We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vondel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Vondel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam 1054 GD , The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

On Saturday, July 20, 2013, we were guests at a party in the garden of the Vondel Hotel. The service was very pleasant and good. The served food was very tastefull and nicely presented. The interior of the hotel does need some touch up. Doors were chipped etc.
We had a lovely 2 hours at this party.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    258
    130
    61
    46
See reviews for
45
297
32
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a strange hotel made up of several adjoining buildings. Each has it own elevator. Our room on the 4th floor over the office small, the bathroom door would not open all the way. ( It hit the bed base).
Comfortable bed, good view
Only 3 rooms on our tower floor. Like a private suite. Tiny elevator- only room for 2 adults.
Breakfast provided- as much as we wanted.
Only downside was a moderate charge for Internet access so I did not use it. They did provide a computer for printing boarding passes without charge.
3 minute walk to major tram stops.
We walked most places. For 2-3 days a multiday tram pass for about 10 Euro would be worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We passed a week-end in Amsterdam as we attended a reunion for former international students. The hotel has a clear design profile. The breakfast was rather expensive, and we did not find that it was worth the price. The room was voluminious and had big windows giving to a nice back yard.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A flying visit to Amsterdam and a short stay in this hotel - I should start by saying make sure you have the right hotel a few in the area have similar names.

I walked the length of Overtom to get to the wrong hotel and had to cab it back to the correct hotel. This was late at night - I was tired and not happy. The staff at Hotel Vondel greeted me with smiles and friendly happy service. Not the normal dutch service especially at 11:30 pm. I found the same happy friendly service at checkout and again over breakfast - they must be doing something right!

I had one of the basement rooms which I think is fine for a quick stay - not sure I would want it if there for more than a couple of days. The room was ok - bed was nice and soft. I didn't hear noise but I was very tired. Thought the bathroom was nice - great toiletries and shower was strong.

I'm used to hotel irons being terrible so when I called the front desk for an iron I was made up with the state of the art iron. No limescale and dirt came out of it and was better than the one I had have at home making my shirt nice and crisp.

Breakfast was delicious very fresh and great selection. The decor of the restaurant was relaxing just what I needed before a day of meetings.

I would stay here again to see if a longer stay makes me feel the same.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We checked in at 9 A.M. to be told that the room would be ready at 3 P.M. At 9 A.M. I reminded the desk personnel that I wanted a quiet room. When we returned at 4:45 the room was not ready. We had flown over night so were very tired and this was irritating. I reminded the staff at 4:45 P that I wanted a quiet room. I was told that the room would be quiet. It was a cool evening and we had the window open. All night long we could hear staff from a close by hotel playing football of some sort on and off in the street. Finally had to close the window at 3 A and put the air on to filter out the noise. Room was very nice. Bed comfortable. Breakfast was ample and very good. I gave the 3 because of the delay and noise.

Room Tip: Not sure where the quieter rooms are because others on our tour complained that it was noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Two nights over a hot weekend. Not a cheap hotel which charges extra for its air-conditioning! Our room was at the front which was very noisy from 10pm-2am. We should have suspected something when the guy in front of us at check-in was actually just organising a room change. OK, it's a 'boutique' hotel but considering it's rates, it's not good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Having just returned from a 3-day stay at Hotel Vondel, I am quite shocked to read the recent poor reviews of the place. My trip was a last-minute thing organised by work so I hadn't checked out the reviews but I found the hotel to be perfectly clean, modern,and in a great location. I had a room on the 4th floor, room was huge (as was the bathroom), and the bed was comfortable. I also found the staff to be lovely and extremely helpful. Overall a great hotel and I would happily stay again for either work or pleasure

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam 1054 GD , The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone’s taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone’s throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vondel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.