We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it sounds” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vondel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as it sounds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Two nights over a hot weekend. Not a cheap hotel which charges extra for its air-conditioning! Our room was at the front which was very noisy from 10pm-2am. We should have suspected something when the guy in front of us at check-in was actually just organising a room change. OK, it's a 'boutique' hotel but considering it's rates, it's not good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    265
    131
    67
    41
See reviews for
53
324
32
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Having just returned from a 3-day stay at Hotel Vondel, I am quite shocked to read the recent poor reviews of the place. My trip was a last-minute thing organised by work so I hadn't checked out the reviews but I found the hotel to be perfectly clean, modern,and in a great location. I had a room on the 4th floor, room was huge (as was the bathroom), and the bed was comfortable. I also found the staff to be lovely and extremely helpful. Overall a great hotel and I would happily stay again for either work or pleasure

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A Hotel that appears so-so in interior decorating with poor staff ....poor service and poor everything!!!!!!!
Every day you have to ask for something that was not replaced - house keeping forget to replace the towel with a clean one, then the water glass, do not wash the tea mug, do not replace the face towel..... every day you have to ask for for something that is missing.
The mattress is so old and soft you can watch TV and smell your big toes while on your bed - my back is killing me. Why do they not replace the mattress ???
Check in and out is a nightmare as staff are young and inexperienced!!!!!!!
YOU SHOWER AND THE TOILET IS SPRAYED WITH WATER AS THE SHOWER DOORS IN 201 JUST DOES NOT SEAL THE SHOWER OFF.!
CANNOT OPEN THE WINDOWS AS YOU CAN JOIN A CONVERSATION WITH THIOSE WALKING OUTSIDE - NO sound proofing.
What a nightmare!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Do not accept a room in the basement. Woke up every morning to tables being moved in the restaurant directly above us. You cannot leave the shades open as the windows look out on the sidewalk and anyone can look in. The comforter was a size too small and barely covered the bed. The giant brown splatter on the wall near the toilet paper in the bathroom was never cleaned. Asked to change rooms but none were available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Rooms on the first floor are inthe basement and you can hear the talking and walking of the bar and the reception till late at night and from very early morning. Unpleasant and unhelpful staff.some rooms are in an another building , a mess not to be repeated or recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is in the heart of Amsterdam city (well its as central as you can get for the price). The rooms are nice, clean and small. Staff is very friendly and extremely helpful.
Our room was on the top floor and had cute interiors..nothing fancy but just the kind of place we were expecting.
The only complain, if any, would be that they did not clean our room on day two. That was probably because we left the room very late but still not expected from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST Laurent Médoc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were given a bedroom downstairs; when we get into it, there were still other suitcases and a bottle of wine with a small note aimed to another customer and saying that the hotel apologised for the inconvenience. So, they moved back the wrong suitcases (and the bottle of wine), the valet broke the glasses in the corridor and we didn't sleep very well because of the noise coming from upstairs (everlasting steps from the breakfast) and from the street ! Moreover the carpet was dirty and torn. We won't return to this hotel for sure !

Room Tip: take a room downstairs and far from the breakfast room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone’s taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone’s throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vondel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.