large room with places to put your bags without constantly tripping over them. Location is brilliant in a quiet and pretty street within easy walking distance to Rijksmuseum, Concertgebouw, Vondel Park and restaurants. The bathroom was very big and when we requested a non-slip bathmat for the shower the response from housekeeping was immediate. Power points are conveniently located at the TV console for re-charging gadgets. There is a coat rack near the door - that's a thoughtful inclusion. Even though we were located near the elevator, the room was very quiet. I would have liked more coat hangers and there was absolutely nowhere to leave handwashing. Whilst the service at check-in was cool and efficient the staff came into their own when one of our party went missing for a few hours and we were very concerned. They phoned the police, served us each a complimentary glass of comforting wine during an excruciating time and showed great care and concern. They sourced gluten-free bread for me for breakfast and I only had to ask for it once and it was served to me every morning. I would definitely return here if visiting Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: 232 is a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vondel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.